English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 July 2009, 16:13   #1
hipoonios
Amiga Hardcore Gamer

hipoonios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 1,188
Video and Sound doesnt match (video output)

Then recording video files sound doesn't match the video. This causes sound desynch. Very irritating.

You can try yourself recording a short video and open the file in virtualdub and you see this: (videomenu>framerate).



As you can see it shows 50.093. But sometimes it can goes much more like 50.850.

I've tried WinUae versions from 1.4 to 1.6 and many codecs with same result.
hipoonios is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 23 July 2009, 16:40   #2
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 40
Posts: 3,313
Mmm, for me it has always been like that, since the first version I used. Just correct the delay using any method you know instead to fix it. But yeah, I too rather want desync free recordings, but never thought it would be possible to make with WinUAE so I just keep using my methods to sync the sound (I know you too know more than one).
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 23 July 2009, 16:48   #3
hipoonios
Amiga Hardcore Gamer

hipoonios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 1,188
I know a few ways to fix the problems afterwards. But it's not always it works.

It would be so much better if WinUae could record correct files right away.
hipoonios is offline  
Old 23 July 2009, 16:56   #4
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 40
Posts: 3,313
Mmm, saves alot of trouble and effort.
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 23 July 2009, 17:18   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,361
I have been asking for examples ages ago. Never seen good enough.

Example: "I tried to record <A500 game name> with A500 quickstart but sound is not sync when I watch the recording. I used <put codec name here> with settings like <this>. WinUAE resolution was <width>*<height> windowed, null filter." (do not answer 800x600 or something similar..)

Thats minimum information because I can't duplicate this.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 23 July 2009, 18:16   #6
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 1,585
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
Ive recorded loads of stuff with winuae lately with no sync issues (nothing that stands out anyway). If fps is fluctuating then audio is matching the change.
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 23 July 2009, 18:21   #7
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 40
Posts: 3,313
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad-Matt View Post
Ive recorded loads of stuff with winuae lately with no sync issues (nothing that stands out anyway). If fps is fluctuating then audio is matching the change.
It's apparent when you combine/join/merge several avis, maybe not in short movies.. but we do hours long longplays .... the sound/video is always in sync at start, then little by little it goes further and further apart.... could be a sound delay by 1 mins after 1 hour.....

Hope Hipooios or someone else will post the delails Toni needs. As I can't be arsed .
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 23 July 2009, 18:31   #8
hipoonios
Amiga Hardcore Gamer

hipoonios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 1,188
It doesn't matter with filter or settings or resolution you're recording in. (I've tried it all). It also seem to happen on all games.

By just watching the video you will probably not notice the desynch. Best thing to do is to open it in VirtualDub and see what it says there.

If match video/sound is about 50.124 or 49.489 you will not probably notice.

I'm linking here to a file with 50.506. It very rare it's so much like this.

Codec: TSCC/PCM Audio 800x600:

https://www.bredbandsbolaget.se/utde...ays/temporary/

about 44mb file. Check the end of the video. Last 2 seconds have no sound.
hipoonios is offline  
Old 26 July 2009, 00:25   #9
LocalH
Amiga user since 1990
LocalH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Kingsport, TN / USA
Age: 38
Posts: 277
I remember having a problem like this but with an NES emulator, and it turned out that the exact emulation speed (which drove generation of audio as well) was not exactly 50/60fps, but the value being written into the AVI file was 50/60fps anyway. This caused the sync to skew. It's possible to fix with AviSynth, I'd have to dig up the old script I used to do so.

Anyone feel like digging through the WinUAE sources to find the necessary data to compute exact framerate, down to 1Hz accuracy?

Last edited by LocalH; 27 July 2009 at 17:23.
LocalH is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flashback - Audio timing does not match video breech support.OtherUAE 5 25 February 2010 14:43
Bad video output landex support.Hardware 9 17 March 2008 04:16
The best setup for audio/video output Dopuser support.WinUAE 0 12 August 2007 13:36
Video output problem P-J support.WinUAE 2 19 November 2006 20:49
garbage video output on 1200 hardwir3d support.Hardware 2 15 March 2005 12:11

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.63647 seconds with 15 queries