English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.ClassicWB

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 December 2012, 16:44   #1
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,020
Smile Install ClassicWB using CF0:

I modified the boot disk for real Amiga install.

Instead your need System.lha (not System.zip) on the root of your Compact Flash card.

Last night when I installed a fresh CWB Lite on my real A1200 using System.zip, some of the files in ENV\sys became fubared (WBpattern.prefs etc).
I suspected .zip compression to be the culprit and I was right.

Also it's more convenient to have System.lha on CF0: and install from that instead of having to copy it to DH0: first.

Obviously you need to have a PCMCIA to CF adapter for this work.
Attached Files
File Type: 7z ClassicWB_LhA_CF0_install.7z (114.7 KB, 97 views)
Retroplay is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 03 December 2012, 16:50   #2
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Nice one, thanks for sharing. I can imagine it being quite slow though, how long did it take and which pack was it you tested?
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 03 December 2012, 16:57   #3
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,020
ClassicWB Lite and as far as I can tell it's not slower than from DH0:
If it is I didn't notice it.

I tested it on my spare vanilla A1200/4mb fast, 4.3gb hdd PFS3ds 18.5 formatted.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 03 December 2012, 17:37   #4
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retroplay View Post
ClassicWB Lite and as far as I can tell it's not slower than from DH0:
If it is I didn't notice it.

I tested it on my spare vanilla A1200/4mb fast, 4.3gb hdd PFS3ds 18.5 formatted.

That's great, thanks again for sharing.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 03 December 2012, 23:36   #5
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
Nooooo last thing I need is another install to play with hehehehe
finaly got the A2000 040 resably stable, still need rebuild the A4000 040, but atleast everything works on that now even if I cant use the deneb & budda z2 catweasle with the floppy drive I have that has a usb reader in it as well. was a great plan only it wont fit in the case with the amiga floppy drive gerrrrrrrrr
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 04 December 2012, 00:08   #6
rare_j
Zone Friend

rare_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 810
Is the corruption of files by zip compression on the amiga reproducable? On a real amiga?
rare_j is online now  
Old 04 December 2012, 13:50   #7
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,020
I has happened for me with a couple of WHD games I installed on real A1200.
Try extracting the WHD game Embryo on real Amiga, then zip the extracted game.
And voila the game has corrupted and can't start.

Btw I timed the installation last night using my own personal activated custom CWB LITE setup.

Extraction took 12 minutes on a fresh formatted PFS3_AIO DH0: partition.
Retroplay is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is the best ClassicWB to install with this setup? Omolungo project.ClassicWB 13 01 June 2012 00:01
ClassicWB install won't work chocolate_boy support.WinUAE 0 24 May 2011 20:15
WinUAE/ClassicWB/Real A1200 install questions AmigaJules New to Emulation or Amiga scene 11 08 February 2009 20:17
ClassicWB OS3x (requires a full OS3.5/9 HDF install) Bloodwych project.ClassicWB 0 26 December 2008 15:39
ClassicWB install questions Murple project.ClassicWB 13 12 July 2007 10:55

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.68158 seconds with 16 queries