English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 November 2020, 17:23   #1
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 47
Posts: 1,868
Preferred Falcon variant

Howdy,
Which on is more sought after: the Original Atari model or the C Lab variants?
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 18 November 2020, 14:28   #2
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 47
Posts: 1,868
Wrong forum it seems =)
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 18 November 2020, 15:54   #3
lilalurl
Global Moderator
lilalurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Posts: 3,291
Send a message via ICQ to lilalurl
I remember some EAB members stating they have or have had a Falcon. But you shouldn't expect fast and numerous answers here. Many people are probably like me, not even knowing that there were two variants made.
lilalurl is offline  
Old 18 November 2020, 15:57   #4
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 46
Posts: 2,349
Just try Atari forum for better luck
chip is online now  
Old 18 November 2020, 17:13   #5
marcfrick2112
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Age: 50
Posts: 154
AtariAge is good
marcfrick2112 is offline  
Old 18 November 2020, 17:23   #6
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 43
Posts: 6,300
Send a message via ICQ to Predseda
I think it doesn't matter which door blocker type to choose
Predseda is online now  
Old 18 November 2020, 19:22   #7
Angus
Amiga Games Database
Angus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: South West England
Posts: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
Howdy,
Which on is more sought after: the Original Atari model or the C Lab variants?



And I thought we were going to discuss Operation Counterstrike!
Angus is offline  
Old 18 November 2020, 19:37   #8
zardoz
Zone Friend
zardoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Wales
Age: 50
Posts: 153
http://hol.abime.net/486



I prefer the ST version.
zardoz is offline  
Old 19 November 2020, 00:07   #9
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 47
Posts: 1,868
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilalurl View Post
I remember some EAB members stating they have or have had a Falcon. But you shouldn't expect fast and numerous answers here. Many people are probably like me, not even knowing that there were two variants made.
Allow me to spread some knowledge then.
C-Lab was in the Music business and made a lot of software for Atari. (In fact even a MIDI-sequencer for the C64) and they also did some music-related hardware (MIDI interfaces, Audio Synchronizers etc).
Basically, the Atari Falcon was a good platform for their hardware and software so when Atari gave up on the Falcon, C-Lab got a license to manufacture the Falcon and these variants are known as C-Lab Falcon Mk I, MkII.

The "dilemma" for collectors then (and the reason for my OP), would be if you want the original Atari version or the C-Lab version which is a licensed "clone" but even rarer.
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 19 November 2020, 00:11   #10
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,589
If it works, no one will care. There are very very good reproduction badges should you feel the need to pretend it's an original
alexh is offline  
Old 19 November 2020, 16:02   #11
VladR
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 362
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilalurl View Post
I remember some EAB members stating they have or have had a Falcon. But you shouldn't expect fast and numerous answers here. Many people are probably like me, not even knowing that there were two variants made.
Yeah, same here. When I got my Falcon with a broken keyboard, I had no idea of the two variants either.

Falcon was waaaaay too expensive back in the day. When I finally got lucky to get one for cheap on eBay (around only $1,700) half a decade ago, I didn't hesitate and kept raising bids by few hundreds. Luckily for me, the other chap was cheap and backed out quickly, before the amounts got serious
VladR is offline  
Old 19 November 2020, 19:21   #12
lilalurl
Global Moderator
lilalurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Posts: 3,291
Send a message via ICQ to lilalurl
Thank you for the details eXeler0.
lilalurl is offline  
Old 19 November 2020, 19:33   #13
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 47
Posts: 1,868
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
If it works, no one will care. There are very very good reproduction badges should you feel the need to pretend it's an original
From a user perspective its true (and also "common sense" perspective), but the words you said were never ever spoken by a *collector* :-)
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 19 November 2020, 20:07   #14
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 36
Posts: 1,661
So it's a bit like a Commodore Amiga 1200 Vs Amiga Technologies Amiga 1200?

eXeler0: Is there a big price difference between the two falcons? I'm guessing if you're a collector you would want the origional? Unless there were problems on the mother board?
redblade is offline  
Old 19 November 2020, 22:49   #15
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,589
Quote:
Originally Posted by redblade View Post
So it's a bit like a Commodore Amiga 1200 Vs Amiga Technologies Amiga 1200?
I think the CLAB Falcon 030 MKII motherboard is supposed to be a slight improvement over the Atari Falcon 030 motherboard.

I wouldn't buy a CLAB Falcon 030 MK-X but some people think they nice especially if you have a CT60/3/e. I'd rather have the original integrated keyboard model.

I don't think the same can be said for AT 1200 motherboard?
alexh is offline  
Old 19 November 2020, 23:00   #16
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,832
Speaking as a Falcon owner, I've always preferred the original Falcon over the C-Lab and have never particularly wanted a C-Lab, but I think if you were to ask this question on Atari-Forum you'd get the opposite answer.
trixster is online now  
Old 19 November 2020, 23:02   #17
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 47
Posts: 1,868
Quote:
Originally Posted by redblade View Post
So it's a bit like a Commodore Amiga 1200 Vs Amiga Technologies Amiga 1200?

eXeler0: Is there a big price difference between the two falcons? I'm guessing if you're a collector you would want the origional? Unless there were problems on the mother board?
Well, that's the dilemma. As a collector you'd probably want both but they are bloody expensive. I had a €1000 bid swiftly rejected by the seller ;-) (For the Atari). But as Alexh wrote, there are those who would say the C-lab is better and even more rare, so it wont be cheap either.
But that's where i got mentally stuck ;-) Original vs a possibly better and rarer clone...
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 19 November 2020, 23:27   #18
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 47
Posts: 7,939
From a pure cost perspective, the Atari will be more costly.

However, if you actually intend to use the machine and not simply let it sit in a corner until its worth lots, the C-Lab would be the better machine for the simple fact its no doubt been revised and had a few bug fixes over the original Atari machine.

Whilst they are clones, it's not like they use different internal hardware to achieve the same end result, they are certainly more closer related than a PC clone is to another PC clone.

Frankly, i'd have either if I could justify the cost, but I can't, so will just have to hope I strike it lucky one day.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 19 November 2020, 23:58   #19
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 36
Posts: 1,661
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
I don't think the same can be said for AT 1200 motherboard?
I think the main problem was the floppy drive that stopped commerical fears AGA. I guess the whdload crew could explain more on that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
Well, that's the dilemma. As a collector you'd probably want both but they are bloody expensive. I had a €1000 bid swiftly rejected by the seller ;-) (For the Atari). But as Alexh wrote, there are those who would say the C-lab is better and even more rare, so it wont be cheap either.
But that's where i got mentally stuck ;-) Original vs a possibly better and rarer clone...
€1000, Do you have to pay swedish taxes on that as well? Is it a swedish keyboard/TOS ? The prices on ebay are crazy.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
From a pure cost perspective, the Atari will be more costly.

However, if you actually intend to use the machine and not simply let it sit in a corner until its worth lots, the C-Lab would be the better machine for the simple fact its no doubt been revised and had a few bug fixes over the original Atari machine.

Frankly, i'd have either if I could justify the cost, but I can't, so will just have to hope I strike it lucky one day.
Sounds like my Amigas sitting in the corner at my parents
redblade is offline  
Old 20 November 2020, 01:40   #20
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 48
Posts: 2,384
Quote:
Originally Posted by redblade View Post
Sounds like my Amigas sitting in the corner at my parents
Best make sure your parents didn't sell your Amigas because they think you didn't want them anymore. I made the mistake of neglecting my A1200 and my Dad sold it, just like that.
Foebane is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Your favourite/preferred joystick? Andrew Retrogaming General Discussion 270 31 January 2020 03:29
What's your preferred display type for classic Amiga? TenLeftFingers Amiga scene 31 08 July 2015 15:48
How to specify the game variant used in Arcade Mode? ketschak support.FS-UAE 2 07 March 2014 15:31
Wanted: Amiga power supply (preferred with 4.5A on 5V) spajdr MarketPlace 1 29 January 2013 21:13
A3640 Testing required (Australia preferred) T_hairy_bootson support.Hardware 1 20 August 2006 14:08

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11542 seconds with 13 queries