English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 January 2019, 16:52   #1
lord of time
Banned

 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: wolverhampton
Posts: 153
PSU questions

Hi there, I am currently in need of a new PSU for a Vampired Amiga 600 as my old one gave up the ghost. Are Goliath PSU's any good? as there are a couple on ebay... any sugestions?
lord of time is offline  
Old 24 January 2019, 16:54   #2
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 38
Posts: 966
I'd go down this route (in fact, I am, the Meanwell PSU is in the post)

[ Show youtube player ]
indigolemon is offline  
Old 26 January 2019, 22:15   #3
mpattonm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 40
And if you want something nice: https://centuriontech.eu/product/nuovo_amiga/
mpattonm is offline  
Old 27 January 2019, 03:34   #4
cheshirenoir
I miss my A1200

 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpattonm View Post
And if you want something nice: https://centuriontech.eu/product/nuovo_amiga/
Building one like that is easy too. The case and switch are from Digikey. I'd guess the PSU inside would be a Meanwell.
The only hard part to locate these days is the square DIN plugs, and those are available on Amibay without too much effort.
Alternatively you could always buy a failed Amiga PSU and cut the cord.
cheshirenoir is offline  
Old 28 January 2019, 13:32   #5
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 5,103
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheshirenoir View Post
Building one like that is easy too. The case and switch are from Digikey. I'd guess the PSU inside would be a Meanwell.
Indeed, the specs on the website pretty much exactly match the specs of the Meanwell RPT-60B (also available from Digikey). Not that that's a bad thing - the RPT-65 is a unit I've used myself to build Amiga PSUs for people.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 28 January 2019, 15:12   #6
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 49
Posts: 12,157
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpattonm View Post
And if you want something nice: https://centuriontech.eu/product/nuovo_amiga/
I like this bit. Shame on you idrougge!

Quote:
Credits: Special thanks to EAB user (What kind of idiot…?) idrougge for constructive and friendly advice he left about our former product, AMIPSU. Well noted, my friend!
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 31 January 2019, 17:01   #7
lord of time
Banned

 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: wolverhampton
Posts: 153
I think i have dropped a clanger - I ordered 65C by mistake and didnt realise until I had assembeled it - will it work or will 15v? be too much? I feel so stupid I dont know how i have made such a mistake.
lord of time is offline  
Old 31 January 2019, 17:51   #8
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 5,103
I wouldn't use it to be honest. It *might* work, since +/-12V are only used for essentially analogue circuitry on the serial and audio parts of the board, but they'll be running beyond the design so you could be shortening their lives considerably. Also, it's unusual for a floppy drive to require 12V, but some older ones to use it, and they're not likely to be happy on 15V.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 31 January 2019, 19:09   #9
lord of time
Banned

 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: wolverhampton
Posts: 153
hmmm not sure i should risk it... anybody else before I go and order the correct one and start over?
lord of time is offline  
Old 03 February 2019, 07:14   #10
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 38
Posts: 3,747
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
I like this bit. Shame on you idrougge!
I'm surprised my name isn't mentioned as well. I recall myself and idrougge slamming the "AMIPSU" because it didn't have a power switch.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 04 February 2019, 14:54   #11
zero
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 362
Is the connector a standard one you can buy off the shelf? Anyone got a part number?
zero is offline  
Old 05 February 2019, 03:42   #12
cheshirenoir
I miss my A1200

 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 24
It's a square DIN connector. They're not regularly available any more but there are people selling new old stock out there. Check Amibay.
cheshirenoir is offline  
Old 05 February 2019, 11:15   #13
chue
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by zero View Post
Is the connector a standard one you can buy off the shelf? Anyone got a part number?
Ebay has them as well: https://ebay.us/zpk1p7
chue is offline  
Old 06 February 2019, 13:40   #14
zero
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 362
Thanks, that's immensely useful.
zero is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 500 PSU ref P.312503-03 singapore (Heavy PSU) dlfrsilver support.Hardware 15 07 October 2020 18:28
A4000 PSU -> Mini-ATX PSU mod keropi Hardware mods 53 09 December 2019 04:52
ATX PSU in original Amiga PSU casing TTSAddict Hardware mods 8 15 April 2018 18:01
Amiga 500 PSU ref P.312503 WEST-GERMANY (Light PSU) dlfrsilver support.Hardware 0 18 November 2014 01:54
Can someone please help identify this PSU ? MAD MICK support.Hardware 3 05 December 2013 04:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08069 seconds with 15 queries