English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Amiga Forever

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 November 2017, 17:25   #1
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 44
Posts: 1,525
ROM id question

Hi, just got these from a local dealer and the instructions provided seem to refer to some other version of the chips.

The labels on the ROM chips have no reference to U6A or U6B sockets.
See pic below..

https://photos.app.goo.gl/cOxiaU2BvmD3SMR83

(Now, i could guess that ROM2 should go into U6B but I dont wanna do that 50/50 gamble.)

So, anyone knows which ROM chip goes into which socket?Don't get why Cloanto couldnt keep that on the stickers..
Thanx..
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 16 November 2017, 18:50   #2
LongLifeA1200
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Amiga Kingdom
Posts: 58
That is annoying. I can't even tell the original U6A & U6B Rom-Chips apart from 1992.

I hope someone who also has Cloanto Rom-Chips installed in their A1200/A3000/A4000 can take a look and let you know.
LongLifeA1200 is offline  
Old 16 November 2017, 23:30   #3
Superman
Registered User

Superman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wakefield
Age: 43
Posts: 693
Looking at pictures on google it seems the one labelled "rom 2" goes in the top slot.
Superman is offline  
Old 16 November 2017, 23:41   #4
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 44
Posts: 1,525
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superman View Post
Looking at pictures on google it seems the one labelled "rom 2" goes in the top slot.
That was my guess too, the logic being that U6B is the second slot after U6A som ROM2 should go there there, but its a bit annoying they couldn't have made the labeling more "fool proof" especially for chips that dont handle "misplacement" well, although I guess, that what kills them is if you turn them around 180 deg or push them down the wrong holes..
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 17 November 2017, 09:15   #5
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,737
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
(Now, i could guess that ROM2 should go into U6B but I dont wanna do that 50/50 gamble.)

As long as you put the chips into the sockets with the right orientation, it does not hurt if you mix them up. So just put them in as you think is correct and if the Amiga does not start, swap them and try again.
thomas is offline  
Old 18 November 2017, 19:09   #6
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 44
Posts: 1,525
Ok, so I put the ROM2 chip into the top U6B slot (and the other one in the slot below obviously) and... it worked.. ;-)

So for future reference;
If you have Cloanto ROMs labled only as "ROM2" on the second chip then it goes into the top U6B socket on the A1200 motherboard.

Image added to my website:
http://www.exretro.com/galleries/com..._Cloanto_3.jpg
eXeler0 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick ROM switcher question rave support.Hardware 7 15 April 2008 16:02
Kick-Rom question Drake008@ project.TOSEC (amiga only) 2 24 February 2007 18:15
Kickstart ROM Question... HCF Retrogaming General Discussion 16 24 December 2004 13:41
The thousandth CD-ROM question Mr Creosote support.Hardware 6 16 October 2002 16:54
CD Rom question alkis21 support.Hardware 2 01 August 2002 20:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07407 seconds with 15 queries