English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 May 2011, 02:02   #61
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,426
hiya,

Interesting to hear about the missing in-game speech, it's might be the same as the missing speech issue in Indy 4 that's been reported before. I think it might be resolved by changing the tooltype 'EVENT_CALLBACK_DELAY' to a lower value (see the readme for details).

The black screen 'issue' (and the nasty colors) that have been mention a few times now on the ECS version can be easily 'fixed' by updating the 'PALETTE_UPDATE_THRESHOLD' tooltype to a lower value, again the readme details what happens when you do this (eg performance drops!).

As I still don't have access to a real Amiga, I had to guess all of the default settings so they can probably be improved a little for the real thing, also each game is different, some games are happy with a setting which in another game causes missing cut scenes or missing speech so you'll just have to experiment a bit

Last edited by NovaCoder; 11 May 2011 at 01:35.
NovaCoder is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 10 May 2011, 11:57   #62
pintcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Berlin/Germany
Posts: 210
Command line options don't work. I tried a few like -v or -h, but nothing happens.
Also a little feature request: Would it be possible to add tool types (or CLI options) for explicitly entering audio and video modes instead of auto guessing?

Edit: Wrong topic. This belongs in the ScummVM AGA thread, sorry.

Last edited by pintcat; 10 May 2011 at 12:16.
pintcat is offline  
Old 10 May 2011, 12:41   #63
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,426
just tried FOTAQ again on WinUae using the pc talkie demo with a palette-update-threshold of 128 (everthing else set at the defaults) and the colors looked fine and the speech work in both the intro and in-game????

I didn't get a chance to try it with subtitles because they are disabled by default, maybe that effects things?

Last edited by NovaCoder; 11 May 2011 at 06:16.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 11 May 2011, 12:58   #64
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,426
Ok I found the problem with FOTAQ with the missing speech and the too fast subtitles. The reason the subtitles were going so fast was because the speech was missing

And the reason the speech was missing is because some people have been using compressed datafiles!
Quote:
compress_queen
Used to rebuild the datafile of Flight of the Amazon Queen,
and allow optional MP3, Vorbis or FLAC compression.

Example of usage:
./scummvm-tools-cli --tool compress_queen [mode params] [-o outputfile] queen.1

Default output file is "queen.1c"
https://github.com/scummvm/scummvm-tools

So anything with a '.1c' extension won't work, the correct (uncompressed) extension of the original game files is '.1'.



Last edited by NovaCoder; 11 May 2011 at 14:41.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 11 May 2011, 23:08   #65
rockersuke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Madrid / Spain
Age: 49
Posts: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
And the reason the speech was missing is because some people have been using compressed datafiles!
Aaah! That was me! Yup, I wasn´t aware I was using a compressed version. The uncompressed one works 100% OK. Now we can play FOTAQ with its full speech in our Amigas! If using this uncompressed CD talkie version don't forget to move the "queen.tbl" file (at your Amiga ScummVM root folder or from the FOTAQ section at ScummVM page) to FOTAQ folder itself or it will throw you back to workbench (as it did to me the first time ^_^')

BTW, my IJ4 speech is working without issues both on AGA and ECS. I'm using English CD talkie version, so perhaps there's something with the german version Foxman is using. Dunno.

--
rockersuke is offline  
Old 26 June 2011, 06:47   #66
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,426
Version 1.2.1.015 on its way to AmiNet

Release notes:

1) Reduced startup time
2) Swapped to Amiga memory copy routines (make sure you patch!)

For example (let me know if you find something quicker!)

030 -> http://aminet.net/package/util/boot/CMQ030

Last edited by NovaCoder; 26 June 2011 at 09:58.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 27 June 2011, 23:37   #67
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
Video for Novacoder (and people interested of course).

Novacoder, with the last version of Scummvm ECS I can type the code on MK2, so I can enter the game.

[ Show youtube player ]
gibs is offline  
Old 28 June 2011, 02:08   #68
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,426
Looking very good AND playable my friend

Is this version 1.2.1.015 with http://aminet.net/package/util/boot/CMQ030 applied?

Thanx for showing what it runs like on a real 600
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 28 June 2011, 08:56   #69
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
Yes, both.
gibs is offline  
Old 28 June 2011, 08:59   #70
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,426
Cool, it looks faster than the old version to me....do you agree?
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 28 June 2011, 17:00   #71
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
Yes, it is faster and the colours seems good. Monkey Island II is really beautiful (most than the Amiga version) It's like the PC version (I don't know how much colors it has, I would say 16 colors for the Amiga version 32 for the PC version).

Did you notice that there is a game that won't show the menu.
Some text are still not displaying (like in the old version).

Full Throttle (even if it would be too slow on the A600) refuse to start, scummvm return to workbench (tested 3 times)
The same game is working on the last AGA version on my 1260.
Full Throttle on ScummVM AGA miss/jump some voices while the voices are playing on the OSX 1.3 version.

That's my little report.

Last edited by gibs; 28 June 2011 at 20:25.
gibs is offline  
Old 23 August 2011, 02:22   #72
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,426
I've been trying to add IndivisionECS direct chunky (256 color) output to ScummVM ECS with the help of neocdtv.

As I don't actually have an IndvisionECS or 600 Amiga this has proved a little tricky

Anyway with neocdtv's help I'm getting somewhere but need some of you Indivision ECS owners to help do some testing for me if you want me to carry on with this attempt or just give up now.

I've put a little test program in the Zone called 'C2pTest2.zip', I need someone to run it and then take a picture of what the monitor looks like.

The executable is called 'CppTest2.exe' and should work for an Indivision ECS as long as you've patched the firmware (see ADOOM v1.4 for more details).
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 30 August 2011, 15:28   #73
neocdtv
 
Posts: n/a
Here you go:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0589.JPG
Views:	201
Size:	116.1 KB
ID:	29387  
 
Old 30 August 2011, 20:10   #74
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,426
hiya

looks better than last time

resolution looks ok now I think?

i think it may be a palette issue, check my code and fix it please

Last edited by NovaCoder; 30 August 2011 at 20:46.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 30 August 2011, 21:09   #75
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,426
Ok, I think I've spotted the problem, I'll upload a new version to the Zone for you to test now.


I've changed this:

Code:
    p = 0;
    
	// Indivision GFX uses 15bit palette
	for (i=0; i<128; i++) {
		byte *color1 = (byte*)&(_currentPalette[p]);   
		
		p += 3;
		
        byte *color2 = (byte*)&(_currentPalette[p]);            
        
        video_colourtable[ptranslate[i]]= ((((UBYTE)(color2[0]) & 0xf8) >> 3) |
                                          (((UBYTE)(color2[1]) & 0xf8) << 2) |
                                          (((UBYTE)(color2[2]) & 0xf8) << 7) |
                                          (((UBYTE)(color1[0]) & 0xf8) << 13) |
                                          (((UBYTE)(color1[1]) & 0xf8) << 18) |
                                          (((UBYTE)(color1[2]) & 0xf8) << 23));
                                          
                                          
       	p += 3;                                   
	}
To the standard way:

Code:
	for (i=0; i<128; i++) {
        video_colourtable[ptranslate[i]] =
        	( (((UBYTE)(_currentPalette[6*i+3]) & 0xf8) >> 3) |
        	(((UBYTE)(_currentPalette[6*i+4]) & 0xf8) << 2) |
        	(((UBYTE)(_currentPalette[6*i+5]) & 0xf8) << 7) |

        	(((UBYTE)(_currentPalette[6*i+0]) & 0xf8) << 13) |
        	(((UBYTE)(_currentPalette[6*i+1]) & 0xf8) << 18) |
        	(((UBYTE)(_currentPalette[6*i+2]) & 0xf8) << 23) );
	}

Last edited by NovaCoder; 30 August 2011 at 21:30.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 31 August 2011, 10:07   #76
neocdtv
 
Posts: n/a
Here you go:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0590.jpg
Views:	190
Size:	408.0 KB
ID:	29391  
 
Old 31 August 2011, 11:40   #77
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,426
not quite there is it?

have you managed to get anywhere with that code yet?
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 04 September 2011, 12:39   #78
CyberZorro
 
Posts: n/a
Would be really great if we could see some progress for the IndyECS support! I am very hopefull on testing it soon
 
Old 06 November 2011, 09:45   #79
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,426
v1.3.1.003 - 06/11/2011

New in this release:

1) Improved screen update speed.
2) Changed palette update delay routine.
3) Used Amiga specific memory copy routines throughout.



Supported Games:

Maniac Mansion
Zak McKracken and the Alien Mindbenders
Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade
Loom
Passport to Adventure
The Secret of Monkey Island
Monkey Island 2: LeChuck's Revenge
Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis
Day of the Tentacle
Sam & Max Hit the Road
Beneath a Steel Sky
The Black Cauldron
Gold Rush!
King's Quest I
King's Quest II
King's Quest III
King's Quest IV
Leisure Suit Larry in the Land of the Lounge Lizards
Mixed-Up Mother Goose
Manhunter 1: New York
Manhunter 2: San Francisco
Police Quest I: In Pursuit of the Death Angel
Space Quest I: The Sarien Encounter
Space Quest II: Vohaul's Revenge
Fanmade Games
Mickey's Space Adventure
Troll's Tale
Winnie the Pooh in the Hundred Acre Wood
Castle of Dr. Brain (EGA and VGA)
Codename: ICEMAN
Conquests of Camelot
Conquests of the Longbow (EGA and VGA)
EcoQuest: The Search for Cetus
EcoQuest 2: Lost Secret of the Rainforest
Freddy Pharkas: Frontier Pharmacist
Hoyle's Book of Games 1
Hoyle's Book of Games 2
Hoyle's Book of Games 3 (EGA and VGA)
Hoyle Classic Card Games
Jones in the Fast Lane
King's Quest I (SCI remake)
King's Quest IV (SCI version)
King's Quest V (EGA and VGA)
King's Quest VI (low and hi res)
Laura Bow: The Colonel's Bequest
Laura Bow 2: The Dagger of Amon Ra
Leisure Suit Larry 1 (SCI remake) (EGA and VGA)
Leisure Suit Larry 2
Leisure Suit Larry 3
Leisure Suit Larry 5 (EGA and VGA)
Leisure Suit Larry 6 (low res)
Mixed-up Fairy Tales
Mixed-up Mother Goose
Pepper's Adventures in Time
Police Quest 1 (SCI remake)
Police Quest 2
Police Quest 3 (EGA and VGA)
Quest for Glory 1/Hero's Quest
Quest for Glory 1 VGA remake
Quest for Glory 2
Quest for Glory 3
Slater & Charlie Go Camping
Space Quest I (SCI remake) (EGA and VGA)
Space Quest III
Space Quest IV (EGA and VGA)
Space Quest V
The Island of Dr. Brain
Cruise for a Corpse
Flight of the Amazon Queen
The Legend of Kyrandia
The Legend of Kyrandia: Book Two: Hand of Fate
The Legend of Kyrandia: Book Three: Malcolm's Revenge

Last edited by NovaCoder; 09 November 2011 at 03:02.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 21 November 2011, 01:27   #80
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
No patch coz I don't remember the name
ACA630 64MB
[ Show youtube player ]

Edit : I have tested with CMQ030, and it's exactly the same.
Maybe CMQ030 isn't needed if you already use ACATUNE ?

Last edited by gibs; 21 November 2011 at 01:38.
gibs is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Latest version of ScummVM ported to AGA NovaCoder News 558 13 May 2017 22:53
Latest version of ScummVM also ported to RTG NovaCoder News 200 08 June 2016 10:39
Scummvm windows version so good and so fast clauddio Retrogaming General Discussion 1 01 April 2012 14:33
Latest version? emuola project.KGLoad 13 30 May 2010 11:12
Latest version of mame32 Djay Retrogaming General Discussion 4 04 April 2004 19:51

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24493 seconds with 13 queries