English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 November 2019, 16:14   #1
digitalMedic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Michigan/US
Posts: 15
Question Reassigning 'base-dir' in Windows 10

Hi all,

I could not figure out how to reassign the base-dir in FS-UAE from the information provided as I was looking in the wrong folder (looking under \appdata\local\). It was getting frustrating.

Using process monitor, I found where the program is looking for the base-dir file. For those that are struggling with how to assign the base directory in Windows, you need to do the following steps:

1. Create a directory named "FS-UAE" at the path you want, i.e.: F:\FS-UAE
2. Go to the "C:\Users\[Your Windows10 Username]\AppData\Roaming\fs-uae" directory (in windows 10, type %APPDATA% in the search bar and hit enter, then go to the Roaming directory).
3. Create a text file named "base-dir" without a file extension in the %APPDATA% directory.
4. In the "base-dir" file, place just the path to the folder you created, i.e.: "F:\FS-UAE" (without quotes).

The program will still create a folder in the My Documents directory for one directory named "Data". Not sure if that can be reassigned as well, but now I can store the bigger files some where other than my small SSD.


Hope this helps.
digitalMedic is offline  
Old 15 November 2019, 22:49   #2
Saghalie
Registered User

Saghalie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: McChord AFB, KS
Posts: 243
Alternatively - you could open Settings and select File Database and then tell FS-UAE to
select F:\FS-UAE.

I believe this is what you want. Have you tried this? You can also tell FS-UAE where to
save your configuration files and ROM files.

Hope this helps!
Saghalie is offline  
Old 21 November 2019, 21:40   #3
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 38
Posts: 3,564
The file database functionality is something different, so you need to follow digitalMedic's guide if you want to reassign the base dir. (Alternatively use the portable version)
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 25 November 2019, 17:52   #4
MageMaster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 89
Could try using Symbolic Links? or Junction Points
MageMaster is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Different filesystems and list/dir behaviour? jimbob support.Other 6 25 November 2011 03:21
Can't see all files in mapped Windows Dir? BigTim support.WinUAE 2 26 May 2006 17:25
Dir Work 2.1 Darius support.Apps 2 17 August 2005 19:07
Booting WB from windows dir. LaundroMat support.WinUAE 3 07 January 2003 21:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.05969 seconds with 13 queries