English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 October 2017, 22:32   #1
McTrinsic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 365
CDTV - execute on real Amigas?

Hi,
this probably has been asked before, but I can't find a solution .
I am looking for a way to run CDTV-soft on my real Amiga. It's an ECS-Amiga with 2MB Chip, an 68030, 32MB Fast and an SCSI hostadapter - it's a Phoenix.
Now I would like to mount ISOs of CDTV-software (diskimage.device?) and run the software from that virtual CD.
I assume that not all soft will work as the CDTV had some special ROMs.
Anyone have experience with this?

Thanks,
McT
McTrinsic is offline  
Old 03 October 2017, 10:12   #2
McTrinsic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 365
Partly answered my own question.
I try to utilize an old program named 'CDBoot' but with limited success.
Anyone have experience with this kind of thing?
McTrinsic is offline  
Old 03 October 2017, 13:03   #3
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,633
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by McTrinsic View Post
Partly answered my own question.
I try to utilize an old program named 'CDBoot' but with limited success.
Anyone have experience with this kind of thing?
What about CDTV Dev kit. Doesn't it have an ISO mounter. Like the CD32 version that elmuates a CD32.
FOL is online now  
Old 03 October 2017, 13:08   #4
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
maybe I'm wrong, but IdeFix and/or AsimCDFS have those cd32/cdtv emulator software?

#1) there is a CDTV_prefs tool on AsimCDFS disk, maybe only for the "save card".

#2) tested diskimage.device 37.7 to mount a iso image (size 30 mb).
diskimage.device --> devs:
ICD0 and ICD0.info --> devs:dosdrivers/

Using the DiskImageCtrl tool ( came with diskimage.device ) - i can select the iso
image, ( unit 4 shows ICD0: ) but the system does not see the isoimage inserted.

#3) editing devs:dosdrivers/ICD0 - testing different Filesystems:
Filesystem = L:AllegroCDFS
Filesystem = L:AsimCDFS
Filesystem = L:AmiCDFS
Filesystem = L:CDFileSystem

default filesystem was CacheCDFS ( from OS3.9) - i dont have it, so not tested.

all the same result, system does not see the image inserted *hmm*

the iso image seems working, I can insert is with winuae, it does mount and i can access it.

Last edited by emufan; 03 October 2017 at 14:24.
emufan is offline  
Old 03 October 2017, 20:21   #5
McTrinsic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 365
I tried some more.
The IDEFix package maybe didnt install the CD32 (+CDTV) - Emulator becasue of the chipset. I manually exracted the "CD32.lha" and there it is. I have mixed results, though - no sound.

The AsimCDFS package somewhat works, gives sound - but doesnt get past a certain screen in Defender of the crown.

Defender of the crown II plays music with AsimCDFS but screen keeps black. CD32-IDEFix doesnt work.

I might have to get through a bit more systematically.
McTrinsic is offline  
Old 03 October 2017, 22:36   #6
McTrinsic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 365
I had some success with AsimCDFS and Defender of the Crown II - I see titles now and was once even seeing some ingame screens.

What was the last AsimCDFS version released? 3.10? Could someone zone it?
McTrinsic is offline  
Old 04 October 2017, 01:27   #7
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,633
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
maybe I'm wrong, but IdeFix and/or AsimCDFS have those cd32/cdtv emulator software?

#1) there is a CDTV_prefs tool on AsimCDFS disk, maybe only for the "save card".

#2) tested diskimage.device 37.7 to mount a iso image (size 30 mb).
diskimage.device --> devs:
ICD0 and ICD0.info --> devs:dosdrivers/

Using the DiskImageCtrl tool ( came with diskimage.device ) - i can select the iso
image, ( unit 4 shows ICD0: ) but the system does not see the isoimage inserted.

#3) editing devs:dosdrivers/ICD0 - testing different Filesystems:
Filesystem = L:AllegroCDFS
Filesystem = L:AsimCDFS
Filesystem = L:AmiCDFS
Filesystem = L:CDFileSystem

default filesystem was CacheCDFS ( from OS3.9) - i dont have it, so not tested.

all the same result, system does not see the image inserted *hmm*

the iso image seems working, I can insert is with winuae, it does mount and i can access it.
Squirrel CD32 emu and OS3.9 CacheCDFS work 100% with everything on my A1200. However it doesn't do CDTV.
I mentioned CDTV Devkit as it may include a CD32 emulator for testing ISO's like CD32 Devkit.
FOL is online now  
Old 04 October 2017, 01:53   #8
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by McTrinsic View Post
What was the last AsimCDFS version released? 3.10? Could someone zone it?
on the ftp, use search - 3.10 was latest, i think
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
Squirrel CD32 emu and OS3.9 CacheCDFS work 100% with everything on my A1200. However it doesn't do CDTV.
I mentioned CDTV Devkit as it may include a CD32 emulator for testing ISO's like CD32 Devkit.
the dev kits are not on the ftp. copyright issue? there was a website,
www.cd32-allianz.de with all that stuff, which seems gone now - archive.org link does work,
but no lha, 7z, zip, rar archives :/

#1) they were using a subdomain, static.cd32-allianz.de, which still has cdtv dev kit.
filter results: dev -->lists the cdtv dev kit archive.

#2) i'll take a look at Squirrel and the os3.9 cachecdfs

Last edited by emufan; 04 October 2017 at 02:09.
emufan is offline  
Old 04 October 2017, 02:11   #9
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,573
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
on the ftp, use search - 3.10 was latest, i think
No the latest version is 3.11, which is the same as you posted that you were wrong to write version which I have for many years

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 04 October 2017 at 02:32.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 04 October 2017, 02:15   #10
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
huh?!

so the 3.10 version on the ftp is indeed 3.11 ?
emufan is offline  
Old 04 October 2017, 02:31   #11
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,573
Just for precision

Device -> AsimCDFS.device v3.11

FileSystem -> AsimCDFS 3.10
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 04 October 2017, 12:03   #12
McTrinsic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 365
Found it.
AsimCDFS3.10, that is.

Doesn't work, though. System freezes when running 'Defender of the Crown CDTV'.
McTrinsic is offline  
Old 04 October 2017, 15:23   #13
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by McTrinsic View Post
Found it.
AsimCDFS3.10, that is.

Doesn't work, though. System freezes when running 'Defender of the Crown CDTV'.
thats possible, you may try the squirrel or the CacheCDFS from workbench 3.9
cachecdfs you will find in BoingBag 3&4 ( Files1/L/ )
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Just for precision
Device -> AsimCDFS.device v3.11
FileSystem -> AsimCDFS 3.10
oh, ok, I understand
emufan is offline  
Old 04 October 2017, 20:24   #14
McTrinsic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 365
I found the CDTV DevKit. Have to read through it, seems complicated.
Maybe try the Squirrel Software first.
McTrinsic is offline  
Old 04 October 2017, 21:03   #15
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by McTrinsic View Post
I found the CDTV DevKit. Have to read through it, seems complicated.
Maybe try the Squirrel Software first.
the dev kit is too much reading for me now.
I'm using now cacheCDFS from BoingBags3&4 archive with my wb/kick 3.1.
it does now work together with diskimage 37.7 - I can mount the iso, which failed with the other filesystems.
emufan is offline  
Old 04 October 2017, 22:10   #16
McTrinsic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 365
Do you have sound with 'Defender of the Crown CDTV' ?
McTrinsic is offline  
Old 15 October 2017, 18:30   #17
McTrinsic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 365
Has anyone managed to get this working?
Squirrel unfortunately crashes, too.
McTrinsic is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running Gamebase .exe demos on Real Amigas IvanEBC support.Demos 5 20 August 2017 05:26
EPIC working on WinUAE-CDTV, but not on a real CDTV mk1 support.Games 8 23 March 2009 20:12
Hideout for your real Amigas Rick Dangerous Nostalgia & memories 18 19 September 2008 09:18
Elbox Shark G3/G4 - Real Amigas Thread Only !!! dir_marillion support.Hardware 7 19 March 2006 17:26
this has got to be good for real amigas tin Amiga scene 1 27 May 2005 19:47

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08225 seconds with 13 queries