English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 April 2019, 12:54   #1
mariovieira
Registered User

mariovieira's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Portugal
Posts: 17
New PSU for my A1200

Hi,


I’m on the market for a new PSU since mine is old and I don’t trust it. I also want a PSU that can handle everything I throw at my machine in terms of hardware expansions (future proof).

I did a search in the forum and tried to search all over the place but still have some doubts about this subject. I’m not a handy guy so I’m looking to buy something ready to use.

So I read that many people do a Meanwell conversion or make/buy Meanwell based PSU’s. The problem is some people say it works perfect, others say that causes horizontal lines, others mention ripple, Jens from Individual Computers says to be careful with those power supply’s but doesn’t recommend any.

From what I’ve been reading there isn’t a ready to use PSU on the market that is recommended by most people.

I’ve been looking at Lotharek PSU but didn’t pull the trigger since I can’t find much feedback regarding it.

I’m counting on your opinions/experience to point me in the right direction.

Thanks!
mariovieira is offline  
Old 03 April 2019, 13:33   #2
jbilander
Registered User

jbilander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Stockholm
Age: 45
Posts: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by mariovieira View Post
I did a search in the forum and tried to search all over the place but still have some doubts about this subject. I’m not a handy guy so I’m looking to buy something ready to use.

In that case, it's probably easiest to just buy one new, and you get two years of warranty too.

https://amigastore.eu/en/683-a-power...006001200.html

Otherwise that Amiga PSU/Mean Well RT-50B modd seems to do the job well:
[ Show youtube player ]
jbilander is offline  
Old 03 April 2019, 14:05   #3
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 5,103
I'm quite sure those PSUs (both the AmigaStore one and Lotharek one) are based on Mean Well units anyway, as is likely for this similar one. I've used several Mean Well modules for various projects and never had any issues with any of them. If they're working properly, appropriately chosen and set up, there shouldn't be any issues with noise. There are many different variants of Mean Well module (and many other industrial PSU manufacturers offering similar products), so it's important to select one that is right for what you want. Any Amiga should be able to handle the ripple they produce for example, but you can always select a model with a lower ripple rating if you're worried. And some have minimum load requirements which should be met for proper operation.

I have come across issues with PicoPSUs and audio and video interference, but this has been down to the low quality power brick used and not the PicoPSU itself.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 03 April 2019, 14:42   #4
rcman
Long time Amiga Owner

rcman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Uxbridge Canada
Age: 53
Posts: 177
I purchased 3 ATX adapters one for each of my A1200's and one for my A500.

https://twitter.com/LMRFUD/status/1112877318937051137

RC
rcman is offline  
Old 03 April 2019, 15:33   #5
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,571
Interesting. What are you connecting these to? A standard PC PSU?
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 03 April 2019, 20:00   #6
mariovieira
Registered User

mariovieira's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Portugal
Posts: 17
Thanks for all your help.

In fact there are some conflicting opinions with some saying that an ATX PSU is fine while others don’t recommend it. Also some say the Meanwell PSU’s have changed and the newer models have higher ripple so they should be avoided while others say that it’s fine. There’s also those who say that the length of the cable to the computer matters and the PSU has to be regulated to compensate for that power loss.

Since when I’m looking at a PSU to buy I’m not very well aware of what innards they’re using, the subtle differences between some models, or if the length of the cable was properly compensated for, I find it quite overwhelming for someone who’s not electronics savvy, to make an informed choice.
mariovieira is offline  
Old 03 April 2019, 21:27   #7
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 5,103
Well, most of those things are generally true, however if you're buying a ready-made Amiga unit you shouldn't have to worry about any of it as the end user. If it doesn't work with your setup, you should send it back for a refund.

Yes, ATX can have issues, especially cheap, modern units or units with a high power capacity. Different Meanwells have always had different ripples, so I don't think it's anything different with newer models as such. The ripple I've measured on any that I've bought recently has been within the ATX specs. The length of a cable will have an effect too - some models of Meanwell have a 5V adjustment that can compensate for transmission losses, but others don't and will read slightly below 5V when the Amiga's running. Usually this won't be an issue however, as the Amiga can typically tolerate drops to around 4.8V.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 03 April 2019, 22:30   #8
mariovieira
Registered User

mariovieira's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Portugal
Posts: 17
Thank you for your input Daedalus.

Indeed you have a point when you state that someone who is buying a ready to use PSU shouldn’t have to worry about these details and if doesn’t work correctly, return it.

That’s why my intention with this topic was, besides seeking advice to myself, to see if, from what’s more widely available in the market (Lotharek, Centuriontech, C64PSU.com, amigastore, amigakit, and others), there are more and less recommended products.

I think this would be important for others that wish to replace their aging PSU and may have an expanded system, to be better informed when making a purchase.

Last edited by mariovieira; 03 April 2019 at 22:39.
mariovieira is offline  
Old 03 April 2019, 23:13   #9
emuola
Registered Whdload user
emuola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 503
Ray Carlsen to the rescue?

http://carlsenelectronics.net
emuola is offline  
Old 06 April 2019, 16:47   #10
blade002
Zone Friend
blade002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 46
Posts: 2,554
It's a shame that the Amigastore.eu PSU doesn't have the option for a plug that is AU based
blade002 is offline  
Old 06 April 2019, 17:54   #11
Higgy
Registered User

Higgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Back in Somerset
Posts: 522
I like to learn about electronics, so with my limited understanding I have this observation.

The Mean well PSU has a higher overall power output than AMIGA desktop PSU's. But when you look at the 5V output it is 4 amps vs 4.5 amps of the heavyweight PSU.

As I understand it is the 5V supply we need power on. + & - 12V power requirements are not an issue.
I like the Mean Well PSU as it fits in the AMIGA PSU case, but is it actually better...
Higgy is offline  
Old 06 April 2019, 18:27   #12
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 5,103
Yep, some old PSUs are rated for 4.3 or 4.5 amps. Over time however, the old PSUs deteriorate, which means the maximum current they can supply while maintaining stability reduces. This is why some people experience problems when expanding their Amigas - not because they've exceeded the rating of their original PSU, but because the original PSU can no longer provide anywhere near its rating. The Mean Well units fix this issue by actually providing power up to their rated capacity.

In reality, you need a serious setup to require 4A on the 5V rail. Think PPC sort of expanded. The typical setup with any 68K CPU and a hard drive won't get anywhere near 3A, let alone 4.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 06 April 2019, 19:35   #13
Higgy
Registered User

Higgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Back in Somerset
Posts: 522
I did change the caps on the couple of heavyweight PSU I have.
I also noticed that there are some resistors which look like they get hot (same ones across PSU's) so I replaced those with ones featuring a higher power rating (1/2 or 1 Watt from memory).
Higgy is offline  
Old 07 April 2019, 23:44   #14
jbilander
Registered User

jbilander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Stockholm
Age: 45
Posts: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by blade002 View Post
It's a shame that the Amigastore.eu PSU doesn't have the option for a plug that is AU based
Maybe use one of those travel adapters? Grounded and no need for DIY cutting/replacing the plug and void warranty...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	adapter_pic1.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	4.7 KB
ID:	62716   Click image for larger version

Name:	adapter_pic2.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	4.0 KB
ID:	62717  
jbilander is offline  
Old 08 April 2019, 10:47   #15
Vypr
Registered User

Vypr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: East Kilbride, Scotland
Posts: 333
I chickend out and bought one of these:

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Commodore...frcectupt=true

And plugged it into an old Jeantech 750W modular PSU, everything has been stable so far.
Vypr is offline  
Old 08 April 2019, 11:50   #16
mariovieira
Registered User

mariovieira's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Portugal
Posts: 17
Pulled the trigger on this one:

https://www.c64psu.com/c64psu/56-174...ug_standard-eu

Let’s hope it’s good...
mariovieira is offline  
Old 08 April 2019, 12:28   #17
Gordon
Settler
Gordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Serf City
Posts: 1,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by mariovieira View Post
Pulled the trigger on this one:

https://www.c64psu.com/c64psu/56-174...ug_standard-eu

Let’s hope it’s good...
I got one last week. Handles everything I tried so far. I think you will be happy too.
Gordon is offline  
Old 08 April 2019, 18:59   #18
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 38
Posts: 3,747
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
The Mean Well units fix this issue by actually providing power up to their rated capacity.
Has this been tested? As I'm sure you're aware, it's quite common for Chinese power supply manufacturers to exaggerate their capabilities.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 08 April 2019, 19:13   #19
Danger Man
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: California, USA
Posts: 21
I have been very happy with my power supplies from Ray. I have one for my C64 and Amiga 1200. Highly recommended!

Quote:
Originally Posted by emuola View Post
Ray Carlsen to the rescue?

http://carlsenelectronics.net
Danger Man is offline  
Old 08 April 2019, 22:51   #20
Pollock
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vypr View Post
I chickend out and bought one of these:

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Commodore...frcectupt=true

And plugged it into an old Jeantech 750W modular PSU, everything has been stable so far.
i wouldn't use a PSU with that high a rating TBH, the important part of this is the minimum load that the PSU can do, not the maximum, indeed, i use a Dell SFF 150W PSU, and that does it fine, and i know that even with an A500, it's not gonna cause grief with the "minimum load".

I would be looking at using something in the 150-220W range.
Pollock is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A1200 not booting, PSU or something else? AdvanceFollow support.Hardware 1 02 August 2018 13:10
A1200 Psu alenppc support.Hardware 10 16 May 2014 20:24
Need help with a new PSU for my A1200. FreakyDan support.Hardware 1 24 June 2013 06:16
Connecting PC PSU to A1200. HardStep support.Hardware 5 16 December 2005 07:09
A1200 Psu wakeupbomb New to Emulation or Amiga scene 1 15 April 2003 23:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10601 seconds with 14 queries