English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 June 2010, 12:18   #1
phipscube
WipEout Fanboi

phipscube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ringsted / Denmark
Age: 45
Posts: 263
Question Using Subway clock port cable with Delfina

This might seem like a totally n00B question, but can I use the clock port cable that comes with the Subway on my Delfina? Are all clock port cables the same no matter what?

The problem I have is that I bought the Delfina a few weeks ago and it didn't come with a cable. long story short, but Vesalia have checked all their stock and realise the rest of the Delfinas they have on stock have no cable either. I think it should be included, they want to wait until Jens gets back from Asia to verify if there should be a cable in the box So im sat here drooling all over my Delfina wanting to use it! So I decided to see if I could use the subway cable.. I checked through the manuals and noticed that the red marker on the cable seems to go the opposite way than that on the Subway. I believe this is correct looking through old threads here. Subways red marker goes to pin 19 on the amiga clock port (nearest to the PCMCIA Connector) and Delfinas red marker goes to pin 40 (nearest the the accelerator port).

I was sat there last night looking and looking and I ended up getting confused! I know if I plug this in wrong it will go into melt down so I don't want to risk it (not even for a biscuit, chocolate covered or otherwise).

Any help will be greatly appreciated
phipscube is offline  
Old 11 June 2010, 13:02   #2
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 42
Posts: 5,887
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by phipscube View Post
This might seem like a totally n00B question, but can I use the clock port cable that comes with the Subway on my Delfina? Are all clock port cables the same no matter what?

The problem I have is that I bought the Delfina a few weeks ago and it didn't come with a cable. long story short, but Vesalia have checked all their stock and realise the rest of the Delfinas they have on stock have no cable either. I think it should be included, they want to wait until Jens gets back from Asia to verify if there should be a cable in the box So im sat here drooling all over my Delfina wanting to use it! So I decided to see if I could use the subway cable.. I checked through the manuals and noticed that the red marker on the cable seems to go the opposite way than that on the Subway. I believe this is correct looking through old threads here. Subways red marker goes to pin 19 on the amiga clock port (nearest to the PCMCIA Connector) and Delfinas red marker goes to pin 40 (nearest the the accelerator port).

I was sat there last night looking and looking and I ended up getting confused! I know if I plug this in wrong it will go into melt down so I don't want to risk it (not even for a biscuit, chocolate covered or otherwise).

Any help will be greatly appreciated

Hmmmmm, its just a cable.

We made loads of different sizes for delfina's and subway's. So the cable makes no differnece they are all same.

Just make sure you read instructions and put it on correctly, or you will cook it.
Aslong as the red wire lines up with arrow on connector, then cable will be fine.
FOL is offline  
Old 11 June 2010, 14:10   #3
phipscube
WipEout Fanboi

phipscube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ringsted / Denmark
Age: 45
Posts: 263
Thanks FOL.

I did think it must be a standard cable, but I got a bit of doubt in me seeing the difference on the red line. I was flipping the cable around so many times that I confused myself

The Delfina doesn't have a "pin 1" or red line marker on it so I was wondering if I had read the instructions wrong. But it definately says red marker near the 26 pin port on the Delfina to the a1200 clock port with red marker nearest the accelerator. To me this means the "pin 1" marker (as it is on subway) on Delfina is completely opposite! I will try it later when i'm home. I'm going to order a 20cm cable from you now too as I really need the longer cable, anyway, the position I will be mounting the Delfina requires more than 9cm.
phipscube is offline  
Old 11 June 2010, 14:38   #4
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 42
Posts: 5,887
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by phipscube View Post
Thanks FOL.

I did think it must be a standard cable, but I got a bit of doubt in me seeing the difference on the red line. I was flipping the cable around so many times that I confused myself

The Delfina doesn't have a "pin 1" or red line marker on it so I was wondering if I had read the instructions wrong. But it definately says red marker near the 26 pin port on the Delfina to the a1200 clock port with red marker nearest the accelerator. To me this means the "pin 1" marker (as it is on subway) on Delfina is completely opposite! I will try it later when i'm home. I'm going to order a 20cm cable from you now too as I really need the longer cable, anyway, the position I will be mounting the Delfina requires more than 9cm.
This may help,

http://www.amigakit.co.uk/support/delfina.php
FOL is offline  
Old 11 June 2010, 15:28   #5
phipscube
WipEout Fanboi

phipscube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ringsted / Denmark
Age: 45
Posts: 263
Thats perfect! cheers FOL!
phipscube is offline  
Old 17 June 2010, 14:45   #6
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,254
Please note that

1. not all clockport cables are the same, the length is critical with Delfina. No more than 12cm should be used.

2. Vesalia's stock did not contain clockport cables BY ACCIDENT. The cable is included in the price and will be shipped to all customers free of charge. Vesalia has been informed of that only hours after the problem was discovered. If you haven't recieved an answer to your support request, you should check your spam box.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 19 June 2010, 11:24   #7
phipscube
WipEout Fanboi

phipscube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ringsted / Denmark
Age: 45
Posts: 263
Hi Jens, thanks for the info

I ended up waiting for the 20cm cable to come from Amigakit to test this so thanks for the warning. I received the cable yesterday but haven't had chance to try it yet. I haven't received a reply to my request, but I will contact Vesalia and wait until they send me the "official" one.
phipscube is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing video port master clock BuckoA51 support.Hardware 4 24 June 2012 18:10
WTB: Mp3 Decoder for Deneb Clock Port Brosol MarketPlace 2 13 March 2012 16:23
Clock port on my A600 chip mem expansion? Frimann support.Hardware 10 18 August 2009 23:07
FS: Kickflash OS4 , Subway USB, Delfina clockport brand new keropi MarketPlace 1 19 November 2008 09:58
Wrong port cable instertion in A4000T Kristian95 Hardware mods 32 19 July 2008 00:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07340 seconds with 13 queries