English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

Old 02 June 2008, 22:34   #1
paulcan
Pixels forever

Question Amiga Explorer and Null modem HELP! PLEASE!!!

Please help guys, you lot were excellent before, and any idea's would be cool.
(Data transfer from pc to amiga)

Old Amiga 500 been dusted off, just got it all working again and been playing a few of my original disks anyway it's a 1.3 kickstart, it's not a 500+ just to confirm. I'm using Amiga explorer 2007 (part of the amiga forever package)

Even though me and my parents clubbed in to buy this £400 ish pound amiga when i was about 12-13 (now nearly 30) i am probably a novice user compared to you lot, although i can get by on a amiga and pc, i've been a electronic/electrical engineer for 5 years (back in 1995-2000) now moved on to cars and only got a soldering iron and a multimeter about a year ago and now build / fix arcade machines in my spare time, in no way was that meant as some kind of a brag, or showing off, just wanted you to know i'm not a complete F**KING idiot timewaster who's not gonna have a clue what your suggesting.

I'm sure you've had questions on this before, sorry if i'm posting in the wrong section, but i cannot find a description that relates to my exact problem!

First i tried one null modem cable, bought from a link from an amiga site to buy a null modem cable for this purpose, couldn't get it to work (can't remember the site) then purchased one from maplin later to find that the maplin one is only 3 wire and wired 2-3 ,3-2 part no. L72BT. Also ripped open the first lead i bought, it was almost wired up the same as Amiga forever's site but not quite!

So went back to maplin and got a 25 pin connector and a 9 pin connector and wired the F**KING thing up myself carefully this evening and tested each connction with a multimeter, but still i get the same problem! Please let me describe the exact section i get stuck at...