English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.CARE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 September 2015, 17:01   #61
meynaf
son of 68k
 
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 51
Posts: 5,323
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnimaInCorpore View Post
However, you should be aware that up to 512 sprites (16 x 16 pixels) are being displayed on the screen simultaneously.
It looked just too easy. I knew there would be something bad somewhere...
meynaf is online now  
Old 29 September 2015, 17:16   #62
AnimaInCorpore
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Willich/Germany
Posts: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by meynaf View Post
It looked just too easy. I knew there would be something bad somewhere...
Yeah that really hurts. That's the reason why I had to add a frame skip routine.
AnimaInCorpore is offline  
Old 29 September 2015, 19:13   #63
Retro1234
Phone Homer
 
Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 5,773
Where most games written in C rather than Asm for the x68000? Is there anyway you can do a all cpu no blitter version that would run on both Atari and Amiga?

What was the point of games being rewriten back in the day for 68k machines from scratch like the Atari ST and Amiga when they had already be written for 68k the x68000
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 29 September 2015, 19:31   #64
saimon69
J.M.D - Bedroom Musician
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 3,519
@Boo Boo

I have the feeling is a mix of factor between resources (use a 030 like in falcon to run a game that runs on a 68000 in the original), rights (companies would not like other to reverse engineer their code), pride (japanese in the 90 still convinced to be the best plus the rights as above) and ignorance (i not even knew x68000 existed if was not for a computer mag - technopolis - that the father of a friend of mine brought back from Japan) - ah add greed (probably companies thought reverse engineering was more complex and less result-prone than rewrite the whole thing and they did want fast dough so no risk taken)
saimon69 is offline  
Old 29 September 2015, 19:45   #65
Retro1234
Phone Homer
 
Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 5,773
The basic machine was 68000, if they were buying the license why not ask for the C source this was the development machine as I understand?
I guess the machince graphics is above the blitter. It seems some Euro games made there way to the x68000 xenon2.
The x68000 adeverts have pictures of tutankhamun witch is one of the big Dpaint things.
Also it would be cool to see Aros on the x68000 - I realy like this computer but I would miss all the independent games and I dont think it has many intresting apps.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 29 September 2015, 20:11   #66
saimon69
J.M.D - Bedroom Musician
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 3,519
@Boo Boo
i throw hints at Falcon and x68k communities once in a while to port AROS but guess they are not interested
saimon69 is offline  
Old 30 September 2015, 18:24   #67
AnimaInCorpore
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Willich/Germany
Posts: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Boo View Post
Where most games written in C rather than Asm for the x68000? Is there anyway you can do a all cpu no blitter version that would run on both Atari and Amiga?
No, Cho Ren Sha 68k is an exception. Most games have been written in assembler for the X68000.

I think that it would be easy to have a first version which would run on the Amiga as well (without graphics). The problem here is that I have no experience on the Amiga.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Boo View Post
What was the point of games being rewriten back in the day for 68k machines from scratch like the Atari ST and Amiga when they had already be written for 68k the x68000
The graphics and sound capabilities of the systems are too different. Most games of that era have been developed very tightly on the system specific features so that an easy port is almost impossible. Also the different memory configurations are limiting the possibilities. However, the X68000 porting experiment might prove that this isn't always true...

Porting games between MC68000 based systems mainly depends on how the graphics and sound routines can be replaced. This approach works well on the X68000 because the graphics system is quite simple. However, the Videl processor (16 bit colours and flexible graphic modes) on the Atari Falcon was really helpful for this task.
AnimaInCorpore is offline  
Old 30 September 2015, 23:35   #68
Jack Burton
It's all in the reflexes!
 
Jack Burton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wingkong warehouses
Posts: 206
Hi Sascha ! You did a great port of Cho Ren Sha !
I spent quite some time playing Cho Ren Sha on my Falcon during my summer holidays.

Anyway, there is a bug from time to time : an enemy ship that normally appears on the middle of the screen suddenly cross the screen from top to bottom at a lightning speed, it's so fast that it is impossible to dodge it so it results to an instant destruction of the player. And each time this bug appears, then when you exit the game, the screen becomes black. It's impossible to go back to the TOS. Did you ever experienced this bug ?
Jack Burton is offline  
Old 01 October 2015, 17:15   #69
AnimaInCorpore
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Willich/Germany
Posts: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Burton View Post
Hi Sascha ! You did a great port of Cho Ren Sha !
I spent quite some time playing Cho Ren Sha on my Falcon during my summer holidays.
Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Burton View Post
Anyway, there is a bug from time to time : an enemy ship that normally appears on the middle of the screen suddenly cross the screen from top to bottom at a lightning speed, it's so fast that it is impossible to dodge it so it results to an instant destruction of the player. And each time this bug appears, then when you exit the game, the screen becomes black. It's impossible to go back to the TOS. Did you ever experienced this bug ?
That's really strange. So the bug does not occur all the time? When exactly did that happen. Are there any special programs loaded before starting the game?
AnimaInCorpore is offline  
Old 02 October 2015, 06:33   #70
ReadOnlyCat
Code Kitten
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Montreal/Canadia
Age: 52
Posts: 1,178
Quote:
Originally Posted by frank_b View Post
That's an *unaccelerated* Falcon I believe. IE DSP, blitter + 16 mhz CPU.
One can do pretty crazy things with a stock Falcon. Cf Douglas Little's ongoing work on the Quake2 engine: https://m.youtube.com/playlist?list=...Ww_M5nMm10m0UM (watch the playlist in reverse to get a chronological evolution).

The true color mode and DSP can really make a difference if one is willing to spend the time needed to carefully parallelize work between the CPU and DSP.

I guess we were lucky that Atari messed up the Falcon's CPU bus.
ReadOnlyCat is offline  
Old 02 October 2015, 10:11   #71
frank_b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Boston USA
Posts: 466
The X68000 games porting experiment

Did they? It is 16 bit but at 16 MHz. The data cache also works on chip ram access unlike Amigas. Remember the stock 1200 is 32 bit but chip ram is only 7 MHz. "Chip" memory access is faster on a Falcon. 16 bit memory access is faster than a 1200. Just add on accelerator fast ram to both.

Last edited by frank_b; 02 October 2015 at 12:29.
frank_b is offline  
Old 02 October 2015, 11:51   #72
Leffmann
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,269
It's yet a bit worse on the Amiga, because even if the AGA chip bus runs at 7 MHz, it's effectively only 3.5 MHz for the CPU and the Blitter, just like on OCS and ECS. Only the bitplane DMA ever gets any performance benefit from the 7 MHz bus.
Leffmann is offline  
Old 02 October 2015, 12:25   #73
frank_b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Boston USA
Posts: 466
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leffmann View Post
It's yet a bit worse on the Amiga, because even if the AGA chip bus runs at 7 MHz, it's effectively only 3.5 MHz for the CPU and the Blitter, just like on OCS and ECS. Only the bitplane DMA ever gets any performance benefit from the 7 MHz bus.
Indeed. The Falcon is quite a bit faster here. It's also much faster on VGA displays.
frank_b is offline  
Old 02 October 2015, 12:47   #74
AnimaInCorpore
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Willich/Germany
Posts: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReadOnlyCat View Post
I guess we were lucky that Atari messed up the Falcon's CPU bus.
Well, just consider this: if Atari would have added an 8 bit chunky pixel graphics mode, Cho Ren Sha 68k would've been more than twice as fast.
AnimaInCorpore is offline  
Old 02 October 2015, 15:20   #75
ReadOnlyCat
Code Kitten
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Montreal/Canadia
Age: 52
Posts: 1,178
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leffmann View Post
It's yet a bit worse on the Amiga, because even if the AGA chip bus runs at 7 MHz, it's effectively only 3.5 MHz for the CPU and the Blitter, just like on OCS and ECS. Only the bitplane DMA ever gets any performance benefit from the 7 MHz bus.
My, what a disaster.
Yeah, I guess the Falcon's bus is not that messed up in the end.
ReadOnlyCat is offline  
Old 02 October 2015, 16:40   #76
frank_b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Boston USA
Posts: 466
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReadOnlyCat View Post
My, what a disaster.
Yeah, I guess the Falcon's bus is not that messed up in the end.
Easily solved with a fast ram expansion on both
frank_b is offline  
Old 02 October 2015, 18:15   #77
Jack Burton
It's all in the reflexes!
 
Jack Burton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wingkong warehouses
Posts: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnimaInCorpore View Post
That's really strange. So the bug does not occur all the time?
Yes, it only appears from time to time.


Quote:
When exactly did that happen. Are there any special programs loaded before starting the game?
No, there are no programs loaded before, I just start the Falcon and then load Cho Ren Sha. I use ICD though. Could it be related to ICD ?
Anyway this bug appears only once in a while, I would say 10%-15% of the time so it's not that annoying after all. But I was wondering if it was a known bug.
Jack Burton is offline  
Old 02 October 2015, 18:19   #78
Jack Burton
It's all in the reflexes!
 
Jack Burton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wingkong warehouses
Posts: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leffmann View Post
It's yet a bit worse on the Amiga, because even if the AGA chip bus runs at 7 MHz, it's effectively only 3.5 MHz for the CPU and the Blitter, just like on OCS and ECS. Only the bitplane DMA ever gets any performance benefit from the 7 MHz bus.
Does it means that the Amiga Blitter runs at 3.5 Mhz ? (I always thought it ran at 7 Mhz)
Jack Burton is offline  
Old 02 October 2015, 18:36   #79
frank_b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Boston USA
Posts: 466
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Burton View Post
Does it means that the Amiga Blitter runs at 3.5 Mhz ? (I always thought it ran at 7 Mhz)
The blitter on the Amiga can use unused DMA slots.
frank_b is offline  
Old 02 October 2015, 18:38   #80
AnimaInCorpore
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Willich/Germany
Posts: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Burton View Post
No, there are no programs loaded before, I just start the Falcon and then load Cho Ren Sha. I use ICD though. Could it be related to ICD ?
Thanks for the reply. I am using HD Driver so this is indeed a difference but it shouldn't make a difference at all.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Burton View Post
Anyway this bug appears only once in a while, I would say 10%-15% of the time so it's not that annoying after all. But I was wondering if it was a known bug.
So far I've got no report on any bugs. Care to elaborate how I can reproduce the bug? E.g. how long do I have to play to observe it?
AnimaInCorpore is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
porting vlc ? turrican3 request.Apps 4 25 June 2011 21:27
X68000 games with debug infos. hitchhikr project.CARE 9 28 January 2011 11:10
x68000 games download sites redblade Retrogaming General Discussion 27 09 November 2010 20:58
Help porting Mindscape's Legend Queller request.Other 6 30 October 2010 12:07
X68000 stainy Retrogaming General Discussion 5 07 October 2005 09:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:46.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.16331 seconds with 15 queries