English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 November 2006, 00:15   #61
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,660
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
i have myself a 2gb danelec which is excellent and very fast... ^^ !
dlfrsilver is online now  
Old 06 December 2006, 08:53   #62
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
A Request to moderators

Could this thread be combined with this one

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=25149&page=2

also could this stick be renamed to Using Compact Flash on Amiga a600/a1200

or somthing like that. I appreciate your help
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 06 December 2006, 08:55   #63
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
A Request to Moderators

Please could this thread be merged with this one as they are all the same thing (this one has more technical information with it too

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=25274

I appreciate your help
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 06 December 2006, 09:11   #64
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,778
In order to do that, both will need to be cleaned up.. Currently I'm just not so certain what to keep from this thread - basically the conclusion was that Smiley's adapter was broken and he needed a new one.
Jope is offline  
Old 06 December 2006, 09:14   #65
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
and some of the technical stuff like

JST issues under CF

CF setting for use like maxtransfers etc

Diagrams and theories

pros and cons of buffered ide devices.

that sorta stuff
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 06 December 2006, 10:04   #66
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,778
That would mean I'd actually need to read through these with thought. :-)

Ok, I'll see what I can do.
Jope is offline  
Old 06 December 2006, 10:26   #67
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 44
Posts: 1,520
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
ourt sticky thread bout workin and nonworkin cards
http://amiga.probers.info/forum/viewtopic.php?t=152

(only in Czech but im sure it doeznt matter)

just my 2p
Chain is offline  
Old 07 December 2006, 14:36   #68
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
@jope
thanks jope! appreciate the help
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 07 December 2006, 16:41   #69
BippyM
Registered User

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 8,642
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0
A Request to Moderators

Please could this thread be merged with this one as they are all the same thing (this one has more technical information with it too

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=25274

I appreciate your help

Done Lemme know if is any other tidying up to be done
BippyM is offline  
Old 07 December 2006, 18:32   #70
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
@moderators

I love you guys
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 07 December 2006, 19:58   #71
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,778
Thanks Bippy. :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 14 December 2006, 19:31   #72
dambuster
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dundee / Scotland
Posts: 151
Spotted this today
Single CF card
http://www.ebest24.co.uk/products/co...e-adapter.html
Dual CF Card
http://www.ebest24.co.uk/products/co...e-adapter.html

Ordered both up so hopefully should soon have A1200 and A1500 on steroids
dambuster is offline  
Old 14 December 2006, 19:47   #73
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
@dambuster

Sweet... another turned to the dark side
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 01 January 2007, 12:12   #74
dambuster
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dundee / Scotland
Posts: 151
Using both the single and dual cards without any problems and the speed is incredible . My A1200 has boots before my LCD monitor

be careful when ordering the single as its available in 3 varieties
1 direct to m/b
2 horizontal conection
3 verticle connection

Ive used the direct one to connect to my budda and eventually for my pc if i ever get it back form my son.

The dual is fitted to the A1200

Re-reading this and it sounds like an advert. Nah just a very satisfied user

Paul
dambuster is offline  
Old 02 January 2007, 09:12   #75
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,236
Got my towerised A600 running the CF-as-IDE-HDD setup today

Wow, boot time is seriously fast and all around it seems to be working really, really well!

I'd suggest this super-cheap mod to anyone who's yet to try it

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 19 January 2007, 14:23   #76
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
CF hard drives are COOL!!!!

heres a little something from my secret labratory!!!



this little beast runs KS3.1 and OS3.5 very nicely.

when i get time i will postie more pics on this little project.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 19 January 2007, 15:17   #77
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Wow Zetro fantastic project there!

Looks like a lot of time, love and care went into that! Post some pics of your completed Workbench from the flash card once up and running.

My only concern with using compact flash as a hard disk is the limited number of writes this kind of technology has. Since Workbench doesn't constantly write to a hard disk like windows does however, you should be fine and it's always easy to replace.

Last edited by Bloodwych; 19 January 2007 at 15:27.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 19 January 2007, 15:25   #78
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
@Bloodwych

when its done here will be the place its shown off...

there are a lot of thanks to go with this mod by the way, so when the case gets a re-spray of (colour match btw) i am going to stencil in the bottom all those that helped

there will be an ode to bw for your help with dopus btw...

hmmm i wonder if there is a way to get nicer 8 colour icons.... OS3.5 is workable but not as attractive as it would say under 16 or more colours...

any help is gladly recieved
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 19 January 2007, 15:42   #79
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Well this is going to be the most kick ass A600 in history! Must make you kind of proud to have all those features in that tiny case.

You might be stuck with the colours - I know the ECS chipset will only use 16 colour screenmodes in Workbench and I think only allows 8 of those for icons, so 3.5 will look washed out.

Perhaps there is something on Aminet that allows 16 colour icons for ECS?

You could always replace the icons in OS3.5 with small MagicWB ones, like in the ClassicWB FULL. These really do work well on TVres monitors and TV's (640x256) as they're low contrast and built for that resolution. Also normal icons will be lightening fast on the 68000 compared to glow icons that come with OS3.5.

If you don't like the MagicWB Palette, you can always replace any of the 8 standard colours with your own choice.

EDIT: As a side note, will a 68000 be able to burn on a CD/DVDRW? I thought it may be to too slow.

Last edited by Bloodwych; 19 January 2007 at 20:50.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 19 January 2007, 18:41   #80
dambuster
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dundee / Scotland
Posts: 151
So thats the difference between an A600 and A1200, half the motherboards missing
looks good, unable to to side load it then -just let them windoze users witness the boot times
dambuster is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using a Compact Flash card on a600/a1200 PCMCIA tomcat666 support.Hardware 310 20 July 2018 17:05
Compact Flash+CDROM on A4000 IDE? stefcep2 support.Hardware 13 21 March 2010 21:16
Bootable IDE to CF Compact Flash Card 40 Pin Adapter Kitty support.Hardware 14 22 October 2009 23:52
compact flash to ide - is this right? AliasXZ support.Hardware 33 12 March 2008 10:34
How To Get A600 To Read Compact Flash Card ? Rich M Amiga scene 5 02 May 2005 06:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10209 seconds with 14 queries