English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 July 2004, 13:42   #1
Dr. Dude
Senior Member
Dr. Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: On Ami World
Posts: 500
Turbo card. Needs a fix

ok, i got my self a turbo card. The MicroRobotics (MBX) MBX 1230XA
But it seems to be not working
The comp starts, the HD kicks on for a bit, and then it just sits there....doing nothing.

Now i have found a pic of it in the Amgia hardware book (see attachment)
second i made a pic of my card

So, any hardware dude who can say whats broken?

Last edited by Dr. Dude; 02 October 2005 at 11:07.
Dr. Dude is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 06 July 2004, 13:52   #2
Galaxy
Registered User
Galaxy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 39
Posts: 1,418
Have you got the install disks? (some are available here: http://amiga.resource.cx/install/install.pl) It's a long time since I set up my accelerator card and I'm not sure if you need the disks or not. In any case there should be some diagnostic software on the disks.

Also try it without the RAM installed (to discount faulty RAM).

There are also some compatibility problems between certain A1200s and certain cards see my previous posting here: http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=149789&postcount=19 (and check out the replies.)
I remember getting only a black screen with what was my brand new accel card (a DKB Cobra 40 - I ended up replacing it with a 33MHz version which worked with my machine.)

Hope this is of some help.
Galaxy is offline  
Old 06 July 2004, 14:00   #3
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 34
Posts: 2,295
A 030 accelarator should work without any extra drivers installed (should be plug n play (or pray ) hehe..

I would try without (or with another simm, preferably) .... Blow away any dust that may be between the 1200 and the accelerator-slot ...
kriz is offline  
Old 06 July 2004, 14:31   #4
Dr. Dude
Senior Member
Dr. Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: On Ami World
Posts: 500
my migy is cleaner then it ever has been
I have the "install" disk But that keeps bugging me that there is no card (and he's right)

as when i put it in and boot it....it never comes to Wb
Dr. Dude is offline  
Old 07 July 2004, 16:37   #5
D-Dan
AMD powered UAE
D-Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oldham, UK
Age: 52
Posts: 68
Can you get to the early boot screen (Both mouse buttons at bootime) with the card in. If so, there wouldn't seem to anything fundamentally wrong with the card itself. The diagnostics page from the boot screen will confirm.

If so, boot with no startup-sequence and type:-

set echo on
execute s:startup-sequence

which will show all commands executed from s-s and allow you to see where it's failing. Then you can comment that line out of startup-sequence and try again.
D-Dan is offline  
Old 07 July 2004, 19:01   #6
Dr. Dude
Senior Member
Dr. Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: On Ami World
Posts: 500
well thats in order if theres a hd in it. eh?
but even whit out a hd, it just stands there, no "insert disk" screen
Dr. Dude is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with 1230-MK3/40mhz Turbo Card h0ffman support.Hardware 6 18 February 2012 15:22
WTB: A1200 Turbo card kixs MarketPlace 3 20 April 2009 17:17
68882 FPU @ 50 Mhz PGA (ideal for turbo card) Elrick MarketPlace 50 12 June 2008 15:16
Adivce on how to fix faulty 1230 card kaptaintoenail support.Hardware 16 05 May 2006 18:32
Turbo card things Dr. Dude support.Hardware 16 11 August 2004 23:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.32622 seconds with 12 queries