English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.aGTW

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 June 2003, 16:02   #1
fredflint
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Planet Hollywood
Posts: 22
Exclamation Anyone got the game Standard Deviation.

Hello guys,

I was just wondering if anybody had a copy of the shoot em up

Standard Deviation written by CoSoft in 1994. Not sure if its aga or ecs.

Also, I know these next three games have already been requested and posted, but it was before I joined. But I am also looking for:

the crappy beat em up Tube Warriors.
Starblaze.
and Bush Buck
fredflint is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 June 2003, 16:35   #2
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,723
I've uploaded Star Blaze and Bush Buck to the Zone, but I can't find Tube Warriors at the moment. Someone else will have it.
CodyJarrett is offline  
Old 16 June 2003, 16:42   #3
fredflint
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Planet Hollywood
Posts: 22
Thanks a million CodyJarrett

You guys are truly great, and I think you know it.
fredflint is offline  
Old 23 August 2007, 07:13   #4
Galaxy
Registered User
Galaxy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 39
Posts: 1,418
Anyone have any further information about this game?

A HOL record has been created and it was reviewed in The One 73 (Oct 1994)
Galaxy is offline  
Old 19 November 2007, 17:30   #5
cornishflipper
Registered User
cornishflipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 16
Hello!

I'm the programmer of Standard Deviation. I'm going to have a stab at getting the game to run under WinUAE soon.

If you have any questions about the game, let me know.
cornishflipper is offline  
Old 19 November 2007, 17:44   #6
StrategyGamer
Total Chaos AGA is fun!
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 873
Very pleased to meet you!

I never played your game but I just don't understand why it only got 62%!? It looks great!

Did you ever get the 2 player mode working?
I love 2 player games!

Did you ever finish your AGA version?

Where can I download your game from? I wanna try it out!
StrategyGamer is offline  
Old 19 November 2007, 17:47   #7
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 34
Posts: 2,291
I would like to try this game also.. Anyone ?

And welcome to the board Cornisflipper! Cool having another developer
of an Amiga game here.. Please share and talk about your game
kriz is offline  
Old 19 November 2007, 17:50   #8
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 30
Posts: 10,789
Quote:
Originally Posted by StrategyGamer View Post
I never played your game but I just don't understand why it only got 62%!? It looks great!
A silly comment to make if you've never played it

Also, welcome to EAB cornishflipper. It would be cool to see your game!
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 19 November 2007, 17:59   #9
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sydney / London
Age: 40
Posts: 7,949
Welcome to EAB cornishflipper

Standard Deviation looks very cool indeed, hope that have success with getting it running under WinUAE

...thread also moved to a more suitable location.
DamienD is offline  
Old 19 November 2007, 18:03   #10
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,358
We start our real machines, if it's not working with WinUAE. Looks like a nice 2D shooter.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 19 November 2007, 18:07   #11
frikilokooo
Registered User
frikilokooo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mallorca,Spain.
Age: 37
Posts: 1,117
I have desire to play it too, coverall if it's AGA version
frikilokooo is offline  
Old 19 November 2007, 18:11   #12
StrategyGamer
Total Chaos AGA is fun!
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 873
I don't test games on UAE. I use a real A1200 50 Mhz 060.
StrategyGamer is offline  
Old 19 November 2007, 18:33   #13
cornishflipper
Registered User
cornishflipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 16
Thanks for having me! I certainly miss coding 68000 on the Amiga, it was very enjoyable to work with it.

Yeah, the game is ECS and i did start writing an AGA version but didn't get that far with it. Wanted to get it on the CD32 machine at the time.
I used dual layer parallax with lots of layers of parallax and the 20 sprites on a hardware line trick too, just to get a bit more
I've always wanted to get a two player mode, but it didnt happen as i wanted to get the game completed etc.

How do you peeps get to see an amiga game etc? Do you prefer it running on WinUAE or is there something else? I remember it working on the A500 and i believe it ran on an A1200 too.
cornishflipper is offline  
Old 19 November 2007, 18:38   #14
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 34
Posts: 2,291
Alot on the real hardware, and alot on Winuae
kriz is offline  
Old 19 November 2007, 18:41   #15
StrategyGamer
Total Chaos AGA is fun!
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 873
Please don't let your game be lost in the sands of time! Please consider releasing your game so that it can be forever part of Amiga history.

I wanna play it! Gimme gimme gimme
StrategyGamer is offline  
Old 19 November 2007, 18:54   #16
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,358
Quote:
Originally Posted by cornishflipper View Post

How do you peeps get to see an amiga game etc? Do you prefer it running on WinUAE or is there something else? I remember it working on the A500 and i believe it ran on an A1200 too.
Maybe somebody is willing to do a WHDLoad slave for your game.


http://wiki.abime.net/amiga:whdload_faq_by_codyjarrett
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 20 November 2007, 03:48   #17
StrategyGamer
Total Chaos AGA is fun!
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 873
How many sprites per line does the ECS version have?
StrategyGamer is offline  
Old 20 November 2007, 09:45   #18
cornishflipper
Registered User
cornishflipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 16
8 normally. I think they were 16 pixels wide too. That went to 64 pixels wide on AGA chipset.

I think thats right, been a while.
cornishflipper is offline  
Old 20 November 2007, 11:49   #19
Galaxy
Registered User
Galaxy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 39
Posts: 1,418
So was this game actually completed, and if so what caused it to not be released?

We'd be quite happy to add any further info to the HOL record too if you have any tidbits or missing info (and screenshots)
Galaxy is offline  
Old 20 November 2007, 11:53   #20
cornishflipper
Registered User
cornishflipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 16
Yes it was completed. I tried to get it released by a number of publishers but they were more interested in PC games.

I'll take a look at the HOL record and see if there is anything missions. I'll sort out some screenshots too.
cornishflipper is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Standard Palette Brakus Coders. General 3 04 May 2009 07:08
Photos of standard mouse bLAZER request.Other 101 02 February 2008 22:52
Standard output window Rixa support.Apps 5 17 January 2008 23:36
How do I replace the standard WB requesters? Bloodwych support.Apps 13 02 September 2002 21:48
How much ram in standard 1200? etheridge support.Hardware 5 29 May 2002 10:45

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.27501 seconds with 12 queries