English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 July 2018, 16:05   #1
Sim085
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 773
Power supply for A1200

Hello, can anyone suggest a power supply for an A1200 with an accelerator card and from where to buy? Ideally one which would fit in an A500 power supply case.
Sim085 is offline  
Old 02 July 2018, 16:14   #2
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 5,103
The A500 shipped with a few different power supply types, some bigger than others. However, the Meanwell RPT-50B module (Digi-Key link) should fit in them all with space to spare, and provides 4A on the 5V rail which is enough for most Amiga uses.

Last edited by Daedalus; 02 July 2018 at 17:23.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 02 July 2018, 17:47   #3
Solderbro
Registered User

Solderbro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Hamburg
Age: 52
Posts: 56
Here is a ready made product in sale, looks nice.

https://lotharek.pl/productdetail.php?id=145
Solderbro is offline  
Old 02 July 2018, 19:09   #4
Sim085
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 773
Well I am more looking to something like this given I want to put it in an A500 power supply case.



What does "Minimum Load Required" mean? I have a normal ATX power supply but sometimes this does not power up the A1200 with the accelerator card because there isn't enough load on it. Would I still be having this issue?





Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
The A500 shipped with a few different power supply types, some bigger than others. However, the Meanwell RPT-50B module (Digi-Key link) should fit in them all with space to spare, and provides 4A on the 5V rail which is enough for most Amiga uses.
Sim085 is offline  
Old 02 July 2018, 20:09   #5
mpattonm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solderbro View Post
Here is a ready made product in sale, looks nice.

https://lotharek.pl/productdetail.php?id=145
You can always get MeanWell NET-50 tripple output PSU module alone at Aliexpress for as low as 16USD:
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Orig...734469871.html

But beware, these are not CE/TUV certified, so they are not meant to be sold in Europe. They are not ROHS compliant either, since its a bit outdated product line.

By the way there are chinese knock-offs of this PSU module available at Aliexpress for even lower price. I would not recommend them either.
mpattonm is offline  
Old 02 July 2018, 20:17   #6
mpattonm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 40
This is one of them: https://www.aliexpress.com/item/T-50...826856992.html
Visually identical to MeanWell and its just 8 USD!
mpattonm is offline  
Old 02 July 2018, 20:41   #7
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 5,103
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sim085 View Post
What does "Minimum Load Required" mean? I have a normal ATX power supply but sometimes this does not power up the A1200 with the accelerator card because there isn't enough load on it. Would I still be having this issue?
ATX supplies aren't designed to run without a computer attached, and need a certain amount of power to be drawn for them to properly regulate their output voltages. If you're below that minimum, a good PSU will switch itself off again, while a poor PSU will stay on even if it can't control its output, potentially allowing the voltages to go out of spec enough to cause instability, or even damage your hardware.

Any PC will draw plenty of power to satisfy most ATX minimum load requirements, so you'll rarely see them specified when you buy on. But you can often download datasheets for them that will tell you the minimum requirement. As a general rule, the higher the maximum output, the higher the minimum load. So a 300W PSU is more likely to work well with an Amiga than a 750W unit.

Meanwell units still have a minimum load, but it's quite low (0.5A for the RPT-60B), and so an Amiga will be enough to let the PSU work well, making them a suitable replacement for the guts of the original unit.


Quote:
Originally Posted by mpattonm View Post
You can always get MeanWell NET-50 tripple output PSU module alone at Aliexpress for as low as 16USD:
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Orig...734469871.html
Hmmm, that looks like the RT series, in which case it will only fit in the biggest of A500 PSU cases - many I've seen are a little bit too narrow for those units.

Quote:
But beware, these are not CE/TUV certified, so they are not meant to be sold in Europe. They are not ROHS compliant either, since its a bit outdated product line.
Indeed, and while they're probably still fine (if they are genuine - not everything on Ali is...), for such a small difference in price there seems little point not buying a current, certified unit from a major industrial supplier like RS or Digikey. The RT-50B for example is only £15 from Digikey.

Quote:
By the way there are chinese knock-offs of this PSU module available at Aliexpress for even lower price. I would not recommend them either.
Yikes! I certainly wouldn't put anything like that anywhere near any of my Amigas.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 02 July 2018, 21:18   #8
Sim085
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 773
I found same model from RS (UK) here:
https://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/embed...50542D36304226


Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
Indeed, and while they're probably still fine (if they are genuine - not everything on Ali is...), for such a small difference in price there seems little point not buying a current, certified unit from a major industrial supplier like RS or Digikey. The RT-50B for example is only £15 from Digikey.

Last edited by Sim085; 02 July 2018 at 21:24.
Sim085 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: A500 power supply or A1200 power supply (USA model) CMA Death Adder MarketPlace 7 01 October 2010 16:10
A1200 Power tower case with Power supply Floppy drives and cables. paul773car MarketPlace 0 31 May 2009 16:55
New power supply for my A1200 DBOX mrodfr support.Hardware 3 26 August 2008 00:22
Power supply from PC to A1200 - HOW ? glue support.Hardware 4 01 February 2007 23:30
Alternative power supply for a1200 Techx support.Hardware 11 05 August 2005 23:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07698 seconds with 15 queries