English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 December 2004, 22:07   #1
a500
 
Posts: n/a
Buying a laptop

Will either of these processors work with amiga emulation programs?

Intel® Celeron® prosessor 2,40GHz ?

Mobile Intel® Pentium® 4 prosessor 518 med HT-teknologi (2.80 GHz, 1MB L2 Cache, 533 MHz FSB)

which is better?
 
Old 27 December 2004, 23:00   #2
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 40
Posts: 3,313
I sold my PC and now owns a Laptop. It's a Inspiron 8600c, Pentium 4... etc...

I play games on emulators all day long




I would say:

Mobile Intel® Pentium® 4 prosessor 518 med HT-teknologi (2.80 GHz, 1MB L2 Cache, 533 MHz FSB)
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 27 December 2004, 23:21   #3
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
whatever u get nowdays, will be OK
keropi is offline  
Old 28 December 2004, 01:46   #4
a500
 
Posts: n/a
So things work great with that 8600c?
How did you slow things down enough so you could play it? I tried a old winuae version on a 1.1 ghz or something like that laptop and things went faar to fast, even when i tried the "close to amiga 500" setting. (speed).
What version of the winuae do you use?
Do you have joysticks to play with? I tried win xp on my pc and the emulator was unable to find the joysticks.. Does your find your joysticks?

thanks alot
 
Old 28 December 2004, 02:19   #5
Jim
 
Posts: n/a
I got a Acer Travelmate 803LCi laptop and WinUAE runs brilliant on this.

1.6Ghz Centrino Processor (equivalent to P4 2.4 or something)
512meg RAM
ATI Mobility Radeon 9000 (64 Meg)
Windows XP

The only thing that pisses me off about laptops is the storage facilities. Unless I'm screwing about with external drives where do all my files go? External drives are a pain after you have more than 1. For this reason I shall soon be getting a server just to house 2x250gig disks, be connected to emule all day and stream music to my slimbox.

However I shall still be emulating on just the laptop.
 
Old 28 December 2004, 02:20   #6
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 40
Posts: 3,313
I use the latest version of WinUAE... 2 more older ones a few weeks ago. It doesnt matter what version I use, the games always run at exact 100% Amiga speed. It also doesnt matter how fast your computer are after 1ghz.... If I would use a 3ghz computer or more, the speed in winuae will always emulate perfectly. Don't know why it's too fast for you.
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 28 December 2004, 12:09   #7
Effy
http://www.amigaclub.be/
Effy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Belgium
Age: 51
Posts: 676
Send a message via MSN to Effy
A500 : you are supposed to run WinUAE at a fast speed from at least a Pentium3 500 Mhz. No need for the latest chipset !!
Effy is offline  
Old 28 December 2004, 13:33   #8
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,151
Buying Laptops in general I recommend that you research the Graphics chipset before you buy should you ever want to play 3D PC games on it. Most Laptops have aweful gfx chips that are terrible.

Look for an Nvidia Geforce-Go or ATi Radeon Mobility. You'll pay a bit more upfront but it will be worth it.
alexh is offline  
Old 28 December 2004, 13:44   #9
Jim
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kodoichi
Get this:



But note that the only purpose of this object is to get "aaahhhs" and "ooooohhhs" from so-called "designers" and you won't be able to use it.
If only it were a little thicker, the insides could be taken out and it would make a nice looking lunchbox me thinks
 
Old 28 December 2004, 20:40   #10
Kodoichi
Banned
Kodoichi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: I'm the smiling face on your TV, I exploit you still you love me
Posts: 514
They make a nice job as paperweights.
Kodoichi is offline  
Old 29 December 2004, 14:47   #11
fiath
Moderator
fiath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: South East / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 1,930
I'm buying a Mac laptop, probably the 12" iBook, partly because you simply can't buy a laptop that doesn't come with Windows. The "Windows" tax. Damn annoying since I was going to put Linux on it. Sure, I *might* be able to get a rebate from the manufacturer, but after the stories I have heard, I am not going to risk it. Since I am almost exclusively going to use it for email, its perfect, especially with the battery life.
fiath is offline  
Old 29 December 2004, 17:39   #12
Jim
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiath
I'm buying a Mac laptop, probably the 12" iBook, partly because you simply can't buy a laptop that doesn't come with Windows.



But you try buying a Apple Mac that doesn't come with OS X !

Don't think Apple are squeaky clean, Apple are the Microsoft of the portable media player world.
 
Old 29 December 2004, 17:45   #13
fiath
Moderator
fiath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: South East / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 1,930
Sorry, my point was that I wanted to run an alternative OS laptop.
fiath is offline  
Old 29 December 2004, 20:54   #14
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 7,047
I emulate on a 700Mhz Compaq Armada with a Trident Cyberblade Graphics chipset. Runs SNES and Megadrive perfectly, runs Amiga stuff mostly fine, the odd stupidly techical game struggles sometimes but not horrendously so.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 03 January 2005, 02:28   #15
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 50
Posts: 2,802
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiath
I'm buying a Mac laptop, probably the 12" iBook, partly because you simply can't buy a laptop that doesn't come with Windows. The "Windows" tax. Damn annoying since I was going to put Linux on it. Sure, I *might* be able to get a rebate from the manufacturer, but after the stories I have heard, I am not going to risk it. Since I am almost exclusively going to use it for email, its perfect, especially with the battery life.
Good for you Fiath. Ignorant lame unwitty comments by previous postees who have zero clue here are weak. You'll never regret it freind. Except, MacUAE is not as advanced by any mean s like WinUAE.
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 03 January 2005, 08:06   #16
fiath
Moderator
fiath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: South East / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 1,930
It has E-UAE though, does it not? I don't think that is too far behind WinUAE. Apart from being perfect for what I want it for, it will also mean we can (at last) have an IPF library port to the Mac.

Last edited by fiath; 03 January 2005 at 08:11.
fiath is offline  
Old 03 January 2005, 09:49   #17
sw2001
Registered User
sw2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 74
what game controller do you use on a laptop?
sw2001 is offline  
Old 03 January 2005, 12:18   #18
dreamkatcha
My elbow tastes of icky

dreamkatcha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 780
I've been using an 'externally expanded' 12" iBook as my one and only computer for about 6 months now. I have no complaints whatsoever. One of the best things about it for me is the silence.

Edit: Just noticed the game controller question and thought I'd add my two magic bean's worth. I'm using an el cheapo USB Logitech Wingman Precision (£8.99 from Comet). It does everything I want without the frilly extras - come on, who really needs a built-in palm cooler/massager ? Lots of joypads/joysticks are compatible with the PC and Mac.

If you buy a Mac and want to do a spot of emu gaming, you might like to get hold of a little joypad/mouse mapping gizmo called USB Overdrive. I'd go as far as saying it's essential for multi-button emulators like Snes9x. The poor joypad support in OSX is actually Bill Gates' fault. It just is, OK.

Last edited by dreamkatcha; 03 January 2005 at 12:36.
dreamkatcha is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Now and then, buying an `060 mrbob2 Amiga scene 20 27 April 2008 09:46
Buying Sword of Honour runamuck2 support.Games 4 29 March 2007 08:03
Buying used stuff from the UK Puzzle Retrogaming General Discussion 1 05 February 2003 01:01
Buying an Amiga Mr Softy Retrogaming General Discussion 28 16 January 2003 22:57
buying a A1200 Traquer support.Hardware 7 04 April 2002 10:21

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08634 seconds with 13 queries