English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 November 2019, 12:06   #61
Jeff_HxC2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 643
Quote:
Originally Posted by lesta_smsc View Post
Like bamcopy on X-COPY

bamcopy apparently fill the disk with $00 to erase sectors. BUT this is quite different from removing any modulation/magnetic reversal from the disk with a magnet. these "$00" are probably MFM encoded


So no this is not like bamcopy
Jeff_HxC2001 is offline  
Old 18 November 2019, 12:09   #62
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,423
No BAMCOPY checks what sectors have any data and copies those tracks only. It ignores the blank tracks.
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 18 November 2019, 17:38   #63
Jeff_HxC2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 643
Quote:
Originally Posted by lesta_smsc View Post
No BAMCOPY checks what sectors have any data and copies those tracks only. It ignores the blank tracks.

If so there is no point at all with the magnet erase method.
Jeff_HxC2001 is offline  
Old 22 November 2019, 20:05   #64
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,423
Great results with the writes. Apparently Hook game removes an object if copy protection is missing. I wonder how to test that without playing the entire game lol.

I copied it directly using xcopy and it seemed to boot ok! But the 1st track was probably the copy protection which still allowed booting.

I like the intro video. Very talented artists!
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 25 November 2019, 23:47   #65
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,423
@kaffer - wondering whether you could implement a status via the onboard LED. I know your blinky will shine the yellow LED, and the power LED is always on when power is fed to it. I don't know if any other LED colours are possible or if simply these 2 but something like a blinking LED for 'write' and another pattern for 'done/finished' would be cool. Clearly not the most pressing of options at present, but just to put on the 'wish list' lol.
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 05 October 2020, 13:03   #66
Juz400
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: London
Posts: 123
Dupont cables,

I have the STM32 Blue Pill, USB TTL Programmer and a Sony MPF-920Z Drive

I thought I had F-F Duponts but I dont, only M-F ones (/Facepalm) so I need to order some.
Are we good to use 20CM F-F or are they too long?
TA
Juz400 is offline  
Old 05 October 2020, 18:55   #67
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 1,301
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juz400 View Post
Dupont cables,

I have the STM32 Blue Pill, USB TTL Programmer and a Sony MPF-920Z Drive

I thought I had F-F Duponts but I dont, only M-F ones (/Facepalm) so I need to order some.
Are we good to use 20CM F-F or are they too long?
TA
20cm Dupont cables are fine. Just make sure they make good contact as they can come a bit loose over time.

Connecting using Dupont cables technically works, but it better to upgrade and get at least a Greaseweazle F1 board, or push the boat out for a Greaseweazle F7 board:

https://github.com/keirf/Greaseweazl...eweazle-Models
solarmon is offline  
Old 07 October 2020, 20:43   #68
Juz400
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: London
Posts: 123
Thanks Solarmon,

Ive been looking out for F1 boards, prob grab one of those if I find one
Juz400 is offline  
Old 07 October 2020, 21:50   #69
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 1,301
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juz400 View Post
Thanks Solarmon,

Ive been looking out for F1 boards, prob grab one of those if I find one
If you are on Facebook, you can ask for, or find the sales post:

https://www.facebook.com/groups/greaseweazle

An F1 adapter board should only cost 50p + postage.
solarmon is offline  
Old 21 November 2020, 23:37   #70
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,423
@Keir - just checked github and looks like ADF image script has been written!

Can't wait to test it out when officially compiled and new version out.

I know this probably may not work, but given the flexibility of Android OS, is there a way to connect GW to Android phones and run Python script?
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 21 November 2020, 23:50   #71
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 1,301
The ADF support is still under testing - it hasn't got a stable release just yet. But the testing I have done with it, it's awesome!
solarmon is offline  
Old 21 November 2020, 23:54   #72
Mikerochip
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Ireland
Posts: 285
Yeah, Android would work, but the bigger problem is getting access to the android shell to install the stuff in the first place.

If you have a device without root access, I imagine it's not going to easily work.

(In it's current state anyhow)
Mikerochip is offline  
Old 22 November 2020, 00:05   #73
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,423
I think getting drivers installed is possible without root. But not sure how to go about that.

Alternative is to run lite version of Linux on Android and run it via that?
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 22 November 2020, 00:35   #74
Mikerochip
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Ireland
Posts: 285
Does it need drivers? I thought it was just via a COM port.

It should be easy enough to test, right now...

I do have a few rooted devices :P

I guess, a powered hub might be needed though.
Mikerochip is offline  
Old 22 November 2020, 00:51   #75
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,423
I'm sure I installed drivers for Windows. However, if they are not required then provided you can create COM port (or somehow mount to port which can be used in Python) then you should be able to run it. I need to test this too... been meaning to do it but not had time lol.

Termux may do it as it has Python support and is Linux based interface.
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 24 November 2020, 22:52   #76
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,423
@Keir - something new I came across today:

STM32F429IDISCOVERY

Has built in LCD! I'm wondering whether it would be possible to port Flashfloppy and/or Greaseweazle over to this board as it could then be 2 in 1 solution lol.
lesta_smsc is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
soldering flux ItsTheSmell support.Hardware 7 01 October 2019 13:35
Dr. Plummet's House of Flux Graham Humphrey Games images which need to be WHDified 1 11 March 2013 05:04
Dr. Plummet`s House of flux stainy HOL data problems 2 07 July 2011 17:57
Coyote Flux: PPC680x0 to become freeware! Paul News 1 30 November 2004 21:20
Dr. Plummet's House Of Flux :( osama request.Old Rare Games 3 29 December 2001 04:22

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11251 seconds with 15 queries