English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 January 2003, 18:44   #1
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 44
Posts: 1,470
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
Smile Movies/TV programs with amiga's in em!

Watched this film last night called "Prince of Darkness" and it had an a1000 being used for serious work! made me wonder what other films had amiga's in them....
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 19 January 2003, 18:51   #2
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,800
A rubbish film with Tom Berenger, called Betrayed has an Amiga in it.

On the TV side, Red Dwarf and Neighbours featured Amigas.
CodyJarrett is offline  
Old 19 January 2003, 19:00   #3
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 44
Posts: 1,470
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
yeh red dwarf has a few in them! Holoship springs to mind.. when rimmer does the mind test thingy they are using what looks like amiga 2000's?
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 19 January 2003, 19:59   #4
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 7,070
...

The Rachael Papers with Dexter Fletcher
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 19 January 2003, 20:54   #5
Steve
Truth seeker...
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 40
Posts: 2,235
TV - Rolf's Cartoon Club (Rolf Harris)

I remember this kids CITV show used Amiga's.
Steve is online now  
Old 19 January 2003, 21:19   #6
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 44
Posts: 1,470
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
Oh yeh rolf's cartoon club! they used summin called Take2? or maybe Hanna Barbera's Animation studio... i think thats was what it was called?

anyway it allowed you to hook up a camera and take pictures!
drawings were used to build up animations on a lightbox thing...
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 19 January 2003, 21:53   #7
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 42
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
i saw a documentry on Piracy (UkHorizons), a guy got busted, the police were removing hardware and CDs, and the camera shows an Amiga Monitor box for a few seconds
Djay is offline  
Old 19 January 2003, 23:23   #8
Severin
Registered User
Severin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gloucester / UK
Posts: 700
Send a message via ICQ to Severin
The film 'The High Crusade' doesn't actually have an amiga in it but has a big credit for amiga in the end credits for special effects...

and of course the gfx used in babylon 5 and most disney films of the late 80's onwards...

I remeber one of the neighbours episodes, where they were trying to kill a virus but the screen showed a graphics ripper from an early hacker tools compilation disk
Severin is offline  
Old 19 January 2003, 23:26   #9
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 44
Posts: 1,470
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
yeh neighbours had an a500 in it for ages!

i think the same one was wheeled around the set for the scene's?
the docters surgery springs to mind!
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 19 January 2003, 23:30   #10
Severin
Registered User
Severin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gloucester / UK
Posts: 700
Send a message via ICQ to Severin
just another quick thought...

Look for amiga monitors in tv programs, they might be sat next to a pc but there was actually an amiga under the desk (as the pal screens were easier to sync to the cameras), any 85 - 95 programme that shows a computer display that is 'steady' and doesn't have a 'dark bar' slowly scrolling down the screen will probably be amiga generated. The BBC used this alot...

'the chart show' (on ITV in the uk) used entirely amiga generated graphics too...
Severin is offline  
Old 19 January 2003, 23:47   #11
BippyM
Registered User

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 8,720
Krypton factor used A1200's at one point for a test!
BippyM is offline  
Old 20 January 2003, 00:26   #12
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 44
Posts: 1,470
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
I remember not long ago there seemed to be tons of Philips 8833II's on telly!
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 20 January 2003, 01:10   #13
Mr Softy
Junior Member
Mr Softy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sweedzerland
Age: 38
Posts: 329
Send a message via ICQ to Mr Softy Send a message via MSN to Mr Softy
Big grin

Don't laugh at me like mean arses if I am utterly wrong with this one, guys, but I *think* that in the early stages of making Jurassic Park's dinos amiga where used... Is that true?
Mr Softy is offline  
Old 20 January 2003, 01:21   #14
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 49
Posts: 1,545
Dont forget Seaquest-DSV guys.
whiteb is offline  
Old 20 January 2003, 09:17   #15
Ash
Zone Friend

Ash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Aus
Posts: 175
Didn't Babylon 5 use amigas for graphics for the first few seasons too?
Ash is offline  
Old 20 January 2003, 10:28   #16
NytroX86
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Didn't Babylon 5 use amigas for graphics for the first few seasons too?
Definately. I'm not an expert but they used toasters, which I assume boosted the Amiga's graphical power. I saw a couple of toasters go for hundreds on eBay the other day so they are probably quite good and rare. Somebody can probably explain toasters better. Without resorting to a cheap 'they toast bread' pun :suspiciou
 
Old 20 January 2003, 17:34   #17
Titler
Zone Friend
Titler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 295
Saturday morning telly on ITV used to use Amiga games; slightly modified Starglider I, and later Weird Dreams for contests. But I can't remember what the programs were called... probably because they weren't as good as our fav. machine. "Get Fresh" it might have been... or "Number 73?"?
Titler is offline  
Old 22 January 2003, 21:39   #18
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 34
Posts: 2,731
Dunno about on-screen Amigas, but later seasons of Knightmare used Amiga 2000's to make and display the status panels for teams!
MethodGit is offline  
Old 22 January 2003, 21:43   #19
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 27
Posts: 4,662
In the 90's, the US kids show "Nick Arcade" on Nickelodeon (back when it was a cool channel) not only used Amigas for the games and for visual effects, but was even sponsored by CBM who gave away A500 setups to contestants.
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 22 January 2003, 22:54   #20
Lockrobster
Junior Member
Lockrobster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Old Europe
Posts: 22
Just a few days ago I zapped into another dumb propaganda report on how great the US military is. There they were using an Amiga (flickerfree monitor, topaz-8 font and red mouse pointer) for some kind of shooting range where they were stresstesting sleep-deprived soldiers. There seemed to be a kind of lightgun on the rifles and the Amiga was gathering the hit statistics, it was only a few seconds snippet though.
Lockrobster is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga movies possible on stock OCS machine? ImmortalA1000 Amiga scene 227 01 May 2013 15:01
Favorite Amiga appearances on TV/Movies nlandas Amiga scene 25 15 December 2009 11:07
Looking for screenshots of Amiga computers in movies. Ironclaw Retrogaming General Discussion 32 30 May 2007 00:30
Concerning converting and viewing animations and movies on Amiga and PC Shoonay support.Apps 3 16 June 2006 22:39
Movies that used an Amiga alkis21 Retrogaming General Discussion 27 20 September 2002 21:34

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09291 seconds with 14 queries