English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.UAE Wishlist

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 October 2004, 02:56   #1
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 2,140
Joystick-key mapping improvements

Customizable joystick-key mapping, as is found in almost every other emulator. Ie. instead of forcing the user to pick one of three poorly-considered keysets (A, B or C), allow the user to choose what keys emulate which joystick movements.

T, F, H, B, Alt, etc., who thought these combinations up?? must have been Brian King to get it so wrong. At least an inverted-T layout please, if users won't be allowed to choose their own layouts?

Whilst on the same subject, allowing diagonal movement using eg. the 7, 9, 1 and 3 keys on the numeric keypad would be useful too; most emulators do this.
Minuous is offline  
Old 02 October 2004, 04:45   #2
Npl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Vienna / Austria
Age: 41
Posts: 257
Ever wondered why there is a Input-Branch in the GUI? Apparently not, since youre asking that question
Npl is offline  
Old 02 October 2004, 13:34   #3
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 2,140
Of course I know about it, but it doesn't really solve the problem, because you can only remap the keys globally, ie. one would not be able to type properly because the keys will have been messed up.
Minuous is offline  
Old 02 October 2004, 13:42   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 23,969
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 02 October 2004, 13:58   #5
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 2,140
For example, if I redefine the "G" key to send a "B", so that I could use an inverted-T layout with keyset C, I would presumably have trouble typing any word that had a "G" in it (or "T", or "F", or "B", or "H").
Minuous is offline  
Old 02 October 2004, 14:40   #6
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 44
Posts: 9,109
I know what he means.. When playing a game G would == Up yet if he needed to write txt it would type "G"
BippyM is offline  
Old 02 October 2004, 16:06   #7
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 23,969
Ok, but how? Automatic switching is impossible.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 02 October 2004, 18:32   #8
Jim
 
Posts: n/a
Some sort of hotkey to turn on/off joystick emulation on the keyboard would do the trick. But anyone who is seriously playing games with WinUAE can surely invest a few bucks in a gamepad ?
 
Old 02 October 2004, 19:14   #9
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 44
Posts: 9,109
Or a cable and PPJoy then use a Zipstick or Comp Pro
BippyM is offline  
Old 04 October 2004, 14:40   #10
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 2,140
I generally use an X-Arcade joystick, which is actually a keyboard in disguise, like all the best retro-joysticks.

I really think that the best way to fix the problem is to allow the joystick-keys to be changed, like all other emulators I can think of already allow...

Not trying to be negative, UAE is very good, but this would be an easy change that would improve it considerably, IMHO.
Minuous is offline  
Old 04 October 2004, 16:32   #11
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 23,969
Now I am really confused...
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 04 October 2004, 17:24   #12
Npl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Vienna / Austria
Age: 41
Posts: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minuous
I generally use an X-Arcade joystick, which is actually a keyboard in disguise, like all the best retro-joysticks.

I really think that the best way to fix the problem is to allow the joystick-keys to be changed, like all other emulators I can think of already allow...

Not trying to be negative, UAE is very good, but this would be an easy change that would improve it considerably, IMHO.
Input Tab?
And why wont you be able to type propably if you change the assignments of your Joystick?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ClipBoard-1.gif
Views:	602
Size:	33.8 KB
ID:	7512  
Npl is offline  
Old 05 October 2004, 02:04   #13
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
"Assignments", exactly that explains it all.
Assign your Port 2 to REAL joystick, and you will be able to use the WHOLE keyboard, as you won't block any key that way.
Guaranteed.
andreas is offline  
Old 05 October 2004, 20:47   #14
LocalH
Amiga user since 1990
LocalH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Kingsport, TN / USA
Age: 40
Posts: 284
Yeah, but if he's using an X-Arcade, then it works like a keyboard (you plug the cable for the X-Arcade in, then plug your keyboard into it). Thus he can't assign it to 'real' joystick because there actually is no joystick that Windows sees.
LocalH is offline  
Old 06 October 2004, 03:49   #15
Jim
 
Posts: n/a
Simple solution: Don't use X-Arcade, or don't use WinUAE

OK, OK. Now I see the problem. But how many other X-Arcade/WinUAE users are there as selfishly I'd rather see Tony work on other things for WinUAE before he gets to this.
 
Old 06 October 2004, 06:45   #16
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 2,140
But surely it is not much fun to play Amiga games with those squishy horrid flightstick-things that pass as joysticks these days? :-)

X-Arcade is actually one of the most popular sticks for MAME...but the issues described are relevant even if you are just using a normal keyboard to play.
Minuous is offline  
Old 06 October 2004, 10:44   #17
RCK
Administrator

RCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Paris / France
Age: 42
Posts: 2,972
I'm also using X-Arcade, and I have manage to use it with WinUAE.

Example for IK+:
- configure your game
- go into INPUT tab and switch to "Configuration1"
- select "keyboard" in to right
- note here: you can desactivate "mice" but unchecking his select box if you don't want mouse to interfere with X-arcade
- Find your current X-arcade joy1 keyboard button (default are numeric 8/2/4/6 + Left Ctrl)
- Choose 'numeric 8' in WinUAE / Input, and map it to 'Joy2 Up'
- Choose 'numeric 2' in WinUAE / Input, and map it to 'Joy2 Down'
- Choose 'numeric 4' in WinUAE / Input, and map it to 'Joy2 Left'
- Choose 'numeric 6' in WinUAE / Input, and map it to 'Joy2 Right'
- Choose 'CTRL' in WinUAE / Input, and map it to 'Joy2 Fire'
etc...


Now I have a request for Toni: It would be nice to be able to add custom key in the INPUT field.
For example, some button of X-Arcade are mapped to " and ', and those key are not available for mapping in WinUAE.
One little interface "Press the key you wanna map" -> "choose the action of WinUAE" would be great
RCK is offline  
Old 06 October 2004, 13:28   #18
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 2,140
OK, thanks for that RCK. Keep up the good work Toni.
Minuous is offline  
Old 06 October 2004, 16:38   #19
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 23,969
Quote:
Now I have a request for Toni: It would be nice to be able to add custom key in the INPUT field.
For example, some button of X-Arcade are mapped to " and ', and those key are not available for mapping in WinUAE.
Hmm.. WinUAE uses keys supported by DirectInput. No idea why some are missing..

Could you use attached DX-utility to list missing keycodes? (DI sends keycodes, not ascii chars you see on screen)

Quote:
One little interface "Press the key you wanna map" -> "choose the action of WinUAE" would be great
It isn't that simple. Don't forget joystick buttons, axis, mouse buttons etc.. Everything is processed by input subsystem, you can't add "Press key"-system just for keys and ignore everything else.

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 28 July 2010 at 10:46.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 06 October 2004, 20:57   #20
RCK
Administrator

RCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Paris / France
Age: 42
Posts: 2,972
Hi toni, thanks for the zip !
I understand that the interface "press the key" -> "choose the action" may be hard to implement

Anyway, here are the keycodes of the X-Arcade!
What about making a new input option? with the preset for X-Arcade ?

pinball left button: 0x04 -> mapped to left Amiga ctrl
pinball right button: 0x05 -> mapped to right Amiga ctrl
pinball tilt (aka Joy2 button8): 0x07 -> mapped to Amiga space

Joy1 up: 0x48 -> mapped to Amiga Joy2 up
Joy1 down: 0x50 -> mapped to Amiga Joy2 down
Joy1 left: 0x4b -> mapped to Amiga Joy2 left
Joy1 right: 0x4d -> mapped to Amiga Joy2 right
Joy1 button1: 0x1d -> mapped to Amiga Joy2 button1
Joy1 button2: 0x38 -> mapped to Amiga Joy2 button2
Joy1 button3: 0x39 -> mapped to Amiga Joy2 button3

If mice emulation disabled:

Joy2 up: 0x13 -> mapped to Amiga Joy1 up
Joy2 down: 0x21 -> mapped to Amiga Joy1 down
Joy2 left: 0x20 -> mapped to Amiga Joy1 left
Joy2 right: 0x22 -> mapped to Amiga Joy1 right
Joy2 button1: 0x1e -> mapped to Amiga Joy1 button1
Joy2 button2: 0x1f -> mapped to Amiga Joy1 button2
Joy2 button3: 0x10 -> mapped to Amiga Joy1 button3
RCK is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS-UAE (1.1) Help Key -> where?, mapping? ManuelHH support.FS-UAE 14 14 March 2014 05:46
Key mapping prob amiga support.WinUAE 1 04 March 2008 09:45
Key mapping Problems k2uphill project.ClassicWB 13 28 February 2007 03:44
Key mapping question RCK support.WinUAE 0 02 October 2004 19:53
Key mapping dreamkatcha support.WinUAE 1 11 June 2003 16:38

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12871 seconds with 14 queries