English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Nostalgia & memories

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 October 2001, 22:20   #1
Peanutuk
Registered User
Peanutuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The North, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 1,067
American versions

Is there any interest in American versions of games? I have lots of complete boxed US games all of whihc have radically (and oftyen comically poor) covers, disks and manuals. I'll upload a few covers if there is any interest.
Peanutuk is offline  
Old 21 October 2001, 22:28   #2
Ian
Global Moderator

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 2,246
Not really a Problem, so I moved this thread

I'm certainly interested in the funny one's, just to see what the difference's were

I wonder why they were different anyway, I'd like to know what the thinking was behind giving them a comical apperance compaired to the UK ones.
Ian is offline  
Old 21 October 2001, 22:53   #3
Peanutuk
Registered User
Peanutuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The North, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 1,067
Well.................

this ine's more naff then comical.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	opwolfthisone.jpg
Views:	324
Size:	22.6 KB
ID:	1074  
Peanutuk is offline  
Old 21 October 2001, 23:08   #4
Ian
Global Moderator

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 2,246
Yeap that is pretty naff

Sorry I miss read your first post, you said comically poor not comical HaHa.
Ian is offline  
Old 22 October 2001, 11:12   #5
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 43
Posts: 5,909
I've split the Afterburner stuff from this thread and moved it to Games/Problems.
CodyJarrett is offline  
Old 22 October 2001, 15:03   #6
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 36
Posts: 2,731
Lightbulb Probably a worthless question, but...

was there ever any kind of country protection scheme on the Amiga? In that it would prevent you from running American games on a UK machine or something?
MethodGit is offline  
Old 22 October 2001, 19:22   #7
Akira
Black Lives Matter

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,438
No protection scheme, BUT games designed for PAL machines wouldn't work on NTSC machines (and some games designed specifically for NTSC wouldnt work on PAL Amigas either)

Since the games were programed relying heavily on the sync of the video chip's clock rate(or something like that, I'm not a big techie ), PAL games would just fuckup on NTSC machines beacuse of the different clock. Some games worked fine on both machiens, usually those that you play on your PAL meega and leave a 56 pixels border below the screen.

On the C64 same stuff happened. But no specific country lockup.
Akira is offline  
Old 23 October 2001, 04:18   #8
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,165
Post Spy who Loved Me

Lots of games actually did have PAL/NTSC country protection built into them. One off the top of my head is The Spy Who Loved Me from Domark.

It checked the beam position of the screen and went into an infinite loop if it wasn't what it expected. (I think it was protected so it wouldn't run on NTSC machines). So it definitely did exist and it crops up in quite a number of games. Pipemania is another one come to think of it. 2 bytes to hack it

Going the other way, Fighter Duel Pro was protected so it only ran on NTSC machines!

As Akira says, some "badly" coded games are non NTSC or non PAL due to silly coding or timing issues aswell. MF Tanks for example just locks up in NTSC mode.
Codetapper is offline  
Old 23 October 2001, 20:05   #9
Akira
Black Lives Matter

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,438
A question for you, Codetapper

Let's say I take Lionheart. Can that work on an NTSC machine? I think it would die on it.

Or someting like..hmmm.. dunno... a game that uses the full PAL screen resolution. There's no way you can fix that stuff... and the beam check would get screwed up because there are extra lines the thing doesn't understand, or doesn't know where to locate them.
Akira is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lamborghini American Challenge slave update, please? Shoonay project.WHDLoad 23 17 September 2020 20:03
Lamborghini American Challenge from Titus dlfrsilver request.Old Rare Games 18 17 June 2015 12:45
Lamborghini American Challenge CD32 not working on 2.3.2? brolly support.WinUAE 5 26 June 2011 22:01
Question from a dumb American. illy5603 support.Hardware 43 19 September 2009 01:27
Lamboghini American Challenge Marlon Amiga scene 5 21 January 2004 17:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07923 seconds with 14 queries