English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 October 2006, 16:34   #1
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #Confefe
Age: 46
Posts: 2,361
Amiga network card drivers

I have net gear wireless card and Dell's Fast Tasking PCMCIA cards. Is it possible (and where) to find amiga drivers for them?

If there is no drivers for those cards, what cards do you use and how's networking between PC and Amiga working? (I never networked an Amiga before)

I don't have problems with networking PCs as I'm kind a network admin (with all other admin functions as well).
Anubis is offline  
Old 23 October 2006, 16:47   #2
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,122
Post the exact model numbers and I'll tell you.

You can use NE2000 compatible PCMCIA ethernet cards with the cnet.device driver and some Dell and 3COM ones with the 3C589.device driver.

You can use wireless cards which use the PRISM2 chipset using the prism2.device driver. I am not sure if the wireless card you have will be this type.

The cards cannot be CARDBUS type PCMCIA. This pretty much rules out most FAST ethernet cards (100Mbit) and all USB cards.

In addition to the hardware and the drivers you will also require a TCP/IP stack. They are usually commercial and require registration, although most are now defunct. The main 3 are Miami DX, AmiTCP/Genesis, TermiteTCP If you have OS3.9 then you already have Genesis.

Last edited by alexh; 23 October 2006 at 17:01.
alexh is offline  
Old 23 October 2006, 23:29   #3
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
I could be wrong Alexh, but can you confirm, does OS 3.5 and 3.9 come with a TCP/IP stack ?
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 24 October 2006, 01:37   #4
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,122
OS3.9 does. I said that it came with an unrestricted version of Genesis.

OS3.5 comes with a time limited demo (1 hour?) of Miami (non deluxe)
alexh is offline  
Old 24 October 2006, 07:32   #5
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh
OS3.9 does. I said that it came with an unrestricted version of Genesis.
True, however it's legality is/was disputed.. :-D

What NSDi had to say about it:
http://www.amigahistory.co.uk/amitcp392.txt

Don't let that stop you, however.. NSDi is no longer around.
Jope is offline  
Old 25 October 2006, 14:11   #6
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #Confefe
Age: 46
Posts: 2,361
I have actaully 2 cards (wireless I will get letter from my brother). First one is Dell's Fast ethernet 10/100 base-tx (by 3Com) Model 3CCFE575BT-D and second one is modem/network card made by 3Com called Megaherz. Model is 3CXM356.

Any info on those two cards?

Does ClassicWB has any of required networking components?
Anubis is offline  
Old 25 October 2006, 14:34   #7
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,788
Not supported (you could have downloaded the package youself and checked out the compatibility list. :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 25 October 2006, 15:07   #8
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #Confefe
Age: 46
Posts: 2,361
You've right.

Not sure about classic wb. I will ask Bloodwich.
Anubis is offline  
Old 25 October 2006, 16:05   #9
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,122
ClassicWB doesnt have network components. You'll have to download them off Aminet and install.

Not much use until you get an ethernet card which has drivers though
alexh is offline  
Old 25 October 2006, 17:50   #10
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #Confefe
Age: 46
Posts: 2,361
I'm sure I'll menage to find something.

How do you connect CD to Amiga? (this might be easier way of transfering files... )
Anubis is offline  
Old 25 October 2006, 18:27   #11
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,122
The best way of xferring files between a PC and an A600 is to use a PCMCIA hard drive in the form of a CF card adapter.

You will need:
Total cost about £15
alexh is offline  
Old 25 October 2006, 18:54   #12
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #Confefe
Age: 46
Posts: 2,361
I'll check that path too.

Is there any limit on the size of SD? (I have 512MB at home)

Thanks for suggestion.
Anubis is offline  
Old 25 October 2006, 19:03   #13
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,122
Compact Flash NOT SD.

I would imagine the limitation is 2 or 4Gig as per Kickstart limitation but I dont know.
alexh is offline  
Old 25 October 2006, 19:04   #14
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,737
Alternatively you may want to try our PCMCIA CF Kit which is supplied with our EasyADF software.

EasyADF will convert ADFs to Amiga floppy disks and vice versa. It will also decompress LHA files and has basic file managment functions such as rename, delete, file information etc.

EasyADF works on OS 2.x and 3.x machines, both A600 and A1200. It also is designed to fit on an NTSC display as well as PAL.

The kit does not need a hard disk but can be hd installable. It is designed to be as user friendly as possible and is supplied with printed documentation (with screenshots).

We have designed the boot disk to load straight to a boot wizard which guides the user through and loads drivers automatically in the background.

Another bit of networking software we have developed is EasyNet - this is designed to make network/broadband access easier than using Genesis, Temite TCP et al.

Both EasyADF and EasyNet are being further developed- upgrades are free for existing users.
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 25 October 2006, 19:10   #15
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,122
If price is secondary to your free time I recommend you get the AmigaKit product, it should make things easier.

Support your Amiga shop!

EasyNet eh?? What is the TCP/IP stack at the core?
alexh is offline  
Old 03 November 2006, 20:41   #16
dambuster
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dundee / Scotland
Posts: 151
Hi
Ive got a Xircom CE3b-100 PC Card 16/5v, any use ?
I wont be able to try it untill my accelerator arrives from ebay.

TIA
Paul
dambuster is offline  
Old 04 November 2006, 01:40   #17
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
Hey damn buster, I am afraid thats a 32bit CARDBUS PC card, and wont work with the native Amiga PCMCIA

sory to be the bearer of bd news but there are plenty of other options available just have a little search.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 04 November 2006, 09:06   #18
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 44
Posts: 1,523
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
xircom are definitely NO NO.
Chain is offline  
Old 04 November 2006, 12:06   #19
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,788
It is not a cardbus card, but there are no drivers for it anyway, so it doesn't make a difference.

IIRC Xircom cards are somehow electrically incompatible with the A1200/600 PCMCIA port.. Could be just misinformation, though.
Jope is offline  
Old 04 November 2006, 12:35   #20
dambuster
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dundee / Scotland
Posts: 151
just my luck, i'll just have to use the old parnet cable- wheres the ladder for the loft

thanks
Paul
dambuster is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WANTED: Amiga Network Card (NOT PCMCIA pr PCI) Interceptor MarketPlace 10 30 May 2008 17:29
For Sale: Amiga 600/1200 PCMCIA Network card keropi MarketPlace 10 29 November 2005 13:38
Amiga 1200 PCMCIA Network Card tihi support.Hardware 5 09 November 2002 16:46
Amiga 1200 network Card @UAE support.Hardware 3 28 August 2002 21:09
Amiga 1200 PCMIA network card? AEV support.Hardware 4 23 June 2002 10:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08983 seconds with 14 queries