English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 April 2016, 10:38   #301
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 60
Posts: 3,868
The only cards that worked in my A1200 PCMCIA were Sandisk.
There is also the possibility that the adapter isn't working properly.
Arnie is offline  
Old 02 May 2016, 10:37   #302
Cobe
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Belgrade / Serbia
Age: 35
Posts: 600
Tried two other cards and they work straight away.
Cobe is offline  
Old 02 May 2016, 11:37   #303
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 966
Must be witchcraft !
Had any mages around the house lately ?
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 02 May 2016, 13:25   #304
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 60
Posts: 3,868
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobe View Post
Tried two other cards and they work straight away.
Good for you
Arnie is offline  
Old 29 June 2016, 16:46   #305
spannernick
Retro Nuts

spannernick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: London/UK
Age: 47
Posts: 1,077
How fast is it at transferring files the PCMCIA slot,I would guess its a lot faster than serial,and when you plug it in dose it come up like a drive would.I ask cos I have never had one..?

I transfer files,well not big ones using Amiga Explorer.
spannernick is offline  
Old 30 June 2016, 03:22   #306
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,665
It's even faster than the hard drive, usually. It comes up as a volume in unit CF0:.
idrougge is offline  
Old 23 May 2018, 13:22   #307
donnie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: sthlm
Posts: 105
i want to buy an pcmicia cf adapter to transfer files between my pc and a1200 hdd. Does it matter which one i buy?

the cards themselves should be sandisk.

amigastore etc are selling these adf transfer kits. Do you need them. I dont want to transfer from pcmcia to adf but to pcmcia to hdd.
donnie is offline  
Old 23 May 2018, 14:20   #308
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,874
As long as it is PCMCIA and not Cardbus, you should be able to use any adapter.

Amigastore's kit is ready to go, you have the drivers and the adapter in hand after that. Perhaps the disk even contains an installer to make it easy to get the driver to your internal hard disk/card, but this is a guess - I'm not in the target audience.

If you know how AmigaOS works, you can just buy the adapter from anywhere and download the drivers from Aminet. cfd.lha fat95.lha
Jope is offline  
Old 23 May 2018, 20:41   #309
donnie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: sthlm
Posts: 105
thanks man!
donnie is offline  
Old 27 June 2018, 01:16   #310
Romanujan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Szczecin/Poland
Posts: 284
The compactflash.device from Aminet is not the latest one - see here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/m22hbwr7r4...FD133.lha?dl=0 - this one is said to support more cards.
Romanujan is offline  
Old 20 July 2018, 18:05   #311
Neil79
Registered User
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 39
Posts: 2,597
Quote:
Originally Posted by Romanujan View Post
The compactflash.device from Aminet is not the latest one - see here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/m22hbwr7r4...FD133.lha?dl=0 - this one is said to support more cards.
Is there any way of copying from an ADF file because I can't access my PCMCIA and opening the Amiga just for one file is a bit much.
Neil79 is offline  
Old 25 September 2018, 17:41   #312
d4rk3lf
Registered User

d4rk3lf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia
Posts: 162
I hope it's right place to ask.

I am using 2 CF cards (8GB, Transcend) for my Aca500+, and it works great.
However, when I downloaded the whole Whload package (around 5-6GB size, and wanted to transfer to my CF card (via PC), it copies 2.5 to max 3GB and then it says there is no free space.
Tried several times, but couldn't copy.

Thanks in advance.
d4rk3lf is offline  
Old 26 September 2018, 01:04   #313
majinga
Registered User

majinga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Italy
Posts: 15
It's one file package? The CF are in FAT32, the file size limit is 4GB.
majinga is offline  
Old 26 September 2018, 12:31   #314
d4rk3lf
Registered User

d4rk3lf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia
Posts: 162
It's not.
I unpacked every LHA on PC, so it has folders Games/A,B,C,D... and in every letter is folders with games.
Everything is 5.8 GB.
Same like here, where I download all the stuff, only I unpacked LHA's
https://mega.nz/#F!gdozjZxL!uI5Sheet...Rjf2A!5AgyxZCL

I tried coping both from my desktop pc and laptop pc... same thing... they say the card is full, even I copied only 2.5 to 3GB.
I've tried deleting everything from the card (it says 8GB free), and coping again....same thing.

Any ideas?
Tnx
-----------
Maybe it's a number of files issue?
Does Fat32 have some restrictions about how many files you can have on card?
Can I make somehow 2 partitions, on CF card, and try that, and how do I do that?

Last edited by d4rk3lf; 26 September 2018 at 12:38.
d4rk3lf is offline  
Old 26 September 2018, 15:59   #315
Zippy Zapp
Registered User

Zippy Zapp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: CA/USA
Posts: 316
A couple of reasons I can think of:
1. Could the card be a fake and it is not really 8GB but perhaps 4GB?
2. Could it be the format Allocation Unit size?
Zippy Zapp is offline  
Old 26 September 2018, 16:39   #316
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 3,397
FAT32 (like the Amiga's FFS) can have different block sizes, and if you have a large block size, it's less efficient for many small files as the Amiga uses, and all the small bits of wasted space add up. For example, a 1.5KB file on a 2KB block size takes up 2KB of space. The same file on a 32KB block size filesystem takes up 32KB of space. With thousands of files, that can add up significantly.

Another possibility is that the space is already allocated by deleted files, for example if you've deleted files to the trashcan but not emptied the trashcan before removing the drive, the space remains allocated on the card.

Aside from everything else, it's not really a great idea to unpack LHa files on the PC or a non-Amiga filesystem as some file properties can be lost. Perhaps using an Amiga-formatted CF card and unpacking them to the card in WinUAE might be a better approach.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 26 September 2018, 23:46   #317
majinga
Registered User

majinga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Italy
Posts: 15
It can be a cluster size issue ... but I don't think. There is too much free space on the card.

The card can really be a fake, or broken. There are a lot of program to check it. They basically fill the entire space with something, I suppose it can be done even with some simple tool like dd.

Is the first time you try to fit more than 4GB in the CF?

Can't be the trash can. Files on the trash continue to take space on the disk.
majinga is offline  
Old 02 October 2018, 00:03   #318
d4rk3lf
Registered User

d4rk3lf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia
Posts: 162
Thanks a lot to all of you.
Sorry for a little bit late reply, but I wasn't around
I'll do more testing, and will let you know.

What I think is maybe a problem is a partition size. It's 8GB, yet, PC copy only 2-3GB.
Can I make few partitions on one CF card?
Should I do it on PC, or Amiga, and what app you recommend?
d4rk3lf is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
compact flash pcmcia not working in a1200 GurjSagoo support.Hardware 9 02 April 2018 22:01
Using a Compact Flash card on a600/a1200 IDE Smiley support.Hardware 717 23 October 2015 16:09
Slow PCMCIA>Compact Flash speeds radiokida support.Hardware 5 02 May 2013 18:00
Compact Flash PCMCIA on an A600 sdaonline New to Emulation or Amiga scene 3 13 February 2011 05:30
How To Get A600 To Read Compact Flash Card ? Rich M Amiga scene 5 02 May 2005 07:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08983 seconds with 13 queries