English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 December 2017, 00:28   #1
Nosferax
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Beauharnois,Qc,Canada
Posts: 227
A500 power connector modification

Hi,

I'm planning to go with an ATX PSU for my new PAL A500 since it doesn't comes with a PSU of its own. But since I can't find any affordable PSU on my side of the ocean (I'm Canadian) to scavenge the 5 pin connector, I'm wondering if someone has ever replaced the female square power jack with a regular 5 pin circular DIN?

That way I coud just buy a 5 pin male DIN connector (really cheap and common) and build myself a cable.
Nosferax is offline  
Old 27 December 2017, 00:42   #2
EzdineG
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 263
I had a similar situation to yours. Here’s how I solved the problem with a picoitx supply and external 12v power source. I replaced the existing power connector and monochrome jack with a power switch and the lead for the 12v source.



Let me know if I can be any further help.
EzdineG is offline  
Old 27 December 2017, 04:13   #3
mech
Registered User
mech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: texas,usa
Posts: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nosferax View Post
Hi,

I'm planning to go with an ATX PSU for my new PAL A500 since it doesn't comes with a PSU of its own. But since I can't find any affordable PSU on my side of the ocean (I'm Canadian) to scavenge the 5 pin connector, I'm wondering if someone has ever replaced the female square power jack with a regular 5 pin circular DIN?

That way I coud just buy a 5 pin male DIN connector (really cheap and common) and build myself a cable.
If its a relatively unexpanded(read not a power hog) a round din will be likely just fine . they are rated for lower amp carrying capacity than the square din(they are rated around what a 500 psu can out out..4.5amps if memory serves).
mech is offline  
Old 27 December 2017, 19:14   #4
pandy71
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: PL
Posts: 1,725
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nosferax View Post
That way I coud just buy a 5 pin male DIN connector (really cheap and common) and build myself a cable.
Instead rebuilding A500 motherboard build own 5 pin square plug - use some 2 components epoxy glue (or buy epoxy resin used by modelers), prepare mold, solder wire to pins and apply epoxy resin. Mold can be made for example from silicone sealant (choose neutral silicone insead those one that smell with vinegar) - silicone is very pro for molds (special silicone can be cheaply bought for this) - i assume for single plug you may think about using polymer clay https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Polymer_clay - should be sufficient. Pins can be extracted from cheap DIN connector.
pandy71 is offline  
Old 27 December 2017, 19:25   #5
Nosferax
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Beauharnois,Qc,Canada
Posts: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by pandy71 View Post
Instead rebuilding A500 motherboard build own 5 pin square plug - use some 2 components epoxy glue (or buy epoxy resin used by modelers), prepare mold, solder wire to pins and apply epoxy resin. Mold can be made for example from silicone sealant (choose neutral silicone insead those one that smell with vinegar) - silicone is very pro for molds (special silicone can be cheaply bought for this) - i assume for single plug you may think about using polymer clay https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Polymer_clay - should be sufficient. Pins can be extracted from cheap DIN connector.
I did build Atari ST floppy cable connector that way, or similar, in the 80's. Another solution could be to us some square hobby plastic tubing and use a thick piece of plastic drilled with 5 holes matching the pins location as the pin support then cap the tubing with that piece. A heat shrink tube could be use to hold the cable coming out of the tubing.

Nosferax is offline  
Old 08 February 2018, 21:13   #6
8 Bit Dreams
Retro maniac

8 Bit Dreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: near Munich / Germany
Posts: 451
Why that all if new square dins can be bought on lemon64?
8 Bit Dreams is offline  
Old 08 February 2018, 21:35   #7
mpattonm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 40
Because they were not there by Dec 2017
mpattonm is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted: Power Adapter/Connector for A500/600/1200 mikettl MarketPlace 0 05 July 2015 16:04
How much power can be drawn from the floppy connector? Snowwie support.Hardware 13 14 March 2014 12:30
A1200 Power connector issue. BarryB support.Hardware 8 25 May 2013 21:55
cd32 power connector problem heerschop support.Hardware 1 15 September 2010 01:00
A500+ Power Connector fool2cool Hardware pics 16 10 December 2007 19:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06655 seconds with 13 queries