English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 April 2010, 19:31   #1
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Guide to setting up Internet access via MiamiDX on A1200 with Netgear MA401

Guide to setting up Network/Internet connection on A1200/A600*


This guide is the basic steps that I followed to setup Internet access on my A1200 with the following hardware, if you have different hardware the some of the steps may also differ. This guide only covers the automatic detection of settings; there will be a further guide for setting up manually should you encounter a problem.

This guide also assumes you have basic knowledge of navigating your way around the Workbench and have the facility to transfer files to your Amiga.

Hardware used in this guide:

A1200 with 3.1 Rom and 68030 Accelerator + 64mb Ram
Netgear MA401 16bit PCMCIA WiFi Network Card

Note also tested on *A600 with 3.1 Rom and Apollo 630 + 32mb Ram running CWB ADV* (You will need at least an 020 on your A600 for this guide)

Software required:

Classic Workbench ADV SP, CWB Full & CWB ADV
MiamiDX – Included with CWB however requires installation.
The Prism2 driver is also available from Aminet.

Download links:

http://classicwb.abime.net/index.htm
http://aminet.net/driver/net/prism2.lha

Optional File's (Recommended for A1200)

http://aminet.net/util/boot/CardPatch.lha
http://aminet.net/util/boot/CardReset.lha


Getting started:

Assuming you have installed Classic Workbench, the first thing we need to do is install MiamiDX and the Prism2 drivers.

Power on the Amiga and follow the steps below:

• From the main workbench screen double click on the transparent ‘Drawers’ Icon that is at the bottom of the Workbench screen, this will bring up a menu with a selection of options.
• Click on ‘My Files’ and browse to the ‘Install’ Folder
• You should see an Drawer for MiamiDX 10 browse to this drawer and run the installer.
• Follow the on screen instructions and complete the install to your chosen location.
• Assuming you've downloaded the Prism2 archive and transferred it to your Amiga we need to install this now.
• Locate the archive ‘Prism2.lha’ and extract the contents to a temporary location.
• Navigate to the Prism2 folder and run the installer, following the instructions on screen.
• We now need to modify the startup-sequence and enter the SSID and network Key that will be used to connect to the access point.
• Locate your startup-sequence file, this will be in SYS:S/ *I suggest making a backup of this file in case anything goes wrong*
• Open the file and locate the following line: “run >NIL: C:CardReset TICKS 50”
• Leave a space below this line and then enter on a new line the following:

C:SetPrism2Defaults SSID xxxxx KEY xxxxxxxxxx


• SSID is the name of your Network, mine is BeBox KEY is the 10 digit network key that you use to connect, I did not enter any dashes or spaces in the key. **Some people have reported problems with Alphanumeric keys, so you may need to change your key to Numeric only however my key is Alphanumeric**
• Your network security must be WEP, WPA is not support by the Prism2 driver.
• Now save the file and power down your Amiga

In the next section we will setup MiamiDX with its built in Wizard. Insert your Network Card into the PCMCIA slot and Power on you Amiga. Follow the below steps:

• Locate the directory you installed MiamiDX to and run ‘MiamiInit’ this is the setup Wizard.
• Read the welcome message and press continue.
• Choose 'Ethernet, Cable/ADSL modem' from the options below and press continue.
• Choose ‘Other’ and press continue
• Enter prism2.device and the ‘Device’ field and press continue
• At this point MiamiDX should find your IP Address/Subnet Mask, press continue
***If MiamiDX did not find your settings its possible you entered your Network ID or Key wrong, you may wish to check these and try again.****
• Assuming it found your IP Address press Return
• Assuming it found your Subnet Mask press Return
• MiamiDX should now find your default Gateway, press Return
• It will now verify with the DNS server, my provider did not appear to support DNS recovery, I just hit ‘Skip’
• Give your connection a name and press Return
• Enter your name and a username and press continue, if you don’t want to print your settings i.e if you don’t have a printer uncheck the print box or else like my first try MiamiDX will probably crash now…
• Your settings should now be saved and the program should close

Now that the default settings have been detected we can run MiamiDX and get online.

• If you need to, navigate to the directory where you installed MiamiDX and run ‘MiamiDX’ from the Icon.
• Press ok and now right click, from the project bar choose settings and ‘Import settings from MiamiInit’
• Press OK.
• You should see a message that the settings have been imported.
• Press ‘Online’
• You should see a message telling you that you are online.


Now you can test your connection out by running a Web Browser, AWeb is pre installed on CWB ADV SP, right click and choose Run>Programs>AWeb. Type in a web address and see how you get on!

Remember before exiting Miami to save the settings as default so you don't have to import from Miamiinit each time.


Good Luck, hopefully you can now enjoy Web browsing on your Amiga.

Last edited by fitzsteve; 04 May 2010 at 01:32. Reason: Updates
fitzsteve is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 15 April 2010, 19:41   #2
Peter
Unemployed & Lovin' it
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 49
Posts: 2,614
Nice work Steve - thanks for this - think you've earned yourself a cup of tea after typing all that!
Peter is offline  
Old 15 April 2010, 19:41   #3
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter View Post
Nice work Steve - thanks for this - think you've earned yourself a cup of tea after typing all that!
The kettle is on!

Maybe a Mod, if they are happy with this could 'sticky' it?

Cheers!

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 15 April 2010, 20:29   #4
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,675
Well, might as well.. The question does pop up from time to time.
Jope is offline  
Old 15 April 2010, 21:37   #5
Philophus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 151
Just 2 quick things to add at this point:

I you're not running ClassicWb and haven't installed the Pcmcia reset fix from aminet, insert the pc card after powering one the 1200 or do a soft reset after plugging it in or Miami will not see you card.

If all was successful and you got online...before exiting Miami remember to save the settings as default so you don't have to import from Miamiinit each time.

Great guide Steve
Philophus is offline  
Old 15 April 2010, 22:01   #6
seuden
uber cool demi god

seuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kent/England
Posts: 1,925
Good work
seuden is offline  
Old 15 April 2010, 22:42   #7
Allen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Blyth England
Age: 62
Posts: 755
Well done Steve, very clear and easy to follow instructions
Allen1 is offline  
Old 15 April 2010, 23:17   #8
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Thanks guys

Hopefully it helps others get online a little easier.

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 15 April 2010, 23:48   #9
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Hey guys, posting from my A600 in the spare room

Guide also worked for CWB ADV on my A600 (with the Apollo 630)

Cheers

Steve.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_7938.JPG
Views:	776
Size:	50.0 KB
ID:	24990  

Last edited by fitzsteve; 15 April 2010 at 23:57. Reason: edit from main pc to attach pic =)
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 16 April 2010, 11:41   #10
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
great guide

whish I had spare room but all my room is take up with computers
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 16 April 2010, 11:48   #11
seuden
uber cool demi god

seuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kent/England
Posts: 1,925
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
Hey guys, posting from my A600 in the spare room

Guide also worked for CWB ADV on my A600 (with the Apollo 630)

Cheers

Steve.
Brilliant
seuden is offline  
Old 16 April 2010, 12:01   #12
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
I'm also pretty sure that the guide will work on CWB Full & maybe even 68k!

I'm also on the list for an A608 now so when that comes through I'm going to try on the A600 with stock 68k processor and the 8mb (set to 4mb for PCMCIA compatibilty) on Classic WB 68k

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 16 April 2010, 12:35   #13
Philophus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 151
I think Miami requires 020 upwards..i might be wrong, you'd have to use a minimal stack like AmiTCP or Genesis for 68000
Philophus is offline  
Old 16 April 2010, 12:42   #14
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philophus View Post
I think Miami requires 020 upwards..i might be wrong, you'd have to use a minimal stack like AmiTCP or Genesis for 68000
I think you're right

Should work with CWB Full on an 020 A1200 with a Ram upgrade, I'll have to test that out at some point.

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 16 April 2010, 13:08   #15
Philophus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 151
It works fine but browsing is not a nice experience, you realy need a minimum of 030 and more ram the better.
Browisngs pretty quick on my 060+ RTG.
Philophus is offline  
Old 16 April 2010, 13:25   #16
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philophus View Post
It works fine but browsing is not a nice experience, you realy need a minimum of 030 and more ram the better.
Browisngs pretty quick on my 060+ RTG.
Yep, I can't wait to get my Apollo 1240 and setup my RTG (CV64/3D)
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 16 April 2010, 14:07   #17
Philophus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 151
I used to run Apollo 1240..the 40mhz variant with 64mb ram and it was a very capable accelerator...you'll love it!
Philophus is offline  
Old 16 April 2010, 19:35   #18
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Hi,

The Guide also works for CWB Full, just tried with a spare CF card I just setup with CWB Full. In fact Typing now from the A600 running it!

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 17 April 2010, 03:54   #19
T_hairy_bootson
Workbitch 1.3

T_hairy_bootson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 41
Posts: 2,028
Nice work, This guide will come in handy for me very soon.

Can it be added to the FAQwiky thingamabob.
T_hairy_bootson is offline  
Old 17 April 2010, 06:59   #20
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Yeah sure no problem
fitzsteve is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EasyNet and NetGear Wireless MA401 D4Ni3L3 support.Other 13 18 October 2013 05:30
Problems Networking Miami and Netgear MA401 TronPlayer support.Hardware 3 10 January 2011 06:02
Is there a Guide for setting up MiamiDX with Netgear MA401? fitzsteve support.Hardware 30 19 April 2010 14:57
MiamiDX with NetGear MA401 on A1200 Problems crazyegg support.Hardware 11 08 January 2009 17:39
Netgear MA401 Wireless Card Smiley support.Hardware 12 13 June 2006 17:06

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11776 seconds with 15 queries