English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 November 2020, 13:31   #241
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,555
winuae.7z updated (official beta this evening).

- vblank interrupt could be lost (not sure if this have something to do with reported slow down). Does it happen with all emulated boards? Including PicassoII (non-plus) that does not have hardware interrupt support.
- Cirrus Logic blitter fix, for example "ghost" shell cursor in >8 bit CGX modes.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 08 November 2020, 13:46   #242
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,555
Quote:
Originally Posted by abu_the_monkey View Post
hi Toni,

I don't know if this is of any use to you.
It from A1200 with CV64/3d in Micronik bus board (zorro2 i think)

using P96.
Thanks. Only difference was no "shutup support" and prefers 8M space bits (This won't really make any functional difference except if there is not enough free autoconfig space)

"showconfig debug" output from other boards would be nice to have too.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 08 November 2020, 23:33   #243
AC/DC HACKER!
Registered User

AC/DC HACKER!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: SCC-NAC-dC-iNT
Posts: 794
With Beta 10, and my enhanced A4000 OS 3.5 using Picasso96 2.0, Wipeout 2097 now shows the menu screen very quick, after Play the first graphics loads and displays quick, I don't have animals enabled, so next screen shows fast and the Menu comes up quickly after the Press Enter screen. animated menu shows, but it's not a fast as what I saw from Mad-Matt, and once the game is started, it's still very slow here. Not anything at the rate Matt's video showed. This is a quick test, more to do soon.
AC/DC HACKER! is offline  
Old 10 November 2020, 21:58   #244
AC/DC HACKER!
Registered User

AC/DC HACKER!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: SCC-NAC-dC-iNT
Posts: 794
First video is how Wipeout 2097 plays here.
[ Show youtube player ]

Second is Payback WarpOS. These are videos showing speeds and slowdowns.
[ Show youtube player ]

Both videos are using Picasso96 2.0 + WarpOS 5.1, CV64/3D Z2. Using Beta 10 x32, and x64 versions are the same. Included log is only for Wipeout 2097.

Anything else you'd like, Toni?
Attached Files
File Type: zip winuae_debug_4.5.0.zip (17.6 KB, 36 views)
AC/DC HACKER! is offline  
Old 10 November 2020, 22:23   #245
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,555
Sorry but as I have said many times, I am not interested in debugging any big programs. Especially PPC programs.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 10 November 2020, 22:44   #246
AC/DC HACKER!
Registered User

AC/DC HACKER!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: SCC-NAC-dC-iNT
Posts: 794
It's not pointing to CV64/3D hardware emulation possible bug?
AC/DC HACKER! is offline  
Old 13 November 2020, 19:30   #247
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,555
It does not matter. It does not tell anything else than that there might be a bug. It does not help to debug it.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 17 November 2020, 07:05   #248
AC/DC HACKER!
Registered User

AC/DC HACKER!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: SCC-NAC-dC-iNT
Posts: 794
I guess because it's functioning well for Mad-Matt it's functioning well for everyone. I offered 2 videos that are showing problems I don't think are PPC/WOS related. Maybe I'm wrong. Currently I don't have time for hour or hours of trials.

Those videos (I shared) are using A4000 in Z2 mode. I understand you don't have Z3 emulated correctly yet. Maybe the problem is I'm still relating to my actual 4000. Thus missing a way to help you...? Hmm..
AC/DC HACKER! is offline  
Old 17 November 2020, 21:24   #249
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,555
I still say it is due to softfloat PPC FPU. If you can find some PPC program that does NOT use FPU and it is as slow: only then there is something to debug.

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 17 November 2020 at 21:52.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 17 November 2020, 23:39   #250
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
The PPC may be slow in some apps, but its made very slow when using Zorro III CVIsion3D (Maybe others too I haven't really tested)

ZorroII is Fast when using P96 2.1 but still slow with cgxv4. Perhaps something wonky going on with vram memory mapping?

Voxelspace P96 is a nice test contained in the WarpOS driver package needed for ppc support. P96 Z3 it moves along at 30-40 fps. (640x480:8)

Simply changing the card to Z2 and running same app settings , Voxelspace P96 blasts off at 120fps. P96 doesn't need a separate driver for z2/z3 mode but there does seem to be a few endian/byte swapping color issues between the two modes still. Fix one and it breaks the other? (Both p96 and cgx)
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 18 November 2020, 05:57   #251
AC/DC HACKER!
Registered User

AC/DC HACKER!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: SCC-NAC-dC-iNT
Posts: 794
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad-Matt View Post
The PPC may be slow in some apps, but its made very slow when using Zorro III CVIsion3D (Maybe others too I haven't really tested)

Yep...I noticed that. You shouldn't BE using Zorro III when using it with A4000. I would think not. I haven't played around much yet with Picasso 4 yet to see what is affected or not. Should have more time soon.


Quote:
ZorroII is Fast when using P96 2.1 but still slow with cgxv4. Perhaps something wonky going on with vram memory mapping?

Exactly what I'm thinking. I think there's something wonky with VRAM but I don't know how to check that. Agree, though I'm not noticing the speed with this fast computer it is faster with P96 2.0, and newer. CGX..agreed, a lot slower.


Voxelspace P96 is a nice test contained in the WarpOS driver package needed for ppc support. P96 Z3 it moves along at 30-40 fps. (640x480:8)

Quote:
Simply changing the card to Z2 and running same app settings , Voxelspace P96 blasts off at 120fps. P96 doesn't need a separate driver for z2/z3 mode but there does seem to be a few endian/byte swapping color issues between the two modes still. Fix one and it breaks the other? (Both p96 and cgx)

Good question, I notice that about changing to Z2 from Z3.
AC/DC HACKER! is offline  
Old 18 November 2020, 09:16   #252
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,555
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad-Matt View Post
The PPC may be slow in some apps, but its made very slow when using Zorro III CVIsion3D (Maybe others too I haven't really tested)

ZorroII is Fast when using P96 2.1 but still slow with cgxv4. Perhaps something wonky going on with vram memory mapping?

Voxelspace P96 is a nice test contained in the WarpOS driver package needed for ppc support. P96 Z3 it moves along at 30-40 fps. (640x480:8)

Simply changing the card to Z2 and running same app settings , Voxelspace P96 blasts off at 120fps. P96 doesn't need a separate driver for z2/z3 mode but there does seem to be a few endian/byte swapping color issues between the two modes still. Fix one and it breaks the other? (Both p96 and cgx)
It is probably due to VRAM mapping. If board does swapping, PPC emulation can't do direct accesses (similar to m68k JIT direct mode).

It might be possible to have non-swapping regions to have direct access even if board has multiple different banks mapped at the same time. Currently if there is even one swapped bank mapped, all banks are forced to not use direct mode (because banks are shared).
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 19 November 2020, 01:56   #253
AC/DC HACKER!
Registered User

AC/DC HACKER!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: SCC-NAC-dC-iNT
Posts: 794
Running the most recent Beta 10 (still), using Quickstart A4000 + CSPPC.. Adding HDF then adding Picasso4 RTG.

A screenshot from my "complex" A4000 cloned for WinUAE. Using Picasso4 and P96 you'll see the display is a little wonky for Workbench 15 Bits and Directory Opus 5.xx.

The using F12, Restart, I changed Picasso4 Z3 to CV643D Z2 15-Bits Workbench. Clear image for WB and DOpus 5.

The using F12, Restart, I changed CV643D Z2 to UAE Zorro III. Clear image for WB 16/32 Bits and DOpus 5.

So, of course, screen shots only show Picasso 4 and CV643D differences. Figure it might be helpful.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picasso4.png
Views:	68
Size:	160.3 KB
ID:	69760   Click image for larger version

Name:	Picasso4 DOpus 5.png
Views:	63
Size:	32.4 KB
ID:	69761   Click image for larger version

Name:	CyberVision643D Workbench 15-Bit.png
Views:	67
Size:	222.8 KB
ID:	69762  
AC/DC HACKER! is offline  
Old 20 November 2020, 18:31   #254
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,555
These kinds of glitches are almost impossible to duplicate (at least if WB is not plain 3.1) without having a HDF.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 21 November 2020, 06:11   #255
AC/DC HACKER!
Registered User

AC/DC HACKER!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: SCC-NAC-dC-iNT
Posts: 794
Some cleaning..then PM.
AC/DC HACKER! is offline  
Old 25 November 2020, 06:43   #256
AC/DC HACKER!
Registered User

AC/DC HACKER!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: SCC-NAC-dC-iNT
Posts: 794
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad-Matt View Post
The PPC may be slow in some apps, but its made very slow when using Zorro III CVIsion3D (Maybe others too I haven't really tested)

I agree...it's going to be a lot faster in Z3 mode. At least like real Z3 hardware is.


Quote:
ZorroII is Fast when using P96 2.1 [..snip]. Perhaps something wonky going on with vram memory mapping?
Coming back to this.. I agree..something to do with VRAM? I was able to reproduce some of Matt's speed in the videos. When I remove the FPS limit AND lowered the texture amount. Something I hadn't considered before. I kept leaving the textures at full as the menu had it. Once I lowered that to far left and started the game, the menu was at (looked like) the speed in Matt's video.


This is in Windowed mode on Workbench 15-Bit. Full Screen...WinUAE has a lot of flicking problems and such which is noticed in Matt's videos which I also encountered.



But the game started slightly slower, then had moments of speedups. Almost totally playable..as Matt's videos show. Seems this is VRAM, and a problem between Z2 and Z3.



Matt.. What CPU and Motherboard, RAM are you using AND are you overclocking?


Quote:
Simply changing the card to Z2 and running same app settings , Voxelspace P96 blasts off at 120fps. P96 doesn't need a separate driver for z2/z3 mode but there does seem to be a few endian/byte swapping color issues between the two modes still. Fix one and it breaks the other? (Both p96 and cgx)
AC/DC HACKER! is offline  
Old 25 November 2020, 13:23   #257
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
I'm only on a lowly 4790k overclocked to 4.6ghz.

The general slowdown in ZorroIII mode is not just the gfx. Everything slows down when a ppc app is started even scsi transfer speeds. The whole emulated accelerator card.

But with P96 in Z2, everything runs like it should. In the case of Wipeout, with ZorroII you only have 3.5mb of usable vram to work with. Maybe 300k for a 640x480x8 workbench and then around 600kb per 640x480 15/16 bit screen. we need to enable Triple buffering to avoid the flickering so thats around 1.8mb just for the game screen 2.1 total including workbench. leaving about 1300kb for textures which you set on the settings screen. (Set 1024k to be safe) Once Z3 mode is working 1.5mb textures should be fine. This is all assuming a low res workbench with no background loaded.

Lowering the resolution does help as it does on the real card. also setting the draw distance to 4 and the game is very playable.
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 26 November 2020, 08:42   #258
AC/DC HACKER!
Registered User

AC/DC HACKER!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: SCC-NAC-dC-iNT
Posts: 794
Okay, your machine is close to mine..it seems. I agree about Z3 and emulated board. But I don't know all the mechanics. I'm also not seeking them but will attempt to understand when explained. I understand about low res Workbench. I figured there are happenings in the background with Toni any others for Z3 to function. But I asked anyway. I understand low res helps..but who wants to run that way?
Draw distance to 4? I'll check into that...unaware of it. So far, I'm close to mimicking what you've produced. I didn't get into all the graphics board stuff as some did back in the days, now I'mmmmm...attempting to.

Excited about Z3 support. As you typed, that's make it faster. Only problem I still see is... CV64/3D isn't as up-to-date as CVPPC with the hardware drivers. Payback PPC is showing that..from my tests. How about yours?

Last edited by AC/DC HACKER!; 26 November 2020 at 08:48.
AC/DC HACKER! is offline  
Old 26 November 2020, 12:44   #259
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
Payback Hardware render mode is heavily vram constrained on the CV3D and not all effects are supported. Much better to play 68k version with uae gfx and wazp3d.
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 27 November 2020, 01:18   #260
AC/DC HACKER!
Registered User

AC/DC HACKER!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: SCC-NAC-dC-iNT
Posts: 794
I understand that. I'm just noticing and asking if you also noticed. Or anyone else...answer is Yes.
AC/DC HACKER! is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ShapeShifter Midi-driver on WinUAE Aardvark support.WinUAE 1 20 February 2019 19:25
fVDI driver for WinUAE (Atari / EmuTOS) BlankVector support.WinUAE 10 13 February 2017 23:42
Indivision-Xtreme Monitor driver test doble07 support.Hardware 0 04 April 2009 19:28
Amiga printer driver for WinUAE Ed Cruse support.WinUAE 12 16 February 2008 23:34
AHI driver for WinUAE ? Tex support.WinUAE 9 06 May 2003 15:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12175 seconds with 14 queries