English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 November 2018, 14:54   #1
bitter
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Fort Mill, SC, US
Posts: 47
Installing Intuition v45 in 3.1.4 issue

I'm trying to use the new intuition library in 3.1.4. Copied the new library into LIBS:, copied LoadModule into C:, and modified S-S to do LoadModule ROMUPDATE unconditionally. Unfortunately I keep getting the following bootup error:

filesystem version 46 already resident
Loading filesystem failed: object already exists

Not sure how to stop this...
bitter is offline  
Old 03 November 2018, 15:18   #2
McTrinsic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 376
You can try to add the option "downgrade" to loadmodule.


Question is, though, where the double filesystem comes from.
McTrinsic is offline  
Old 03 November 2018, 15:46   #3
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,727
If intuition.library is the only module you want to load you can specify it explicitly:

C:LoadModule Libs:intuition.library
thomas is offline  
Old 03 November 2018, 19:39   #4
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,393
Didn't I read that this can happen if you don't copy with the CLONE option to maintain the protection bits, etc? Not sure, but that sounds familiar.
desiv is offline  
Old 04 November 2018, 02:18   #5
bitter
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Fort Mill, SC, US
Posts: 47
Ok, I copied with clone option, and also tried loading the library by itself with loadmodule. No go - I get a black screen now.

Not sure if it's a conflict with something...
bitter is offline  
Old 04 November 2018, 08:36   #6
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,567
It needs the pure bit set, protect +p.
kolla is offline  
Old 04 November 2018, 13:49   #7
bitter
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Fort Mill, SC, US
Posts: 47
The CLONE option does preserve the Pure bit, but I did verify just to make sure, and indeed, intuition.library has p and r bits set.
bitter is offline  
Old 04 November 2018, 14:48   #8
Swe_Kryten2x4b
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Uppsala
Posts: 12
Have you tried

c:loadmodule libs:intuition.library nomemfkick reverse

It should work without those switches but doesn't hurt to try.

Start of my s-s is only

c:blizzkick (with appropiate parameters, remove if not necessary or using something else to softkick)
c:loadmodule libs:intuition.library nomemfkick reverse

c:setpatch quiet

And standard from there on. Well, standard as far as kickstart-modules are concerned anyway.
Swe_Kryten2x4b is offline  
Old 04 November 2018, 16:23   #9
bitter
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Fort Mill, SC, US
Posts: 47
Thanks, unfortunately no luck - same black screen.

My S-S starts with:

ACAmapROM L:kick.a1200.46.143 Q
C:LoadModule libs:intuition.library nomemfkick reverse

I think I'm ready to give up, don't understand why this is not working...
bitter is offline  
Old 04 November 2018, 17:40   #10
McTrinsic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 376
Things you could try:
- check presence of intuition.library
- check spelling issues / naming issues
- use full names, not assigns. I.e. dh0:libs/intuition.library
McTrinsic is offline  
Old 04 November 2018, 17:54   #11
Swe_Kryten2x4b
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Uppsala
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by bitter View Post
Thanks, unfortunately no luck - same black screen.

My S-S starts with:

ACAmapROM L:kick.a1200.46.143 Q
C:LoadModule libs:intuition.library nomemfkick reverse

I think I'm ready to give up, don't understand why this is not working...
Has it been re-kicked properly at all? I mean, you're trying to load the kickstart file from l: which is an unusual place to put kickstart-images. Of course it can be there, just to make sure it is not a silly typo/path-error in the ACAmapROM line.
Swe_Kryten2x4b is offline  
Old 04 November 2018, 19:44   #12
bitter
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Fort Mill, SC, US
Posts: 47
Library is present, and all spelling is correct. I get an error message if LoadModule can't actually find the library. Blank screen only if the path and library are correct.

I put the 3.1.4 Kickstart in L: because I couldn't think of a better place, and it's definitely working, it won't boot without it.

For completeness, I'm using:

A1200
Indivision AGA MK2cr / NTSC Interlaced 8 color mode
ACA1221ec
HD PS
bitter is offline  
Old 05 November 2018, 00:51   #13
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,567
"normal" location for kickstarts seems to be DEVS:Kickstarts, not that it should matter
kolla is offline  
Old 06 November 2018, 03:31   #14
bitter
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Fort Mill, SC, US
Posts: 47
OK, I did a clean-install of 3.1.4 on a new CF card. Still the same issue...

I did notice that the last step of the installation, when you are asked to re-insert Install disk, it copies workbench.library, icon.library, and fastfilesystem, all files that have p bit set, and which is why LoadModule ROMUPDATE fails. Just an FYI...

And yes, I moved the ROM to the "proper" location
bitter is offline  
Old 06 November 2018, 03:50   #15
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,407
Yes, I also had to realize in another thread at A1k.org that "LoadModule ROMUPDATE" needs the PURE-Bits to be set correctly to load any libraries, like iconlib too, or you may end up with your (3.1) ROM based libraries loaded, which won't work correctly.
PeterK is offline  
Old 06 November 2018, 04:22   #16
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,393
That's just weird. My clean install in WinUAE just worked when I enabled the new intuition.... Hmmmm
desiv is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing Intuition on AmigaOS 3.1.4 (Amibian 1.4) krautguy support.OtherUAE 4 20 November 2018 00:58
exec.library v45.24 looking for beta testers Cosmos Coders. General 137 26 February 2018 22:20
Kickstart v45.061 by Cloanto gulliver support.Hardware 40 15 July 2016 13:05
INstalling ClassAct2Demo causes Mount issue Wiffleplop support.WinUAE 4 20 July 2014 23:35
picture.datatype v45 amiga_user request.Other 1 28 November 2011 16:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08243 seconds with 15 queries