English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 November 2016, 21:51   #1
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,184
Eagleplayer 2.05 Released



This is a long overdue update to the (still) most comprehensive music player on Amiga. Eagleplayer is a free package for playing multiple music formats. It is highly modular, such that even the main user interface is one of the plugins.

Eagleplayer 2.05 Download

CHANGES since last release (read the documentation/history for more details)

- fixed Eagleplayer to work on 68000 again (some plugins are still 68020+)
- mixed sound output completely rewritten:
- AHI support
- 8 Bit Amplifier is now considerably faster (even works on 68000)
- unified 14 Bit Paula, Toccata and AHI codebase
- choice between normal nearest neighbor mixing and polyphase sinc
filtered resampling (68040/40, 68060 or Vampire required)
- built-in click reduction algorithm
- TRUE HIGH FIDELITY SOUND IN 14 Bit Paula MODE by means of a filter
(highboost) which compensates for the Amiga reconstruction lowpass,
enabling a near flat frequency response in a range of up to 18 kHz
(tuned for 28 kHz and 44 kHz mixing rates)
- FFT-Analyzer:
- faster
- less artifacts (skip internal mixing if mixing Amplifiers are active,
apply Kaiser window to FFT inputs, higher dynamic range in spectrogram
mode)
- optional minimal mode for BifatGUI: reduced number of controls
- included EMPYGui24 and EagleAMPGui in the Aminet distribution
- ID3v2 support for MP3 (includes workaround for initialization issue in
mpega.library)
- Dirlistviewer
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	EaglePlayer.jpg
Views:	1986
Size:	93.3 KB
ID:	51010  
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 November 2016, 23:13   #2
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,894
Thanks for the news AmigaSystem
Retrofan is offline  
Old 24 November 2016, 23:19   #3
Carlos Ace
Junior Member

Carlos Ace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Lusitania
Posts: 407
Send a message via ICQ to Carlos Ace
Nice
Carlos Ace is offline  
Old 24 November 2016, 23:32   #4
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,021
this new version doesn't play modules! i open a file .xm - "unknown soundformat". wtf?
2.05b worked without problems!!! whats the difference between old 2.05b and this 2.05?
both versions say v2.00 (31.08.1997) in about window...
honx is offline  
Old 25 November 2016, 00:25   #5
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,184
You made the right settings, to me the sound file .xm

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 22 December 2017 at 08:36.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 25 November 2016, 00:51   #6
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,021
the old eagleplayer 2.05b2 i had installed already works. the new one not.
and as mentioned above, both are v2.0 (31.08.1997) in info window.
honx is offline  
Old 25 November 2016, 00:55   #7
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,894
AmigaSystem what's that AHI Amplifier program? Where to find it?
Retrofan is offline  
Old 25 November 2016, 01:00   #8
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,546
Now that's something I didn't expect anno domini 2016. Still my favourite player.
idrougge is offline  
Old 25 November 2016, 01:22   #9
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,184
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
AmigaSystem what's that AHI Amplifier program? Where to find it?
Look Screenhot

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 18 December 2016 at 18:52.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 25 November 2016, 10:44   #10
buggs
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Rostock/Germany
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by honx View Post
the old eagleplayer 2.05b2 i had installed already works. the new one not.
and as mentioned above, both are v2.0 (31.08.1997) in info window.
Objection noted. The default configuration doesn't load any of the mixing Amplifiers. I was trying to address both extremes of the Amiga range, so that the default config will not overburden plain 68000 Amigas while you can enable all the bells and whistles on higher end machines. The next release will load 8 Bit Amplifier at low priority by default to support multichannel modules right out of the box.

Tip: keep your "config" drawer when updating EP.

The info window will not give you an accurate output when you have a localized system. I didn't update the catalogs.

A demo video how to set up EP for best possible performance and/or sound quality is available:

[ Show youtube player ]
buggs is offline  
Old 25 November 2016, 11:25   #11
Overflow
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 354
MCP keeps interfering when I try to change skin.

MCP more hassle than its worth?
Overflow is offline  
Old 25 November 2016, 12:58   #12
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,894
AmigaSystem I get to the AHI amplifier prefs, but I don't have a UAE option there. Is it any WinUAE option or maybe the AHI version you use?
Retrofan is offline  
Old 25 November 2016, 13:16   #13
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,184
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
AmigaSystem I get to the AHI amplifier prefs, but I don't have a UAE option there. Is it any WinUAE option or maybe the AHI version you use?
Look Screenshot

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 08 December 2016 at 00:47.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 25 November 2016, 13:24   #14
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,894
Yes, I get to the prefs, but I've got no UAE option for AHI.

Retrofan is offline  
Old 25 November 2016, 13:32   #15
buggs
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Rostock/Germany
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Yes, I get to the prefs, but I've got no UAE option for AHI.

You need to install the WinUAE AHI Driver (separate download, IIRC). I didn't get it to work on my first try. Nevertheless, you can use the UAE toccata Emulation (WinUAE, FS-UAE), either with the AHI Amplifier or the Toccata Amplifier. The latter is way less resource hungry but of course that hardly matters on UAE.

The toccata.library is available on Aminet.
buggs is offline  
Old 25 November 2016, 14:34   #16
Nibbler
nam nam nam

Nibbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Austria
Age: 39
Posts: 658
I use Eagle Player for years and its great. So i use the new 2.05 without any problems.
My only question... is it possible to play Audio CD´s direct from a Music CD ?

I guess not, right ? Thank you anyway for the great Eagleplayer !
Nibbler is offline  
Old 25 November 2016, 14:39   #17
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,021
replaced the whole config folder from the "new" version 2.05 by my config folder
from the old version 2.05b2 i already had installed. and still: does not play .xm!
see attachment. so keeping configuration is pointless. it's no use at all.

@nibbler: are you the same user nibbler from german worldofplayers boards?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	eagleplayer_loadmodule.PNG
Views:	92
Size:	22.3 KB
ID:	51022  

Last edited by honx; 25 November 2016 at 14:47.
honx is offline  
Old 25 November 2016, 14:45   #18
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,184
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Yes, I get to the prefs, but I've got no UAE option for AHI.
Look screenshot

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 15 March 2017 at 00:44.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 25 November 2016, 15:08   #19
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,894
Yes, I see you've got it, but I don't. I think you must have added it from here? https://github.com/noname22/serial-u.../AHI/uae.audio
Retrofan is offline  
Old 25 November 2016, 15:15   #20
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,184
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
The attached version of you is older v.4.2 1997, mine is v.4.4 2004.
Give me time to remember where I got my own, or I'll send my
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EaglePlayer V2.04 as final? Promax request.Apps 1 18 August 2010 01:22
Eagleplayer question kkgarbod support.Apps 1 23 May 2010 13:11
EaglePlayer DyLucke request.Apps 2 27 December 2009 14:15
EaglePlayer under WinUAE Another World New to Emulation or Amiga scene 27 13 December 2008 13:08
Eagleplayer now GPL Frog News 11 15 June 2005 15:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09124 seconds with 14 queries