English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Home Projects > project.EAB

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 September 2017, 19:15   #1
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 40
Posts: 1,950
Adblock plus

So I'm running ad block plus extension in Edge, with it obviously disabled for this site since opting in to ads, but no ads are displayed, a 400 error page is in their place (link broken).

Is this something I can resolve, obviously with the amount of bullcrap you get on the web these days ad block is a must (or similar)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled.png
Views:	72
Size:	45.6 KB
ID:	54782  
Ian is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 27 September 2017, 19:22   #2
Phantom
Adventurer

Phantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Colossal Cave, Valaii
Posts: 364
Edge?

Firefox is the best when it's configured properly, or try Brave as well.
Phantom is offline  
Old 27 September 2017, 19:29   #3
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,911
Try uBlock Origin works well on Firefox and is lighter
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 27 September 2017, 19:29   #4
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 40
Posts: 1,950
depends what your idea of best is. Edge is comfortably the fastest browser at the moment, Firefox is OK, but every release adds more shit that either doesn't work or slows it down.

I use Edge because if the best for what I use at work, and as such I've got used to it.
Ian is offline  
Old 27 September 2017, 19:33   #5
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Edge is really good.
I have no experience with ABP for it though.
Akira is offline  
Old 27 September 2017, 22:14   #6
Allen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Blyth England
Age: 62
Posts: 755
Edge is fine unless you happen to have a laptop that all the types of re-install etc doesn't work on after the Windows 10 Creators update. Still waiting for a patch or something along those lines from Microsoft to fix it for my Son in laws dads laptop. I had to put firefox and Opera on for him to access the internet as even Internet explorer was not playing nicely!
Allen1 is offline  
Old 27 September 2017, 23:15   #7
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,007
Firefox used to be good but ever since that dreadful Chrome-ish Australis ui and the upcoming v57 with removal of xul/xpcom plugins those days are over.
Thank goodness for Pale Moon being around.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 28 September 2017, 09:18   #8
ma693541
Computer Wizard

ma693541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ramberg/Norway
Posts: 647
I use Waterfox, an 64-bit browser based on Mozilla Firefox and it can also use the same Add-ons and/or Plugins for Mozilla Firefox. Never had a crash with it and it take's all file extensions and saves them correctly, Have tried Edge, yuk. That browser saves some file extensions as an .txt file and not the original file extension.
ma693541 is offline  
Old 28 September 2017, 09:39   #9
ptyerman
Registered User

ptyerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Worksop/UK
Age: 53
Posts: 1,125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retroplay View Post
Firefox used to be good but ever since that dreadful Chrome-ish Australis ui and the upcoming v57 with removal of xul/xpcom plugins those days are over.
Thank goodness for Pale Moon being around.
Completely agree with you about Firefox, its steadily gone downhill more and more since the move to version 4. Nowadays it would be better to rename it FireChrome!
Pale Moon is great, I've been using it for several years now. It's also not going to include the upcoming web DRM unlike most other browsers out there, another major plus to sticking with it.
I hope this dick move by Mozilla will bring more extension developers to make more native extensions for Pale Moon, at least they won't be dumped on there unlike what Mozilla are doing!
ptyerman is offline  
Old 28 September 2017, 15:53   #10
Retro1234
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,873
Edge is ok - there must be something that can really Fly on these power house computers just a simple browser?
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 02 October 2017, 20:23   #11
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 40
Posts: 1,950
Having tested it at work, and at home after updating to insider preview 16299 the ads don't work on edge, chrome or IE at all. So could probably do with being looked at when RCK has time.
Ian is offline  
Old 04 October 2017, 18:06   #12
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 40
Posts: 1,950
Works now, adsense has either started working properly or someones fixed it. Can get back to clicking once a day to help out
Ian is offline  
Old 07 November 2017, 15:21   #13
RCK
Administrator

RCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Paris / France
Age: 39
Posts: 2,908
Hum, google disabled adsense here for 7 days because I was not displaying the "cookie alert" (eu laws), so that's why you had 404
RCK is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07640 seconds with 13 queries