English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.WHDLoad

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 June 2007, 14:11   #1
Michael G
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 13
whdload xenon runs slow in winuae

I have been unable to get xenon to run correctly using whdload in any config. The menus and speech are fine - however the ingame play runs slow - making the game unplayable.

I have beening using winuae for many years and have been a registered user of whdload for quite some time now. This is the first game I have been unable to get running.

- if i run an adf version of the game - the game runs correctly.
- I have tried many versions of winuae including the latest version.
- i have also tried quite a few versions of whdload also.

I have also tried killer gorillas whdload version of the game with the same result.

- i have run clrmamepro (using gamebase amigas .dat file) on my rom file (info for xenon says is requires a v1.3 rom). and it comes up as good.

I currenlty use gamebase v1.4 (which uses whdrun) as the frontend with winuae 1.4.2a

My current machine is a 2.4G P4 running win XP. I have also tried it on a mates centrino laptop with the same results.

anyone have any ideas.

thanks
Michael G is offline  
Old 03 June 2007, 14:23   #2
Belgarath
HOL Team Member

Belgarath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,413
Yeh it definitely runs too slow, I told KG about it and he said it seemed to run too slow for him as well.
Belgarath is offline  
Old 03 June 2007, 14:25   #3
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 33
Posts: 11,061
Could just be a badly-programmed slave?
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 03 June 2007, 14:26   #4
Michael G
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 13
thanks belgarath,

Now that I know its not just me - I'll put in a bug report on the whdload website.

Are you the same Belgarath who writes gamebase?
Michael G is offline  
Old 03 June 2007, 14:29   #5
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 11,989
Which version is installed? It's indeed very slow.

Quote:
SUPPORTED VERSIONS:
- (v1) original release (supported by Helmut Motzkau)
- (v2) Xenon compilation bugfixed version (supported by Carlo Pirri)
Maybe v2 works better, Bored wrote, that he fixed the slowdowns.

Quote:
V1.1 (18-Jul-2003) - another version supported
- rewritten for KickEmu -> no more slowdowns
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 03 June 2007, 14:31   #6
Belgarath
HOL Team Member

Belgarath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,413
I've no idea which version was used, KG would have to answer that.

and Michael, yes I'm the same Belgarath who made GameBase Amiga
Belgarath is offline  
Old 03 June 2007, 14:35   #7
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 11,989
KG installed the retail version, we should try the bugfixed compilation version. Maybe Carlo could help us.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 03 June 2007, 14:38   #8
Michael G
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 13
Hi retro-nerd

I originally had this game back in the day on my Amiga 500+. Unfortunately my original disks corrupted so I have had to resort to ADFs. I have tried quite a few different ADFs - all with the same result. I just realised I can't lodge a bug on the whdload site as I don't know what version it is.
Michael G is offline  
Old 03 June 2007, 14:43   #9
Michael G
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 13
Belgarath, Great to meet you and thanks to you and your team for Gamebase Amiga. I didn't have a hdd on my A500+ so the emulated whdload versions run even better than the originals. you have rekindled my childhood love of Amiga.
Michael G is offline  
Old 03 June 2007, 14:46   #10
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 11,989
All we can do is wait atm. I'm in hope that somebody owns the compilation version, for another test.

btw: It runs very slow on a real machine too.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 03 June 2007 at 15:06.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 04 June 2007, 11:27   #11
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 7,956
I've got the same experience with xenon on winuae/winuaex and on a real Amiga. It's always sloooooooooooooooooow.

I'll dig through my random files and see if I have a different version of it.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 04 June 2007, 17:25   #12
pbareges
Registered User
pbareges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: montreal / canada
Age: 44
Posts: 722
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla
I've got the same experience with xenon on winuae/winuaex and on a real Amiga. It's always sloooooooooooooooooow.

I'll dig through my random files and see if I have a different version of it.
do you mean adf (ie non whd) version ?

i remembered i intensively played the whd version a few months ago..and even if i cannot remember if the original game was this slow at start when i played it 10 years ago, once you pick up a few "improve speed bonuses", the "landed ship" (pacman sprite) speed gets much better...the "flying ship" speed stays the same but seems ok to me..
pbareges is offline  
Old 04 June 2007, 17:28   #13
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 7,956
no I mean whdload. It's always ran slow for me IIRC.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 04 June 2007, 19:35   #14
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,486
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd
KG installed the retail version, we should try the bugfixed compilation version. Maybe Carlo could help us.
In the Zone, but I doubt it will differ from the retail release. Bored Seal says in the readme that the V1.1 slave was rewritten for KickEmu, which was supposed to fix the slowdowns period.
DrBong is offline  
Old 04 June 2007, 19:50   #15
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 11,989
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrBong
In the Zone, but I doubt it will differ from the retail release. Bored Seal says in the readme that the V1.1 slave was rewritten for KickEmu, which was supposed to fix the slowdowns period.
You're right, this version is also very slow.

But thanks for uploading this version, Carlo. Now it's sure that we need a slave update.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 28 June 2007, 15:12   #16
Michael G
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 13
thanks to everyone for responding, At least I now know its not my winuae setup at fault.
Michael G is offline  
Old 07 August 2007, 14:39   #17
Calgor
(Amigas && Amigos)++

Calgor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Anrea
Posts: 998
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla View Post
I've got the same experience with xenon on winuae/winuaex and on a real Amiga. It's always sloooooooooooooooooow.

I'll dig through my random files and see if I have a different version of it.
Which real amiga did you run it on? A 68000 cpu? It seems very slow to me on whdload, but then I thought I remembered it was faster through winuae a year ago with an adf, might just be thru rose-coloured glasses
Calgor is online now  
Old 07 August 2007, 14:54   #18
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 7,956
It was my A1200 030 @ 50Hz. This was only with the whdload version though.

I do (did?) have the original game and remember playing it a lot, it was always faster, much faster. MUCH FASTER! BWAHWHWHAH!
killergorilla is offline  
Old 14 August 2007, 21:29   #19
pbareges
Registered User
pbareges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: montreal / canada
Age: 44
Posts: 722
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla View Post
It was my A1200 030 @ 50Hz. This was only with the whdload version though.

I do (did?) have the original game and remember playing it a lot, it was always faster, much faster. MUCH FASTER! BWAHWHWHAH!
i tried to boot with a1200 with tude degrader and kickstart1.3 with the first xenon crack i found on planetemu...and it runs much faster (a real delight to replay this game at full speed!!) ...so dear whdload coders...can you please have a look at this bored seal's install and try to improve it to make it reach its original speed ? THANKS!
pbareges is offline  
Old 14 August 2007, 21:42   #20
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 46
Posts: 7,617
Xenon is badly coded, doesn't like running on faster processors.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS-UAE runs reeeally slow... Nichtraucher support.FS-UAE 22 22 March 2014 23:58
Deep core whdload runs very slow Fabie support.Games 16 09 July 2012 14:03
Xenon runs slow on winUAE v2.3.2 and v2.3.1 geecab support.WinUAE 3 16 August 2011 22:48
Xenon 2 CDTV painfully slow on CD32 lennonlives support.Games 8 18 April 2009 19:59
Problem loading Xenon 2 whdload guardiansknight support.Games 4 14 January 2006 00:22

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09482 seconds with 13 queries