English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 November 2019, 19:37   #1
muppets4
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Reeuwijk
Posts: 2
New guy messing up

I am new to the Amiga scene, not new to retro computers. I remember them being state of the art (:

Today I got my first A1200 in the mail. I hooked it up to a Philips CM8833 monitor by using SCART. Got a picture, but wasn't happy with it. So I selected another resolution, for what I THOUGHT to be less high. I think I mistakenly selected a higher resolution.
The screen is black with a band moving fast from down to up. I saw on a forum to delete the file screenmode.prefs and after a while I knew where to look (right mouse button and select CLI). But it did not help. Other suggestions I read were to delete files into DEVS:monitors. But I am done deleting files while I do not know what will happen. in DEVS:monitors/ are four files that are adjusted today: PAL.info, HighGFX.info, NTSC.info en HighGFX
This is what I get for acting without knowledge. So I deserve punishment. But this has been punishment enough. I hope (:

Anyone care to help? I do not have any floppys ):
muppets4 is offline  
Old 09 November 2019, 20:34   #2
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 35
Posts: 1,395
Nederlands or Flanders? Welcome to the forum. You don't have to delete the files from Devs/Monitors you can/should move them back to Devs/Storage if not in use.

What resolution did you choose with Prefs/ScreenMode ?? a quick look says your monitor is only 15khz and WILL NOT SUPPORT VGA type frequencies of 30khz.

If you boot the amiga with both mouse buttons hold down, does the boot screen display?
redblade is offline  
Old 09 November 2019, 21:02   #3
muppets4
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Reeuwijk
Posts: 2
Nederlands (:

The boot screen does display. Very sharp image. I don't know what resolution I selected. I probably am too much used to Windows, which cancels when not approved within 15 secs.

Last edited by muppets4; 09 November 2019 at 22:26.
muppets4 is offline  
Old 09 November 2019, 23:50   #4
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 35
Posts: 1,395
Quote:
Originally Posted by muppets4 View Post
Nederlands (:

The boot screen does display. Very sharp image. I don't know what resolution I selected. I probably am too much used to Windows, which cancels when not approved within 15 secs.
Ok, that's good that the bootscreen dispalys. Do you have Pal/NTSC amiga? I'm guessing you brought a PAL one, it would be PAL if it comes with nederlands keyboard also, UK, French, German, Viking.

but yeah boot up into bootmenu (both buttons on mouse held down when turning on the amiga).

Click on boot options.
Select Dh0: or hd0:
Click on >Use

Click on >boot with no startup-sequence

Choose to boot on dh0: or hd0:

type at prompt
assign env: ram:
prefs/screenmode

select PAL 640x256
and go right click (on mouse) goto menu and do "Save as"
Drawer: Sys:Prefs/Env-Archive/Sys/
File: wbconfig.prefs

See if that helps. A photo would be nice of your problem?!!?
redblade is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old C64 guy, new Amiga guy Jeff_Birt New to Emulation or Amiga scene 8 15 August 2019 20:55
Hi new guy lee t New to Emulation or Amiga scene 13 25 July 2012 00:28
Messing up with expansions on A500. DyLucke support.Hardware 3 06 November 2010 06:54
1mb slow ram messing up Workbench 1.3's screen Maren support.WinUAE 42 14 August 2009 20:20
...people messing with my site (again)... Godflesh Amiga scene 16 26 October 2001 20:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06325 seconds with 15 queries