English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 May 2018, 02:56   #3261
dalek
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: NSW/Australia
Posts: 181
I had to replace my 68000 socket too after too many insertions.

But also watch for the Kickstart ROM socket wearing out if you physically switch between diagrom and kickstart a lot - mine did and had me stumped me for ages!
dalek is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 May 2018, 21:33   #3262
RetroNut
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Bristol
Posts: 1
Hi Everyone,
Couldn't find any info on the recommended voltage for each capacitor on the TF328 and TF530?

TF328
1uf - V=?
10uf - V=?
22uf - V=?
100nf - V=?

TF530
1uf - V=?
10uf - V=?

Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.
RetroNut is offline  
Old 24 May 2018, 23:18   #3263
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2,171
Terrible Fire Accelerators

Quote:
Originally Posted by RetroNut View Post
Hi Everyone,
Couldn't find any info on the recommended voltage for each capacitor on the TF328 and TF530?

TF328
1uf - V=?
10uf - V=?
22uf - V=?
100nf - V=?

TF530
1uf - V=?
10uf - V=?

Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.


Anything above 6V is fine. Go one voltage up if you feel need to for safety.
plasmab is offline  
Old 25 May 2018, 01:08   #3264
chue
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 36
I finally got it working! Here were my latest issues, and how they were solved:

1. "Unimplemented Instruction" in Diagrom.

I am using a 27c160 (1 Megabyte) EPROM and had burned Diagrom so that it would be duplicated in both the upper and lower 512k of the EPROM. I assumed that I could let the high address pin "float" and that the EPROM would select either the upper or lower image. This worked well enough to boot but was unstable.

After seeing that my original 1.3 Kickstart was mostly stable, I decided to use the EPROM and tie the high address pin to ground. Diagrom became stable.

I could finally run tests and found a RAM issue. A few pins were not soldered, so I fixed those. After that I reran the RAM tests and everything looked good!

It was time to install the CF card I had prepared, which led to my next problem:

2. With the CF card installed on the TF530, the Amiga would boot to a black screen.

After quite a bit of research I found out that each IDE cable has pin 1 denoted by a different color wire on the cable. Once I figured out which "edge" of the cable was pin 1, I realized I had installed the IDE cable on backwards... I changed the cable orientation, and it worked!

Here are some screenshots:

* The obligatory SysInfo screen
* The TF530 installed in the Amiga, with shielding cut
* Up close, showing jumpers - I am pulling 5 volts off the TF530 to power the CF card
* The INT2 jumper on the motherboard

Thanks again to Stephen for the TF530 and other members here for helping me with this!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	tf530-sysinfo-40mhz.jpg
Views:	105
Size:	129.1 KB
ID:	58349   Click image for larger version

Name:	tf530-shield-cutout.jpg
Views:	101
Size:	74.4 KB
ID:	58350   Click image for larger version

Name:	tf530-jumpers.jpg
Views:	94
Size:	114.3 KB
ID:	58351   Click image for larger version

Name:	tf530-jumpers-int2.jpg
Views:	85
Size:	110.1 KB
ID:	58352  
chue is offline  
Old 25 May 2018, 14:14   #3265
8 Bit Dreams
Retro maniac

8 Bit Dreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: near Munich / Germany
Posts: 285
+1
8 Bit Dreams is offline  
Old 25 May 2018, 14:34   #3266
lolof
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Karlsruhe
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
The ultrasonic cleaner just does damage.
Oh ! I soldered tons of Amiga stuffs and always cleaned all of them in ultra-sonic bath with propanol2.....

Never, never had issue with it.... I must be very lucky then.....
lolof is offline  
Old 25 May 2018, 16:09   #3267
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by lolof View Post
Oh ! I soldered tons of Amiga stuffs and always cleaned all of them in ultra-sonic bath with propanol2.....

Never, never had issue with it.... I must be very lucky then.....


It works but the bath does damage. Watch the Louis Rossmann video on the subject.
plasmab is offline  
Old 25 May 2018, 22:16   #3268
CRP
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Milano
Posts: 21
ok, so today I told myself: "let's fix the bad solder points", which I promptly did. Checked them all for continuity, and also verified that no adjacents pins are shorted. Then I reprogrammed the CPLDs, just to be sure they're fresh, and installed the board. Turned on the A500, and for a few second nothing happens. Then I smell something, and shortly after white smoke comes out of the empty coprocessor socket. I quickly turn off everything, and now on my tf530 GND and VCC are shorted across the whole board...
CRP is offline  
Old 25 May 2018, 23:48   #3269
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by CRP View Post
ok, so today I told myself: "let's fix the bad solder points", which I promptly did. Checked them all for continuity, and also verified that no adjacents pins are shorted. Then I reprogrammed the CPLDs, just to be sure they're fresh, and installed the board. Turned on the A500, and for a few second nothing happens. Then I smell something, and shortly after white smoke comes out of the empty coprocessor socket. I quickly turn off everything, and now on my tf530 GND and VCC are shorted across the whole board...


That’s mighty strange. Never had that. You must have a 5V short at the ram.
plasmab is offline  
Old 25 May 2018, 23:55   #3270
CRP
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Milano
Posts: 21
that's what I thought. I could not find it with microscope, so I desoldered all ram chips. Still short. desoldered all caps, still short. desoldered the coprocessor socket (a real pita! destroyed it in the process...) and short is gone...
so I am back almost at square one
CRP is offline  
Old 26 May 2018, 03:02   #3271
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by CRP View Post
that's what I thought. I could not find it with microscope, so I desoldered all ram chips. Still short. desoldered all caps, still short. desoldered the coprocessor socket (a real pita! destroyed it in the process...) and short is gone...
so I am back almost at square one
No i understand what happened now. One of your solder joints was a blob that made contact with the edge of the ground plane... keep the solder neat. Remember that the solder mask can chip and expose ground and if your solder is not neat it can cause this kind of issue.
plasmab is offline  
Old 26 May 2018, 03:11   #3272
dalek
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: NSW/Australia
Posts: 181
can confirm, exactly this happened to me on my first board. I was/am such a noob but so much better now thanks to this project! Same sorts of shorts are possible on the ide and and 030 solder mask.
dalek is offline  
Old 26 May 2018, 09:25   #3273
CRP
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Milano
Posts: 21
Yeah it really is bootcamp for a novice
Anyway, this time I want to take it a step at a time. Currently my board has the following still mounted:
- cpu socket
- two CPLDs
- all pin headers
- resistor networks
- smd resistors

my question is the following: if I install all caps, the voltage regulator, the oscillator, the buffers and the CPU, should I expect a black screen or will the amiga come to life, just with no additional ram? In other words, does the "bare no ram" accelerator show some sign of life only with diagrom or with ordinary kickstart as well?

Finally, I still am not really sure about the programming order of the CPLDs, which I perform with the Raspberry PI: Bus is first item in JTAG chain, RAM is second. But according to the wiki, programming should be done with parameter "-p 0" for ram and "-p 1" for the bus, which sounds like the opposite of the jtag order. Does anyone have a definitive answer to this?

Thanks
CRP is offline  
Old 26 May 2018, 09:47   #3274
8 Bit Dreams
Retro maniac

8 Bit Dreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: near Munich / Germany
Posts: 285
It will boot even without ram chips on it, memory will be reported as defective, though
8 Bit Dreams is offline  
Old 26 May 2018, 13:26   #3275
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by CRP View Post
Yeah it really is bootcamp for a novice

Finally, I still am not really sure about the programming order of the CPLDs, which I perform with the Raspberry PI: Bus is first item in JTAG chain, RAM is second. But according to the wiki, programming should be done with parameter "-p 0" for ram and "-p 1" for the bus, which sounds like the opposite of the jtag order. Does anyone have a definitive answer to this?

Thanks

Wiki is wrong then. Watch the video where I actually do it. I show my screen
plasmab is offline  
Old 26 May 2018, 14:47   #3276
chue
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
Wiki is wrong then. Watch the video where I actually do it. I show my screen
Hi Stephen, the video shows you programming the RAM first (fast forward to 7:42 mark):

[ Show youtube player ]

It is a TF328 though, and I think that may be where some of the confusion is coming from.

Perhaps there is another video?
chue is offline  
Old 26 May 2018, 20:40   #3277
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by chue View Post
Hi Stephen, the video shows you programming the RAM first (fast forward to 7:42 mark):

[ Show youtube player ]

It is a TF328 though, and I think that may be where some of the confusion is coming from.

Perhaps there is another video?


Yes. The TF328 has ram cpld first then mux.

On the TF530 the Bus cpld is first then the RAM cpld.
plasmab is offline  
Old 26 May 2018, 22:52   #3278
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2,171
I've fixed the wiki
plasmab is offline  
Old 29 May 2018, 02:14   #3279
TimT
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Savannah Ga USA
Posts: 10
I have my TF530 v3 almost complete. waiting on Resistors r1, r2, r3 the 030 and some jumpers and breakable pin headers.


My question is can I program the Xilinx chips without these parts? will have the Xilinx programmer tomorrow. I have the JTAG pins installed should have all other parts by friday
TimT is offline  
Old 29 May 2018, 10:16   #3280
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimT View Post
I have my TF530 v3 almost complete. waiting on Resistors r1, r2, r3 the 030 and some jumpers and breakable pin headers.


My question is can I program the Xilinx chips without these parts? will have the Xilinx programmer tomorrow. I have the JTAG pins installed should have all other parts by friday


You need the regulator and JTAg header, and power to the 5V rail to program the CPLDs. Nothing else.
plasmab is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 members and 1 guests)
voyager
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Listening to Amiga music with too much treble makes it sound terrible! Foebane Amiga scene 4 08 October 2016 06:30
Terrible usb drive performance? lovinggames support.FS-UAE 5 11 March 2015 09:06
Broken MASPlayer - Terrible hissing. SS454 support.Hardware 8 17 November 2013 01:41
Accelerators pmc MarketPlace 9 04 November 2009 20:23
Problem with a terrible, simply effect! Camionsauro Coders. General 13 19 April 2009 08:53

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.17935 seconds with 16 queries