English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Amix

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 September 2015, 19:44   #1
Amiga_CDTV
Mind Walker
Amiga_CDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 140
Using tape with Amix

Cartridge tape drive: Amiga UNIX is distributed on a QIC-150 format tape cartridge. Device drivers are included which access the A3070 tape drive. There is no standard software interface to SCSI tape drives, so only certain types can be used with Amiga UNIX. The Caliper, Sankyo, and Wangtek brands of SCSI QIC-150 tape drives are known to work. The tape drive must be set to SCSI address 4. - Amix Version 2.0 Addendum.

"Using Amiga Unix" mentions tape only shortly on "Backing up your files" (p. 232-235), here are the examples:

Backing up files to tape: find /home/joe -depth -print | cpio -ocv -O > /dev/rmt/4

List the contents of your backup: cpio -ictv < /dev/rmt/4

Restore files: cpio -imdcuv -B < /dev/rmt/4

Other Amix tape commands: mt retension (re-tensions the tape by fast forwarding and rewinding it) and mt rewind (rewinds the tape).

Zeroing out the tape (for 2.1 installation): dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/rmt/4hn bs=32k
Zeroing out the tape (for other versions): dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/rmt/4n bs=32k
(Source, see also: http://amix.failsure.net/tiki-index....=tape+creation)

My short story on the topic: I bought a Wangtek 5150 ES from eBay to try it out on my 3000T. Beware: Wangtek pinch rollers are known to go goo, don't ask how I know I had looked inside the drive and the roller looked just fine, but when I tested the drive with a tape, the roller went liquid and made a mess. "Fortunately" only the tape was messed beyond repair, there was surprisingly little mess in the drive itself and it was cleanable.

A friend of mine who restores pinch rollers for audio gear restored the roller and now the drive is working again. I have yet tested the drive only shortly on my 3000T (mainly in Workbench using Diavolo Backup) and it worked like a charm. Soon I was copying "several megabytes of data in just minutes" (not to mention how noisy it is ) In my even shorter test in Amix the drive works; retension and rewind worked and I was able to write data into the tape using the commands above. However I accidentally started backing up a directory of tens of megabytes and had to interrupt it (would have taken too long). Now it says it detects an EOF-mark and refuses to write over it (I guess I should now zero it first?).

For reference; another QIC- drive I tried (a Tandberg TDC4120, only "a bit" newer QIC-1000 drive) did not work in Amix at all (device not ready or present etc) so it is indeed picky. And yes, it was properly terminated and set to ID 4.

What I am hoping to achieve is of course being able to make physical copies of the installation tape and run the whole install from it for total authenticity

In the photo attached, the drive is mounted into an external SCSI-case. Probably the way I am going to keep it for easy usage between machines.

Please share your Amix-tape insights here.
<- spinning like a tape
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6977.JPG
Views:	218
Size:	166.9 KB
ID:	45588  
Amiga_CDTV is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 18 February 2016, 19:51   #2
Amiga_CDTV
Mind Walker
Amiga_CDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 140
... I managed to get an NFS share mounted on my 3000T and started figuring out how to create a new Amix install tape. Finally I got the script running and it seemed to start doing it's job, didn't let it finish yet as it seems to take "some" time to write the whole tape.

Here is a quick sketch-print of my re-created tape label (based on pics in here and elsewhere) for the hopefully soon-made tape
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20160218_008.jpg
Views:	196
Size:	125.2 KB
ID:	47546  
Amiga_CDTV is offline  
Old 21 February 2016, 15:15   #3
scuzz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: New Forest
Posts: 78
Hi

The tape drive is like the holy grail from me in terms of getting my A3000UX machine running again. I have all the various other components. Very interested in your post.

http://www.commodore-amiga-retro.com...0Oct06_162.jpg

http://www.commodore-amiga-retro.com...0Oct06_161.jpg

http://www.commodore-amiga-retro.com...0Oct06_156.jpg

scuzz
http://www.commodore-amiga-retro.com...ga_inframe.htm
scuzz is offline  
Old 22 February 2016, 19:04   #4
Amiga_CDTV
Mind Walker
Amiga_CDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 140
A quick update... I let the script run all the way thrue, and it finished Ok. It also verified Ok (with the another script from the amix.failsure- site). Looks good I didn't try installing it, but at least the amixpkg -package manager seemed to accept it.

I zeroed the tape, then wrote the contents and then verified; all these steps took about half an hour each
Amiga_CDTV is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amix in WinUAE Toni Wilen support.Amix 286 15 March 2017 00:23
Amix on FS-UAE? asiga support.FS-UAE 6 21 September 2015 10:53
AMIX tape error fire_lizard support.Amix 4 13 June 2015 03:08
Amix ftw bozimmerman support.Amix 2 11 June 2015 07:27
AMIX an an emulator? swampcretin support.Apps 16 09 September 2005 23:01

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.33496 seconds with 15 queries