English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.SPS (was CAPS)

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 March 2009, 01:00   #1
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,225
IPF quality

I wanted to ask if the Dragonflight IPF images that SoftPres have preserved were unmodified (i.e. written with a trace machine). And if not what was used to confirm correct disk dumps?

It was unusual for Thalion games to be written with trace machines and therefore difficult to work out if you have dumped correct data? Did you get dumps from multiple sources.

It is just non of the three dumps (0058, 2098, 2755) can be played to the end with WinUAE 1.5.3. (KS1.3, OCS 512k chipram + 512k slowram).

This could mean that there are bugs in the original games (probable), or that it is a problem of WinUAE + SPS DLL, or bad dumps.
alexh is offline  
Old 02 March 2009, 08:20   #2
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,182
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
@Alexh, can you precise where is it "buggy" ? which part of the game is concerned ?

You know we have the same pb with enchanted lands, it is said to be written by an amiga. What amaze me is that this game is using a flakey bits or something equivalent,
making impossible the copy on a standard machine, even with a special hardware copy tool like Powercopy. I remember also that i submitted a dump from a brand new copy
of Trex Warrior (same kind of protection as enchanted more or less), still not preserved...

I don't know what is the pb.....
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 02 March 2009, 11:05   #3
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,225
According to the guy bugging me about it :

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hasan G√ľndogan
There is a bug in the IPF-Version (2098). When I enter the Dungeon Mortyk, the riddlemouth does not ask for the name of the Dungeon but says "Not THAT easy, adventurers". It does not accept the answer Mortyk, Mastk or any other dungeon/temple name whatsoever.
alexh is offline  
Old 02 March 2009, 14:30   #4
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,182
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
what language version is the IPF 2098 ?
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 02 March 2009, 14:38   #5
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,225
English
alexh is offline  
Old 02 March 2009, 19:33   #6
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,182
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
i think the french version has also some bugs.....
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 02 March 2009, 20:34   #7
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,225
What makes you say that? Bugs in the IPF or the underlying game?

I was wondering if this was the anti-copy protection kicking in....
alexh is offline  
Old 02 March 2009, 23:21   #8
IFW
Moderator
IFW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ...
Age: 48
Posts: 1,838
The images should be identical with the retail disks.
The retail disks are duplicated for all versions.

If a game has a bug then it has a bug on the ipf.
It's a common bug/feature of many adventure/rpg games that certain events or triggers only ever work if the player does something in the expected order... I wouldn't be much surprised Df being affected by this, as this is still an issue even for very recent console titles.
The game should be played from disk and the same version to see if the exact same thing happens...
You may also want to ask whdload authors whether they had to fix anything similar...
Also play the whdload version installed from the same disk.

A savestate to see what happens before any loading etc commences at the problem area would be very useful.
Or simply a saved game.

Then it would be possible to see if:
- the game fails an additional protection check (unlikely)
- fails on emulation - unlikely as well these days, the last time this happened it turned out that there were two different releases of Great Giana Sisters during its extremely short shelf-life.
- the game simply is buggy
IFW is offline  
Old 10 March 2009, 22:12   #9
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 43
Posts: 1,374
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
What makes you say that? Bugs in the IPF or the underlying game?

I was wondering if this was the anti-copy protection kicking in....
This is something I can't really imagine. I've been looking at literally hundreds of disk images for the last two months, writing dozens of them back to disk and comparing the result to the originals.

I have not found any hint on anything missing in an IPF. In fact, any IPF is the exact representation of the disk dumped using the capture tool. The only difference between the raw images and the final IPF is interpretation and structure. Because of this IPFs are much smaller than the original dumps.

We also keep the original dumps, so in case errors in representation (if any, I think this has not happend until today) could be corrected. I somehow doubt that there is anything wrong with the format. But I have seen many titles fail lately, like they did back then. Titles were rushed out like they are rushed out today, but today you have fancy online features to push the user to loading the update.

Does the person having the problem have a real copy of the game that actually works?

Last edited by mr.vince; 11 March 2009 at 01:16. Reason: refinement
mr.vince is offline  
Old 16 March 2009, 14:38   #10
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,225
I'll have to ask.

I personally have originals of this games in all languages. There is a slim chance that the person who found the bug could provide me with a "save game" close to the problem for me to test it.

As has already been said, it could be a bug in the original triggered by a particular order of events.
alexh is offline  
Old 12 May 2009, 21:35   #11
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,225
I have confirmation that the only fully working game of Dragonflight is the German IPF.

All the others appear to have bugs which prevent you from finishing the game.

This could be (is?) a problem with the original data written to the disks and nothing to do with the quality of the IPF dumps.
alexh is offline  
Old 12 May 2009, 23:16   #12
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,182
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
what are the kind of bugs reported to you ?

Can you list them please ?
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 12 May 2009, 23:20   #13
IFW
Moderator
IFW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ...
Age: 48
Posts: 1,838
Anyone knows the version number of the German one?
Probably a later release than the one they used for localisation...

If you can point me to the bad data I can check, but since the game is working otherwise chances are:
1, protection/checksum that got somehow screwed during localisation.
2, mastering problem on the original
3, problems were noticed, and multiple versions do exist.

If anyone can provide an UK version that can be finished without any bugs then we could preserve that too.
IFW is offline  
Old 12 May 2009, 23:27   #14
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,182
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
well if any solution or walktrhough exists, i'd be happy to verify my french version.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 12 May 2009, 23:28   #15
IFW
Moderator
IFW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ...
Age: 48
Posts: 1,838
Just checked: we only have one dump of the UK and French versions.

If anyone has them feel free to submit a dump - we may get lucky.

Also, can anyone actually check whether an UK original can be finished from disk...? (or at least get past the problem areas)
IFW is offline  
Old 13 May 2009, 01:07   #16
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,225
Here is the correspondence:

Quote:
There is a bug in the IPF-Version (Amiga Original English). When I enter the Dungeon Mortyk, the riddle mouth does not ask for the name of the Dungeon but says "Not THAT easy, adventurers". It does not accept the answer Mortyk, Mastk or any other dungeon/temple name whatsoever. I think it is a bug and not copy protection because in the same level of the dungeon there is another riddle mouth only saying "MASTYK" which is nonsense because the dungeon's name is "MORTYK". This other riddle mouth should say "There is a Dragon ring at this place" or similar, it does so in the German DOS-Version.

Last edited by alexh; 13 May 2009 at 01:18.
alexh is offline  
Old 13 May 2009, 01:10   #17
Interceptor
Registered User
Interceptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 409
i thought we'd established the IPF version contains the bug, because all good UK release dumps submitted to us were mastered that way.

arent we trying to find an original UK disk that doesnt contain it?
Interceptor is offline  
Old 13 May 2009, 01:17   #18
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,225
Somebody restarted this thread and I just thought that I would follow up that the guy who brought this to my attention had managed to complete the German IPF of Dragonflight.
alexh is offline  
Old 13 May 2009, 14:30   #19
IFW
Moderator
IFW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ...
Age: 48
Posts: 1,838
Yes, it would be nice to have a bug free UK version - if such thing was ever released...
IFW is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Better quality graphics?? SHU support.WinUAE 12 09 May 2005 20:34
low quality sound icewizard2k5 support.Hardware 10 14 March 2005 14:05
can you explain the different quality in this games?? JudasEZT Retrogaming General Discussion 2 17 May 2004 13:12
Quality Commodore photo barkingboy Retrogaming General Discussion 3 22 November 2003 14:42
scan quality Belgarath project.SPS (was CAPS) 24 15 January 2003 03:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08659 seconds with 15 queries