English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 February 2014, 08:51   #1
H.M
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: France
Posts: 18
Floppy disk Gotek Floppy emulators and Amiga computers now working together! :)

Hi,

Some time ago i bought one of these very low cost USB floppy emulator from ebay to play some ADF files on my Amiga.
Unfortunately these drives was unable to support/emulate the Amiga sectors encoding scheme and couldn’t work on Amiga computers...

But the news is that the Gotek USB Floppy emulators are now working with Amiga thanks to a new firmware rewritten from scratch! :-D

Main features : ADF read/write support, Amiga control software, USB key support (FAT12,FAT16,FAT32)...

To get the details :

http://cortexamigafloppydrive.wordpress.com



[ Show youtube player ]
H.M is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 06 February 2014, 10:34   #2
Higgy
Registered User

Higgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Oxfordshire
Posts: 397
Great work. Soooo much is currently being done on Amiga floppy interfaces!

If not done already I will link this into the Raspberry Pi - floppy drive thread.
Your method is probably the easiest (and cheapest) of the current options.
Higgy is offline  
Old 06 February 2014, 11:03   #3
Higgy
Registered User

Higgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Oxfordshire
Posts: 397
Just ordered the drive and USB-TLL cable.
So now just got to wait for the Hong Kong to UK post!!
Can't wait.
Higgy is offline  
Old 06 February 2014, 11:39   #4
mram
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Higgy View Post
Great work. Soooo much is currently being done on Amiga floppy interfaces!

If not done already I will link this into the Raspberry Pi - floppy drive thread.
Your method is probably the easiest (and cheapest) of the current options.
Wow! Very good hack, another option for Amiga people
It seems to me be back in the 90's, so much interest for this platform!

Cheap (but finally not so much cheaper than Raspberry PI drive) and sure easy to be done

I see RPI Drive more like a "floppy manager" than a floppy emulator, something like this http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...&postcount=106...

But why so anonymous? H M? H&M?

Keep up the good work and make a stock of Gotek disk drive
mram is offline  
Old 06 February 2014, 11:47   #5
Steve T
Registered User

Steve T's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: UK
Age: 37
Posts: 349
Which one did you get Higgy - can you post a link?

@HM, fantastic, i knew these would be useful somehow, i raised the subject on another board and a guy from here totally shot me down in favour of another product.
Steve T is offline  
Old 06 February 2014, 12:26   #6
mram
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve T View Post
Which one did you get Higgy - can you post a link?

@HM, fantastic, i knew these would be useful somehow, i raised the subject on another board and a guy from here totally shot me down in favour of another product.
This is the link http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-3-5-Flop...-/251360060639

25-30 Eur it seems a reasonable price for dedicated hardware, compared to other products ...
http://lotharek.pl/product.php?pid=121
mram is offline  
Old 06 February 2014, 12:33   #7
Higgy
Registered User

Higgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Oxfordshire
Posts: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve T View Post
Which one did you get Higgy - can you post a link?
I went for this one - 3 digit display - and under £18 to avoid customs duty

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/231004353057

Also this for USB-serial for the firmware - £1.54:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/400644576263
Higgy is offline  
Old 06 February 2014, 12:52   #8
Steve T
Registered User

Steve T's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: UK
Age: 37
Posts: 349
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/3-5-1-44MB...item43c09ce747 Is this essentially the same device, better in white perhaps?

Quote:
APPLICATIONS


- Cash register
- Robots
- Plane
- Boat
- Submarine
seriously, how many people are buying these to put in submarines?
Steve T is offline  
Old 06 February 2014, 13:03   #9
Higgy
Registered User

Higgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Oxfordshire
Posts: 397
That one has 2 Led display. I thought about the colour, but unless you have a tower or desktop Amiga it will be mainly hidden inside.

Oh i am not using it for an Amiga, using to update our nuclear sub missile launch controller ;-)
Higgy is offline  
Old 06 February 2014, 14:04   #10
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,235
VERY impressive mod, I might have to try one of these myself. I won't be using it on my Amiga though, I'll be using it to upgrade my fleet of space shuttles.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 06 February 2014, 14:57   #11
Franchute13
Registered User
Franchute13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Argentina
Posts: 227


Good news
Thx
Franchute13 is offline  
Old 06 February 2014, 15:35   #12
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,616
Very nice, Lots of goodies coming out. I like both, not too sure on how much the firmware can be updated on this, i think the Raspberry Pi would have more future options

One question, is the FW chip good in event of power outage while programming or will it brick it ?

Last edited by kipper2k; 06 February 2014 at 16:27.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 06 February 2014, 16:40   #13
Solo761
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Croatia
Age: 37
Posts: 333
Just ordered one white/beige model, price is the same, few cents difference. Also, I've noticed there are three types.

One without seven segment display, one with two digits seven segment display and the last one with three digits. I wonder if they're all the same inside. Two or three digit ones are cca the same price, one without is $2-4 cheaper, not much but... If it's inside the case digits are not visible anyway. If this first one works fine next one will probably be without the digits. All in all I have three amigas so if I can get $4 cheaper that's $8 I can spend on other amiga stuff
Solo761 is offline  
Old 06 February 2014, 17:58   #14
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,695
Quote:
Originally Posted by H.M View Post
But the news is that the Gotek USB Floppy emulators are now working with Amiga thanks to a new firmware rewritten from scratch! :-D
That's very impressive. Would there be enough space in the firmware to support HD floppy disk images too? Not that there's much practical use for that, though maybe the 3 people with A4000Ts and HD Workbench disks might appreciate it.

One of those floppy emulators could be useful for data transfer without modifying your Amiga. Put the emulator in the casing from an external floppy drive and you could use a disk copier to write images to actual floppy disks for booting.
mark_k is offline  
Old 06 February 2014, 18:14   #15
fryguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hjo, Sweden
Age: 38
Posts: 724
Would also be cool with IPF support and trackdisplay (not that useful perhaps).
fryguy is offline  
Old 06 February 2014, 18:18   #16
UberFreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: the world
Posts: 267
Great work!

Any idea if the original firmware supports 720Kb floppy images?
UberFreak is offline  
Old 06 February 2014, 19:40   #17
Higgy
Registered User

Higgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Oxfordshire
Posts: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by UberFreak View Post
Great work!

Any idea if the original firmware supports 720Kb floppy images?
From looking at the ebay adverts, there are different versions available. You might have to keep going though the adverts until you come across a different version which is suitable for 720kb.

Regarding using it for AMIGA, it does not look like it matters which version as the firmware is being overwritten.
Higgy is offline  
Old 06 February 2014, 22:30   #18
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,274
Wow, this is awesome. Great work!!!
I'm really glad all these solutins to replace shitty floppy disks and drives are coming out )
Akira is offline  
Old 07 February 2014, 02:16   #19
albino
Registered User
albino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: france
Age: 39
Posts: 96
Basically, what the difference between this drive and the sd one?
albino is offline  
Old 07 February 2014, 09:19   #20
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,939
The HxC SD has support for many platforms as well as Amiga out of the box.
alexh is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cd32 from analogic computers not working properly fondpondforever Amiga scene 11 22 August 2013 15:24
Love Emulators? - Dgen & Hatari emulators Paul News 17 19 January 2012 19:28
A1200 floppy not working mtb support.Hardware 5 22 November 2010 10:05
floppy df0 working / not working Dave_wb support.Hardware 3 07 January 2009 10:11
Guinness Book entry with 274 working Computers/Consoles Retro-Nerd Retrogaming General Discussion 4 25 August 2007 20:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24434 seconds with 13 queries