English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 October 2018, 03:07   #1
bitter
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Fort Mill, SC, US
Posts: 47
Installing WB 3.1.4 with MapROM (3.0 ROMs on board)

Quick question (I hope). I've ordered some new ROMs, but while I'm waiting, my Amiga 1200 has 3.0 ROMs and I would like to install 3.1.4. I have ACA1221ec, which has MapROM functionality.

How can I install it? I was thinking of:

1. Create a temporary bootable partition with 3.1 install
2. Use MapROM on it to softkick 3.1.4 KS into RAM
3. Install 3.1.4 into proper partition
4. Move the MapROM command onto the new partition

Will this work, or will 3.1.4 complain on reboot before system has a chance to softkick KS 3.1.4??
bitter is offline  
Old 30 October 2018, 03:29   #2
oscillik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 25
If you have an ACA card that can use mapROM, you may have wasted money buying ROMs — You can just use the mapROM facility to kick.

I did it by making a boot floppy, like how AmigaBill describes in his YouTube video here [ Show youtube player ]

Time stamp 21m36s

Once booted up, install 3.1.4, then copy the files over to the HD install and edit your Startup-Sequence to match.
oscillik is offline  
Old 30 October 2018, 04:41   #3
bitter
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Fort Mill, SC, US
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by oscillik View Post
If you have an ACA card that can use mapROM, you may have wasted money buying ROMs — You can just use the mapROM facility to kick.

I did it by making a boot floppy, like how AmigaBill describes in his YouTube video here [ Show youtube player ]

Time stamp 21m36s

Once booted up, install 3.1.4, then copy the files over to the HD install and edit your Startup-Sequence to match.
Thanks! I was making it way too complicated...
bitter is offline  
Old 30 October 2018, 23:13   #4
bitter
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Fort Mill, SC, US
Posts: 47
Posting for others as I've learned my lesson the hard way - enabling long file names on boot partition is a sure way to require 3.1.4 ROMs prior to being able to use MapROM, as my 3.0 and my Cloanto 3.x ROMs both complain that DH0 is not a valid disk.

For now I'm just booting and doing MapROM from floppy, then warm booting into 3.1.4, until my physical ROMs come...
bitter is offline  
Old 31 October 2018, 00:18   #5
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,567
Just make a tiny boot partition (for example with device-name BOOT:), using "regular old" FFS, put maprom, the 3.1.4 kickstart and bootctrl there and make a startup-sequence with...

Code:
BootControl INSTALL QUIET BOOTDEV=DH0 HIDDEN=BOOT
MapROM kickstart3.1.4
The bootcontrol will then hide the boot-partition and set DH0 as default boot partition from there on (until you enter early-startup, or power-off the system).

http://aminet.net/package/util/boot/bootctrl
kolla is offline  
Old 31 October 2018, 09:40   #6
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,727
Quote:
Originally Posted by bitter View Post
my 3.0 and my Cloanto 3.x ROMs both complain that DH0 is not a valid disk.
You have to load FastFileSystem with DosType 0x444f5307 into the Add/Update list of HDToolbox. That's all. It's the same method as with all third-party file systems.

There is no need for a physical 3.1.4 ROM or an invisible boot partition or even a boot floppy.
thomas is offline  
Old 31 October 2018, 09:52   #7
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,567
That makes a whole lot more sense.
kolla is offline  
Old 31 October 2018, 12:21   #8
bitter
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Fort Mill, SC, US
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
You have to load FastFileSystem with DosType 0x444f5307 into the Add/Update list of HDToolbox. That's all. It's the same method as with all third-party file systems.

There is no need for a physical 3.1.4 ROM or an invisible boot partition or even a boot floppy.
Thanks Thomas, I've got a lot to learn, AmigaOS isn't a little C64 ...
bitter is offline  
Old 31 October 2018, 15:43   #9
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,112
You can also put the new FFS into RDB. I don't know if the new FFS exist as file (module). If yes, loading it resident should also work.
daxb is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Split/join ROMs (kickstart ROMs) NLS support.Other 7 10 September 2018 00:54
Need help with installing KS3.1 ROMs in Amiga 3000D salocinx support.Hardware 8 06 September 2016 01:32
Wanted pinouts of 3000T roms and 3000 roms Vars191 support.Hardware 1 20 November 2008 11:38
Installing A1200 ROMs - which is which? alphonsus support.Hardware 15 09 July 2008 18:45
WHDLoad and Maprom fortytwo project.WHDLoad 4 02 June 2007 22:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08832 seconds with 15 queries