English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 February 2018, 06:31   #21
chip
Registered User
chip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 790
Floppy loading times for demos are not a problem
chip is offline  
Old 24 February 2018, 06:53   #22
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,400
Quote:
Originally Posted by chip View Post
Floppy loading times for demos are not a problem
I've found that in trackmos (for example) they can interrupt the intended flow of a demo, but as I said, with games, reduction in loading times there is welcome: for example, I can chop over 50 seconds off the loading time for James Pond 2, which takes ages, normally - with Turbo, only 1:20 before the penguins appear.
Foebane is offline  
Old 24 February 2018, 10:26   #23
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,687
Ok, if you like perfect demos, why not watching them on youtube? since there's no interaction, you'd be better off with a perfect recording with a perfect A500 setting.

fixing a game is something, fixing a demo for whdload is something else, as every hack is used to make sure the machine is 100% busy without risks of lagging because of player action. Stingray extensive work is amazing.
jotd is offline  
Old 24 February 2018, 10:42   #24
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,400
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
Ok, if you like perfect demos, why not watching them on youtube? since there's no interaction, you'd be better off with a perfect recording with a perfect A500 setting.

fixing a game is something, fixing a demo for whdload is something else, as every hack is used to make sure the machine is 100% busy without risks of lagging because of player action. Stingray extensive work is amazing.
Ugh, videos are worse. The quality fluctuates so much, and I'd rather see it run "live".

I'm not bashing Stingray, I've seen his good work a lot recently, but I just don't like WHDLoad.
Foebane is offline  
Old 24 February 2018, 11:33   #25
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,157
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foebane View Post
QED 2 by Talent - The demo starts off fine but then freezes on a caption and just stays there when the music continues. I think it's a bug.
This is indeed a bug (timing related) and will be fixed. It just takes a long time as I have to watch the demo over and over again until the problem appears. It will definitely be fixed though.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Foebane View Post
Mina Omistan by Movement - The music plays OK, but the animations run over twice as fast as they should, and the end credits are on-screen for only a fraction of a second.
Sounds interesting enough, I may have a look.
StingRay is offline  
Old 24 February 2018, 11:56   #26
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,400
Thank you.
Foebane is offline  
Old 24 February 2018, 13:35   #27
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,113
It's many years ago I did but tooltype NOCACHE fixed a lot of whdload demos.
daxb is online now  
Old 24 February 2018, 14:05   #28
fryguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hjo, Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 767
If you run them from WinUAE you might as well use an A500 config.
I rather watch the demos on real hardware though.
fryguy is online now  
Old 24 February 2018, 14:15   #29
chip
Registered User
chip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 790
How many real Amigas need to watch demos on real hardware ?
chip is offline  
Old 25 February 2018, 14:36   #30
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,113
One or two.
daxb is online now  
Old 25 February 2018, 14:48   #31
chip
Registered User
chip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 790
Surely, but which ?

A500 + A1200 ?
chip is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Original EA demos that run on 27.3 tschak request.Demos 1 17 September 2014 00:00
How do I run this years Revision demos on a real A1200? stu232 Amiga scene 12 28 April 2014 12:30
HD demos don't run from within Gamebase - but why exactly? andreas support.Demos 1 25 October 2010 23:02
Help getting these two demos to run anj support.Demos 5 02 May 2005 06:51
How to run Demos...*.iha files ??? Lightforce Amiga scene 5 03 March 2003 23:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07400 seconds with 15 queries