English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 March 2017, 11:46   #101
Omolungo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Livorno, Italy
Posts: 328
Ok but without CD unit recognized we cannot use all the software released for CDTV, and this is a shame
Omolungo is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 28 March 2017, 00:44   #102
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 753
Quote:
Originally Posted by Omolungo View Post
Ok but without CD unit recognized we cannot use all the software released for CDTV, and this is a shame
On the other hand lots of CDTV software is very sensitive to upgrades. Just adding more RAM or the SCSI controller will break plenty of games. Many may be available on Whdload however they may lack CD-Audio
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 28 March 2017, 17:23   #103
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 754
Quote:
Originally Posted by Omolungo View Post
Ok but without CD unit recognized we cannot use all the software released for CDTV, and this is a shame
What prevents that software from working with WHDLoad?

EDIT: Ah yes, audio tracks.

Oh well - if you want a CDTV to work as original CDTV, then I guess Vampire (or any other expansion like that) is out of the question.
kolla is offline  
Old 31 March 2017, 23:14   #104
Sinphaltimus
Registered User

Sinphaltimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cresco, PA, USA
Age: 47
Posts: 653
Payment sent! Whoot!
Sinphaltimus is offline  
Old 01 April 2017, 02:48   #105
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 753
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
What prevents that software from working with WHDLoad?

EDIT: Ah yes, audio tracks.

Oh well - if you want a CDTV to work as original CDTV, then I guess Vampire (or any other expansion like that) is out of the question.
The other thing that breaks compatibility with a lot of CDTV titles is the 3.x Kickstart.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 01 April 2017, 13:03   #106
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 754
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
The other thing that breaks compatibility with a lot of CDTV titles is the 3.x Kickstart.
Well, WHDLoad takes care of that
kolla is offline  
Old 01 April 2017, 15:30   #107
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 670
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
The other thing that breaks compatibility with a lot of CDTV titles is the 3.x Kickstart.
What you mean with "lot of"? I have CDTV with ks3.1, I wouldn't say "lot of". CDTV titles are made more compatiable, because CDTV has already "broked" original title. 80% of Amiga floppy games doesn't work with CDTV, if CDTV extended roms are enabled. So often CDTV titles works, no matter hacks you have on CDTV.

WHDLoad works nicely with CDTV, without need a disable extended rom.
utri007 is offline  
Old 04 April 2017, 00:05   #108
Omolungo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Livorno, Italy
Posts: 328
Infact in the past I had whdload installed in the HD of my CDTV, equipped with 2 MB of chip RAM, 8 MB of fast RAM, ks 1.3/3.1 and SCSI2CDTV.

But with a 68010 installed the system was too slow to load the long list of all whdload titles I had installed.

When I wanted to use CDTV titles simply switched to 1.3 KS and inserted the CD in the caddy, since CD-ROM had boot priority.

This is why I hope that Vampire will become fully compatible with CDTV, because other accelerators for this beautiful machine simply do not exist.
Omolungo is offline  
Old 04 April 2017, 05:02   #109
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 753
Quote:
Originally Posted by Omolungo View Post
because other accelerators for this beautiful machine simply do not exist.
There's the Terrible Fire Accelerator, I don't know if they work in the CDTV but you could always ask.
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=85380

And there's all of the other 68000 socket accelerators, Derringer, MMR, etc.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 04 April 2017, 11:45   #110
Omolungo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Livorno, Italy
Posts: 328
Viper 520 CD did not work in CDTV (tested personally).
Do you know other 68k socket accelerators working in CDTV?
Omolungo is offline  
Old 05 April 2017, 00:05   #111
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 753
Quote:
Originally Posted by Omolungo View Post
Viper 520 CD did not work in CDTV (tested personally).
Do you know other 68k socket accelerators working in CDTV?
I know people have used the Derringer in CDTVs. There is also a video of a Viper530 (not 020) in a CDTV. As I said before finding these vintage accelerators is not going to be easy or cheap, that's why I suggested asking in the Terrible Fire thread.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 05 April 2017, 00:25   #112
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 3,919
Vampire 500 600 - 194x Deluxe experimentations:
Quote:
The APOLLO-Team is bringing back a old project called 194x Deluxe back in Natami times. This one-level game runs in a RTG 960x540 in 24bits (!) TrueColor + Alpha. It runs yet rather smoothly heavy recoding using AMMX routines for the display. Nice feature, it can accept 3 players simultaneously. More to say in a short.
[ Show youtube player ]
emufan is offline  
Old 05 April 2017, 00:32   #113
Foul
Registered User

Foul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Perigueux/France
Age: 43
Posts: 1,260
Send a message via ICQ to Foul Send a message via MSN to Foul Send a message via Skype™ to Foul
Foul is offline  
Old 05 April 2017, 00:39   #114
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 754
Quote:
Originally Posted by Omolungo View Post
Viper 520 CD did not work in CDTV (tested personally).
In what sense did it not work?
kolla is offline  
Old 05 April 2017, 09:35   #115
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 1,487
Does anyone know if the address bus on the A500 version is 5V/3.3v isolated? Hopefully it is and im worrying over nothing
plasmab is online now  
Old 05 April 2017, 11:04   #116
grond
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 383
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
Does anyone know if the address bus on the A500 version is 5V/3.3v isolated?
What does "5V/3.3V isolated" mean?
grond is offline  
Old 05 April 2017, 11:07   #117
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 1,487
Quote:
Originally Posted by grond View Post
What does "5V/3.3V isolated" mean?
Huh?? Are you dim?

It means that the 5V side of the address bus is isolated from the 3.3V side of the address bus. So that if I apply 5V to an address bus line on the side car it wont blow up the FPGA.
plasmab is online now  
Old 05 April 2017, 11:12   #118
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!

Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ft. Collins, CO USA
Age: 43
Posts: 900
Send a message via Yahoo to Samurai_Crow
As far as level conversion is concerned, a 3.3 volt FPGA needs it to function at all in a 5 volt CPU socket. The real question is probably more like: "Are external DMAs supported?"
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 05 April 2017, 11:17   #119
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 1,487
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai_Crow View Post
As far as level conversion is concerned, a 3.3 volt FPGA needs it to function at all in a 5 volt CPU socket. The real question is probably more like: "Are external DMAs supported?"
"Supported" means different things to different people.

I wasnt concerned with whether external DMA worked or not just whether physical damage would occur. It seems unlikely that the designers wouldnt take this into account but since its not open source and I cant see the circuit diagram..
plasmab is online now  
Old 05 April 2017, 11:21   #120
majsta
www.majsta.com
majsta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Banjaluka/Republic of Srpska
Age: 36
Posts: 425
What do you want to know regarding translation ?
majsta is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 500 Vampire is alive kipper2k support.Hardware 397 15 June 2017 17:44
Amiga 500 Vampire Signman Amiga scene 50 25 November 2016 13:41
Vampire 500 project started majsta Hardware mods 221 17 August 2016 19:42
How to (Pre)Order a Vampire II tygre support.Hardware 3 25 March 2016 17:18
History of Ocean Book - pre-orders now being taken boyo Retrogaming General Discussion 39 06 February 2014 11:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23382 seconds with 15 queries