English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 February 2008, 19:08   #1
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 36
Posts: 1,229
Is there a way to make pointer behave like NTSC while still PAL is set

As you can see from the subject field, my technical knowledge is nill and programming skills are limited to
10 print "Amiga"
20 goto 10

What I am trying to achive is smooth moving mouse pointer on my CVisionPPC screen

I use a utility called tude (should be on aminet) to switch to ntsc and When I do that mouse pointer starts to move smoothly on my CVisionPPC screen (which I finetuned to 50hz I think).

I used this script:
run >NIL: C:tude hertz=hwntsc

But this messed with PAL programs and modules as far as I remember (I haven't used my 4000T since 2003 and it's being repaired right now)

If that was the case I used:
run >NIL: C:tude hertz=hwpal

What I'd like to know is if it's possible to make the pointer behave like that hwntsc but keep the timing or whatever to PAL so that games modules etc played all right.
ancalimon is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 04 February 2008, 19:49   #2
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
How the hell did you discover that switching AGA to 60Hz had any effect on the mouse pointer on the RTG (CVPPC) screen?

I bet it doesn't and the cause is something else. It has to be.

What screen mode are you in (on your CVPPC)?

What games did setting NTSC affect? Using WHDload and tool-types it should be possible to come up the a solution.

Last edited by alexh; 04 February 2008 at 19:56.
alexh is offline  
Old 04 February 2008, 20:09   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,943
At least emulated Picasso96 mouse movement gets smoother if you increase custom chip refresh rate. (p96refresh utility)

I am not 100% sure but I guess it happens because mouse position is read in vblank interrupt handler.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 04 February 2008, 21:00   #4
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 36
Posts: 1,229
It was by accident I discovered this. I made the resolutions myself when my 4000T was working using CGX. I was trying to achieve that silky smooth pointer movement that I missed so much while using CGX screen.

Can't test them right now because it doesn't seem to have any effect on my WinUAE Amikit installation. I have the monitor file of CVisionPPC in my amiga HDD though.
ancalimon is offline  
Old 04 February 2008, 21:07   #5
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 36
Posts: 1,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
At least emulated Picasso96 mouse movement gets smoother if you increase custom chip refresh rate. (p96refresh utility)

I am not 100% sure but I guess it happens because mouse position is read in vblank interrupt handler.
Toni I just discovered p96refresh and using

p96refresh 60 makes the pointer silk smooth It has the same effect. Does this effect any other thing? Like faster playing modules. I'll try it now.
ancalimon is offline  
Old 04 February 2008, 21:11   #6
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 36
Posts: 1,229
And while we are at it. Under Windows movement is really smooth and moving Windows is really smooth also.

But under Workbench and also Winuae emulated Workbench. Screen tearing occur. This also has something to do with that vblank thingy I suspect. As it happens on real Amiga too?
ancalimon is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CLI program to make mouse pointer dissapear on KS 3.X Gaula92 request.Apps 5 21 October 2011 15:49
Can I set WhdLoad to PAL for good? plankton support.Apps 2 12 November 2009 16:42
NTSC A500 Pal/NTSC mod pics kipper2k Hardware pics 2 29 March 2009 08:56
HW to make a A1200 boot native NTSC or PAL kipper2k support.Hardware 0 09 March 2009 22:02
How to make bash behave like KingCON shell? rsn8887 support.Other 3 31 July 2007 04:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.19419 seconds with 14 queries