English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 October 2009, 22:22   #1
zygzak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Poland
Posts: 29
Workbench 3.1 or 1.3 - changing windows

Hi. Very simple question - is there any possibility to changing windows on workbench using some shortcut key like ALT+TAB in Windows? After opening a few drawers and running some installer it is doing a little messy onscreen.
Greets.

EDIT: is Amiga Forever really worth to buy and which kickstart versions they include in?
zygzak is offline  
Old 21 October 2009, 22:33   #2
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 24,012
Not sure if there's a built-in way to do it (would like to know myself), but for 3.1 you can use CFN to make Left-Amiga-Tab the cycle shortcut.
TCD is offline  
Old 21 October 2009, 23:03   #3
meega
Secret Lemonade Drinker
meega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oooh what a feeling yeaaah dancing on the ceiling
Posts: 313
SYS:Tools/Commodities/FKey
meega is offline  
Old 21 October 2009, 23:21   #4
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 24,012
Thanks for the info meega What is the format for the keys? I tried 'F1' without any luck.
TCD is offline  
Old 21 October 2009, 23:37   #5
meega
Secret Lemonade Drinker
meega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oooh what a feeling yeaaah dancing on the ceiling
Posts: 313
I tried j (for jump) and it worked fine. No qualifiers or anything, just the key. Play with it, see what it can do - it's only been there since Workbench 2.

Ed: I used my A1200, KS3.0, with mostly WB3.1 software - fkey 40.1 (09/02/93).
meega is offline  
Old 21 October 2009, 23:52   #6
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 24,012
Needed to change the setting via the menu Now it works like a charm. Thanks again meega
TCD is offline  
Old 21 October 2009, 23:55   #7
eLowar
Citizen of Elthesh
eLowar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 949
Just out of curiosity, in case I ever need it, do these act like ALT-TAB (i.e. show a list), or like ALT-ESC (i.e. just go straight to the next window every time)?
eLowar is offline  
Old 21 October 2009, 23:56   #8
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 24,012
Alt-Esc.
TCD is offline  
Old 21 October 2009, 23:57   #9
meega
Secret Lemonade Drinker
meega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oooh what a feeling yeaaah dancing on the ceiling
Posts: 313
The function is "Cycle windows" or screens, etc. So it just "rolodexes" through whatever is open on Workbench (or whatever screens are open).
meega is offline  
Old 21 October 2009, 23:58   #10
eLowar
Citizen of Elthesh
eLowar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 949
Right, I was just asking because ALT-TAB was mentioned early on. Thanks for the information.
eLowar is offline  
Old 22 October 2009, 00:42   #11
zygzak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Poland
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by meega View Post
SYS:Tools/Commodities/FKey
It helped. Thanks. Like ALT+ESC. It's a bit sad that this command has only a few modes to set.
zygzak is offline  
Old 22 October 2009, 01:06   #12
meega
Secret Lemonade Drinker
meega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oooh what a feeling yeaaah dancing on the ceiling
Posts: 313
Cycle Windows
Cycle Screens
Enlarge Window
Shrink Window
Toggle Window Size
Insert Text
Run Program
Run Arexx Script <-- hmm...


Ed: Remember - Windows95 is still two years away.
And ed: if you make "j" do Cycle Windows, you can also make "J" do Cycle Screens (choose whatever keys you are happiest with).

Last edited by meega; 22 October 2009 at 01:11.
meega is offline  
Old 22 October 2009, 01:41   #13
meega
Secret Lemonade Drinker
meega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oooh what a feeling yeaaah dancing on the ceiling
Posts: 313
And left Amiga + N brings the Workbench screen to the front (from wherever it was).


Ed: just looking through my Workbench 2 manual, the windows/screens functions that are in FKey in 3.x are found in IHelp in 2.04... the old FKey was restricted to the function keys F1-F10 (with shift also, 20 assignments available), and could only "paste" a text string (i.e. Amigados command, if you format it correctly) into the system. Output was generally sent to a Shell. The 3.x version is effectively an improved FKey with integrated IHelp.

Last edited by meega; 22 October 2009 at 01:53.
meega is offline  
Old 22 October 2009, 04:06   #14
Cammy
Registered User
Cammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Age: 33
Posts: 1,138
I find the absolutely easiest way of switching back and forth between my windows is with...

MOUSE GESTURES!

Has anyone ever used Opera? You can open a new tab by holding the right mouse button and pulling down on the mouse. You can go back by holding the button and pressing left, or go forward by pressing right. Well, now you can add functionality like this to your Workbench.

With Meridian, you can define and add as many mouse gestures as you like to any application in AmigaOS. I use the middle-click-left, middle-click-right when I'm on Workbench to cycle back and forth between windows. I have added mouse gestures to IBrowse and several other applications. Defining new mouse gestures is as simple as just DOING them, the preferences program will capture your gesture and show a visual representation of it with arrows (from start point to end point).

You can download Meridian here - http://aminet.net/package/util/cdity/meridian

I also have the EXACT solution you requested to begin with, an Alt-Tab solution which looks and works exactly how Windows does it, by opening a small panel in the middle of the screen showing icons of each active program, then tabbing between them until you reach the one you want, then let go. This feature is part of the Workbench 2000 taskbar program.

You can download Workbench 2000 here - http://aminet.net/package/util/wb/WorkBench2000

There are plenty more ways to switch quickly between windows (like just clicking on its button on the task bar when you have Workbench 2000 installed) but these are the methods I use every day on my Amiga, which is my main computer.
Cammy is offline  
Old 22 October 2009, 09:13   #15
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 41
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
ScreenTab sorta emulates the Winblows ALT-TAB.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 24 October 2009, 18:43   #16
zygzak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Poland
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by plankton View Post
Also use Left Amiga + M to move between screens (not windows)

I didn't try this pre 3.0.
Very valuable thanks . I didn't know.
zygzak is offline  
Old 24 October 2009, 19:11   #17
zygzak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Poland
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Not sure if there's a built-in way to do it (would like to know myself), but for 3.1 you can use CFN to make Left-Amiga-Tab the cycle shortcut.
Works very good, like bash there is names completition and choosing last command in shell. And switching panels like FKey.
It is a little sad that A1000 and first workbench creators made big effort to publish hyper GUI OS and totally forgot to make shell utilities a little more convenient.
zygzak is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Workbench Windows Background Hack! CU_AMiGA support.Other 4 08 March 2011 20:07
Changing the colour of the Workbench background NovaCoder support.Apps 15 09 February 2009 00:26
Workbench On Windows Oxygene request.Apps 28 29 September 2008 21:24
is it possible to launch windows program from workbench(winuae) turrican3 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 31 19 January 2008 19:31
Flickering Workbench Windows. Charlie support.Apps 2 01 August 2005 23:35

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08516 seconds with 13 queries