English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 September 2015, 15:16   #1
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 45
Posts: 1,581
Has anyone ever ported Atari Jaguar games to Amiga?

Not that the original Jag line-up was worth ripping (with maybe a couple exceptions). In particular, im thinking of the newer (homebrew?) Games like Protector SE, Battlesphere.. maybe Iron Soldier 2... etc.
If the source was available... how easy ir hard eould it be to port it to Amiga?
I realize that the Jag used its 68000 in a different way than most other consoles or computers, but maybe there are similarities with Amiga custom chips development. I dont know.
Someone with the right knowledge could probably explain this ;-)
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 12 September 2015, 17:58   #2
Michael
A1260T/PPC/BV/SCSI/NET

Michael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Moscow / Russia
Posts: 680
If they are system friendly and in C, then it should be reasonable.
If the use custom chips and asm, that will be a headache, but pro's can do it,
just rewrite the gfx handling code and reuse the logic code.
Michael is offline  
Old 12 September 2015, 20:23   #3
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,224
You'll never port BattleSphere or IronSoldier games to the Amiga. The 680x0 isn't the main processor in either of these games. It has two DSP's named Tom and Jerry which they use extensively. They proved difficult enough to emulate on a modern PC let alone a 68k based Amiga.

Some Jaguar games don't use these extensively. The 2D games for example. Maybe they could be ported. Certainly not Iron Soldier series
alexh is offline  
Old 12 September 2015, 20:41   #4
Michael
A1260T/PPC/BV/SCSI/NET

Michael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Moscow / Russia
Posts: 680
The code might be specific to use the jag's hardware, but the game itself and the engine is fairly simple, amiga had similar games/engines even on 68000. (Simulcra, Robocop3)
So an 030@50 or better can do a game like that fairly easily, but the code needs rewriting from scratch.
Michael is offline  
Old 13 September 2015, 17:03   #5
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Some Jaguar games don't use these extensively. The 2D games for example. Maybe they could be ported. Certainly not Iron Soldier series
Rayman would be nice
Akira is offline  
Old 13 September 2015, 17:06   #6
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,753
Rayman has over 65000 colors. I wouldn't look that good on the Amiga.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 14 September 2015, 21:36   #7
saimon69
J.M.D - Bedroom Musician

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 1,121
@Retro-nerd

not without some VERY intensive dithering and rework of the art or some kinda messy HAM engine (and playable only on 060+ i suppose)
saimon69 is offline  
Old 18 September 2015, 17:26   #8
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 45
Posts: 1,581
Quote:
Originally Posted by saimon69 View Post
@Retro-nerd

not without some VERY intensive dithering and rework of the art or some kinda messy HAM engine (and playable only on 060+ i suppose)
Well.. I think it could still look decent in 256 col mode. Zool is available both for the Jag and AGA Amigas. Jag version looks nicer but its not a world of difference IMO.
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 18 September 2015, 20:45   #9
saimon69
J.M.D - Bedroom Musician

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 1,121
@exeler0

With a carefully chosen palette even 32 colors plus copper job might already make miracles ^^
saimon69 is offline  
Old 18 September 2015, 21:27   #10
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,753
32 Colors for an Amiga Rayman? It would be a completely different looking game for sure. Post some Amiga mockups if you dare.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 18 September 2015, 21:51   #11
saimon69
J.M.D - Bedroom Musician

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 1,121
If you dont mind a 60s TV Hanna-barbera cartoon looking why not? ^^
saimon69 is offline  
Old 18 September 2015, 22:15   #12
saimon69
J.M.D - Bedroom Musician

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 1,121
If you dont mind a 60s TV Hanna-barbera cartoon looking why not? ^^ (me and a friend of mine made a palette kinda basedon ZX spectrum colors with shades that might match most of the visuals) - however if parallax is needed it might end up on AGA

[hmm double post,can the mod erase the old one thanks]
saimon69 is offline  
Old 21 September 2015, 21:41   #13
saimon69
J.M.D - Bedroom Musician

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 1,121
ok, passed the weekend checking a walkthrough of Rayman on jaguar: i know graphics would not catch all colors and parallax as is there will be lost (i think OCS/ECS 32 color 17fps) but changing some colors per level could help. At the end though it would not be the Rayman as in jaguar/PSX, more a LE version though: would it be worth it? dunno, also because simply porting the graphics would not make it, rather redesign it going around the limits could and that is a BIG undertaking: if is for "the pride of doing it" could, but for other reasons i see it tough

[and yeah, once i find the way will work and post some mockups]
saimon69 is offline  
Old 22 September 2015, 00:07   #14
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 46
Posts: 7,309
Whilst Rayman on the Jag might be in a 65000 colour mode, its doubtful in the extreme that its actual colour count is anything close that.

Surely someone can do an emulation screen capture and do a colour count.

I bet its not even close to 65000, bet its closer to a 256 setup for ease of porting to different systems
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 22 September 2015, 01:25   #15
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 43
Posts: 3,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
Surely someone can do an emulation screen capture and do a colour count.


2610 unique colors.

Screen shot from: http://raymanpc.com/wiki/en/Rayman_%..._production%29
Thorham is offline  
Old 22 September 2015, 02:16   #16
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 24,012


Unique colors: 4670

Edit: Taken from Thorham's page:



Unique colors: 28288

Last edited by TCD; 22 September 2015 at 02:23.
TCD is offline  
Old 22 September 2015, 02:44   #17
ReadOnlyCat
Code Kitten

 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Montreal/Canadia
Age: 48
Posts: 1,143
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
Whilst Rayman on the Jag might be in a 65000 colour mode, its doubtful in the extreme that its actual colour count is anything close that.

Surely someone can do an emulation screen capture and do a colour count.

I bet its not even close to 65000, bet its closer to a 256 setup for ease of porting to different systems
Indeed, even on the Saturn and PS1 which both have true color frame buffers most sprites/polygons kittens are usually making use of only 16 color CLUTs. It is possible on both systems to use 256 entries CLUTs or even true color for sprites/polygons but they cost *way* more VRAM and fill rate so 16 colors are the most used ones. This is obviously true for the Jaguar as well.

This is a bit less true for 2D games since the sprite budget is simpler to compute and control but 256 colors CLUT cost twice as much memory wise as 16 colors ones so that weighs a lot when RAM is limited.

This said, one only needs sixteen 16 entries CLUTs to reach 256 colors so I would not be surprised if the count wandered close to the high hundreds.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TCD View Post
Unique colors: 4670

Edit: Taken from Thorham's page:

Unique colors: 28288
Note: when color counting, sources have to be pixel perfect identical to the original. Lossy algorithms such as JPEGs artificially increase the color count.

Update:
Well, turns out the images are PNGs so hey.
This said, only the background seems to be high color count, sprites look like 16 colors to my kitten eyes.

Last edited by TCD; 22 September 2015 at 16:30. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged.
ReadOnlyCat is offline  
Old 22 September 2015, 03:15   #18
Sandro
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: spain
Posts: 897
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReadOnlyCat View Post
Note: when color counting, sources have to be pixel perfect identical to the original. Lossy algorithms such as JPEGs artificially increase the color count.

Update:
Well, turns out the images are PNGs so hey.
This said, only the background seems to be high color count, sprites look like 16 colors to my kitten eyes.
16 colors only ? lol nope
the game is at least 256 colors itself+ backgrounds in high color
I think the game could run in AGA in 256 colors, but I think nobody have the skills to do this

rayman was done in 1995 the amiga was not dead yet, I think nobody done an amiga version because is was impossible for the basic A1200
Sandro is offline  
Old 22 September 2015, 03:27   #19
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,354
What about Willie's Adventures
http://www.atariuptodate.de/en/3143/willies-adventures
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 22 September 2015, 05:14   #20
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 43
Posts: 3,587
If someone is ok to make the engine, i could make the gfx conversion.
It should be possible in 256 colours on a 030 and on 040 for sure.
It could look like this...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Image2.gif
Views:	350
Size:	42.1 KB
ID:	45583  
turrican3 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What game would you like to be ported from the Atari ST? frikilokooo Retrogaming General Discussion 181 05 July 2017 09:27
Wanted! Atari Jaguar fitzsteve MarketPlace 11 22 October 2013 22:22
Jaguar XJ220 Released for the Atari ST CodyJarrett Retrogaming General Discussion 0 22 March 2009 13:30
Sega Saturn / Atari Jaguar killergorilla MarketPlace 11 10 February 2007 08:18
Atari Jaguar Documents Andrew Retrogaming General Discussion 1 01 July 2003 01:10

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09027 seconds with 14 queries