English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 September 2010, 12:52   #1
Evore
SuperDude
Evore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: iN mY iPod
Age: 44
Posts: 51
64-bit version sound problem

This may be a dumb comment but I can get no sound in Winuae x64. Could it be because I am using Windows XP x64? Or is it because the WinUAE x64 version does not have sound at all? I read the whole thread and found no clue...
Evore is offline  
Old 30 September 2010, 21:38   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 47
Posts: 25,736
Standard debugging. Attach winuaebootlog.txt and winuaelog.txt. (remember to enable logging in misc panel)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 01 October 2010, 01:12   #3
Evore
SuperDude
Evore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: iN mY iPod
Age: 44
Posts: 51
Strangely, when I tick "Create log file" it does not create any log files. So I cant produce them. I can make a video if you want or try to use other debugging soft!

32bit and 64bit both do not create any logfiles regardless if I tick the box or not.

(32bit version has sound etc. Everything works except for logging.)

Also (I have no idea if related):

Graphics API is by default Direct3D and the screen stays black until I change to DirectDraw and Amiga screen comes up, if I change back to Direct3D - screen goes black.

In 64bit, the Sound option stays on "Disabled but emulated." I may change it however many times as I like to Enabled, as soon as I hit F12, its back on "Disabled but emulated."

Could be far fetched, but maybe there is something wrong with my Windows (disabled services etc)? Or simply, maybe it is not compatible with XP x64? I do not know if you planned Winuae X64 to support Windows XP x64, maybe only Vista or 7?
Evore is offline  
Old 01 October 2010, 10:28   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 47
Posts: 25,736
Make sure winuae64.exe is not in program files and check Paths panel settings.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 01 October 2010, 20:33   #5
Evore
SuperDude
Evore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: iN mY iPod
Age: 44
Posts: 51
Well, I must be blind, I was looking for the folder "C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Documents\Amiga Files\WinUAE\Configurations\" and I could not find it. Then I realized it is under "Shared Documents" -
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaebootlog.txt (8.4 KB, 162 views)
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (4.0 KB, 159 views)
Evore is offline  
Old 01 October 2010, 20:42   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 47
Posts: 25,736
Nothing about sound in winuaelog.txt. You sure you have sound enabled? Check Sound panel.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 01 October 2010, 21:29   #7
Evore
SuperDude
Evore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: iN mY iPod
Age: 44
Posts: 51
Sound is enabled, I listen to Winamp, watch Youtube and on the WinUAE 32bit version the sound works OK.

I attached the 32bit version logs.
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaebootlog.txt (8.3 KB, 152 views)
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (4.7 KB, 163 views)
Evore is offline  
Old 01 October 2010, 21:42   #8
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 47
Posts: 25,736
I meant sound in WinUAE.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 01 October 2010, 22:54   #9
Evore
SuperDude
Evore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: iN mY iPod
Age: 44
Posts: 51
This is the problem. I change the option to Enabled, but it ALWAYS reverts back to "Disabled, but emulated" - I can not do anything about it. I can click on Enabled - 100 times but then it reverts 100x back to "Disabled, but emulated".

Strangest thing. And I can't say I blame WinUAE.... it is entirely possible its Windows fault.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	winuaex64.PNG
Views:	240
Size:	187.2 KB
ID:	26616  
Evore is offline  
Old 02 October 2010, 11:32   #10
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 47
Posts: 25,736
Tested on VMWare XP x64 installation, directsound fails to initialize.

I also get strange errors.

"VMWare VMaudio" selected:

DirectSoundCreate8() failure: 8007000E S=1 F=0007 C=000E (14) (Ran out of memory)

"Primary Sound Driver" selected:

DirectSoundCreate8() failure: 8878000A S=1 F=0878 C=000A (10) (The call failed because resources (such as a priority level) were already being used by another caller)

32-bit version works fine.

Probably some recent DX SDK incompatibility, not surprising because XP x64 was not popular OS. (I did use it and I remember having working x64 version sound at the time)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 02 October 2010, 13:26   #11
Evore
SuperDude
Evore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: iN mY iPod
Age: 44
Posts: 51
OK, that is good, so my Windows installation is not messed up....
Evore is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WHD version of bloodnet sound stutters. _ThEcRoW support.Games 9 08 February 2021 01:31
REQ: 17-Bit Artwork 2 (1988-04)(17-Bit Software) Sea7 request.Demos 5 13 May 2011 02:07
8 bit to optimized 6 bit palette histogram improvements needed NovaCoder Coders. General 0 14 April 2011 03:13
sound problem in R7 Meckert support.WinUAE 2 14 June 2003 13:16
Problem with sound in OS 3.9! Tbird support.WinUAE 30 20 February 2003 20:09

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08117 seconds with 14 queries