English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 July 2013, 13:17   #1
manic23
Only Amiga!

manic23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bromley, Kent
Age: 46
Posts: 441
Odd artefacts when turning on A1200

I have an the following System:

Escom Amiga A1200 with 4GB CF hard drive, M1438S Monitor (DBLPAL:High Res) and a Blizzard 1230 IV with FPU and 64MB Fast Ram

For the first 60 or 90 seconds when I first turn on the Miggy from cold, I get odd artefacts on screen, rather than attempt to explain what I see, I have created this short vid.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...een%20Prob.m4v

I don't mean the black bands I mean the small blocky kind of blobs on screen at the beginning of the vid on the Devs, Storage and ADF2FMS folders. Also at the end of the vid on the iGame folder.

Is this normal? It goes after about 60 or so seconds, not sure if it is the monitor or the Miggy. Anyone else seen this before?

Last edited by manic23; 31 July 2013 at 15:23.
manic23 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 July 2013, 13:32   #2
voyager
The show must go on.
voyager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Alkmaar Nederland
Posts: 237
Send a message via MSN to voyager
Did you recap your 1200?
voyager is offline  
Old 21 July 2013, 13:38   #3
manic23
Only Amiga!

manic23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bromley, Kent
Age: 46
Posts: 441
No, but they all look OK
manic23 is offline  
Old 21 July 2013, 15:57   #4
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,595
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by manic23 View Post
..., not sure if it is the monitor or the Miggy. Anyone else seen this before?

Easy to know. Turn the monitor on alone, when it's warm enough, connect the miggy and try. And also on the contrary, first the miggy alone.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 21 July 2013, 15:59   #5
bebek
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poole UK
Posts: 334
I would start with caps and then with CXA1145M, drop me a PM if you want this board repaired and refurbished..
bebek is offline  
Old 21 July 2013, 16:25   #6
manic23
Only Amiga!

manic23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bromley, Kent
Age: 46
Posts: 441
Thanks for the replies, one other thing I forgot to mention is that it only shows up the issue when set to DBLPAL, when set to the usual game type low res it does not happen.
manic23 is offline  
Old 21 July 2013, 17:41   #7
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,298
Definitely not the monitor. It could be a problem with caps as others have mentioned. I guess it could also be a problem with the Lisa chip. Most 1200s have issues like that when you turn the video clock up high enough, but DBLPAL isn't that high. I get something similar on my 1200 when I go to 1024x768 or higher and it has been running for a while.

If it annoys you, I'd start with a recap and take it from there.
demolition is online now  
Old 21 July 2013, 18:15   #8
Phantomz
Registered User
Phantomz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK
Age: 44
Posts: 190
I get the same sort of thing when I first turn my amiga on, goes after a short time, might be something to do with the Lisa chip.

I didn't notice this before I started using my Indivision MK2, currently using HighGFX 1024x768
Phantomz is offline  
Old 11 November 2014, 19:45   #9
amigappc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Croatia
Age: 41
Posts: 98
I have one Escom 1d4 with similar problem. Artefacts appear when Blizzard 1230/IV is connected.

I thought that is Timing issue, but somewhere I read that timing fix does not affect 030 accelerators?

How can I tell if this is caps issue?

Regards,
amigappc is offline  
Old 11 November 2014, 19:51   #10
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
This issue is quite common with screen modes that are stressful to the chipset (such as HighGFX with the Indivision)

For checking your caps, look at the solder joins they should be shiny, dull could mean leakage, some have also reported a fishy smell when turning on your Amiga.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 11 November 2014, 20:15   #11
amigappc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Croatia
Age: 41
Posts: 98
So you think this is not timing issue? How can I find out if this is related to caps or Alice is defective?
amigappc is offline  
Old 11 November 2014, 21:19   #12
fryguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hjo, Sweden
Age: 38
Posts: 722
http://se.aminet.net/docs/hard/flickerfix.readme

Could be this problem. You wont notice it until you use "High resolution". A friend had this problem on his C= A1200 iirc. I think he used a software fix from aminet
fryguy is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A1200 Dying? Odd Colours Badders support.Hardware 29 23 November 2011 20:29
Turning off the dam filter?! h0ffman Coders. General 4 16 March 2011 09:49
Odd colour issues with A1200 Jonathan Drain support.Hardware 1 21 January 2010 21:40
Very odd sound problem with an A1200 - help needed! lennonlives support.Hardware 9 14 September 2008 13:41
The turning point in gaming Unknown_K Retrogaming General Discussion 63 28 March 2007 23:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.16133 seconds with 12 queries