English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 August 2017, 04:29   #561
NovaCoder
Registered User
 
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 4,400
Quote:
Originally Posted by ninevoltz View Post
NovaCoder,

Is there any chance you would share your source code for your SCUMMVM-RTG or ZDOOM-RTG port? (Awesome work, by the way!) Maybe at github? Only reason I ask is because they both don't work correctly at the moment with the VA2000 video card, and having the source code might be helpful in figuring out why. The video is stuck at the top third of the screen, and is badly scrambled. I'm sure it's a problem with the VA2000 drivers, because it works fine with a RetinaZ3BLT graphics card, both using P96.

Any ideas?

(Also, in case you weren't aware, your private message box is too full to accept any private messages.)
Hiya,

Yep sure, I always used the same code for my RTG games. I used the CyberGFX API to get a pointer to the video bitmap and then did a blit (memcpy) straight into it with my game's graphics.

http://amiga.sourceforge.net/amidevh...&action=Search

It's considered a 'low level' function so that's probably why the P96 emulation of this function isn't working for VA2000.

Code:
void OSystem_AmigaOS3::updateScreen() {
#ifndef NDEBUG
    debug(9, "OSystem_AmigaOS3::updateScreen()");
#endif
        
    static UBYTE* src;
    
    
    if (_mouseCursor.visible) {
        drawMouse();
    }
    
    if (_overlayVisible) {
        UBYTE *base_address;
        APTR video_bitmap_handle = LockBitMapTags(_hardwareOverlayScreen->ViewPort.RasInfo->BitMap,
        									 LBMI_BASEADDRESS, (ULONG)&base_address,
        									 TAG_DONE);										 
        if (video_bitmap_handle) {
            CopyMemQuick((UBYTE*)_overlayscreen8.pixels, base_address, (_videoMode.overlayWidth * _videoMode.overlayHeight));
        	UnLockBitMap (video_bitmap_handle);
        	video_bitmap_handle = NULL;
        }      
    } else {
        if (_currentShakePos != _newShakePos) {
            // Set the 'dirty area' to black.
            memset(_tmpscreen.getBasePtr(0, (_videoMode.screenHeight - _newShakePos)), 0, (_videoMode.screenWidth * _newShakePos)); 
            
            src = (UBYTE*)_screen.getBasePtr(0, _newShakePos);
            byte *dst = (byte*)_tmpscreen.getBasePtr(0, 0);
            
            CopyMemQuick(src, dst, (_videoMode.screenWidth * (_videoMode.screenHeight - _newShakePos)));
            
            // Reset.
	        _currentShakePos = _newShakePos;
	        
	        src = (UBYTE*)_tmpscreen.pixels;
        } else {
            src = (UBYTE*)_screen.pixels;
        }
        

        UBYTE *base_address;
        APTR video_bitmap_handle = LockBitMapTags(_hardwareGameScreen->ViewPort.RasInfo->BitMap,
        									 LBMI_BASEADDRESS, (ULONG)&base_address,
        									 TAG_DONE);
        if (video_bitmap_handle) {
            CopyMemQuick(src, base_address, (_videoMode.screenWidth * _videoMode.screenHeight));
        	UnLockBitMap (video_bitmap_handle);
        	video_bitmap_handle = NULL;
        }            
    }
    


    // Check whether the palette was changed.
	if (_paletteDirtyEnd != 0) {
        updatePalette();
	}	
    
    
    if (_mouseCursor.visible) {
        undrawMouse();
    }	
}

The only other possible problem is that the wrong screen mode is open using VA2000, this is how I open a screen in ScummVM

Code:
struct Screen* OSystem_AmigaOS3::createHardwareScreen(uint width, uint height) {

    // Create the hardware screen.
    struct Screen* screen = NULL;
    ULONG modeId = INVALID_ID;
    
	modeId = BestCModeIDTags(
        		CYBRBIDTG_Depth, CGX_VIDEO_DEPTH,
        		CYBRBIDTG_NominalWidth, width,
        		CYBRBIDTG_NominalHeight, height,
        		TAG_DONE);   


	// Verify the mode choosen.
	if (modeId != INVALID_ID) {
    	if (GetCyberIDAttr(CYBRIDATTR_DEPTH, modeId) != CGX_VIDEO_DEPTH) {
    		modeId = INVALID_ID;
    	}
    
    	if (GetCyberIDAttr(CYBRIDATTR_WIDTH, modeId) != width) {
    	   modeId = INVALID_ID;
    	}
    
    	if (GetCyberIDAttr(CYBRIDATTR_HEIGHT, modeId) != height) {
    	   modeId = INVALID_ID;
    	}
	}

	if (modeId == INVALID_ID) {
		warning("Couldn't find a Screen Mode for requested mode");
    }
    

    if (modeId != INVALID_ID) {
    	screen = OpenScreenTags(NULL,
                         SA_Depth, CGX_VIDEO_DEPTH,
                         SA_DisplayID, modeId,
                         SA_Width, width,
    					 SA_Height, height,
						 SA_Type, CUSTOMSCREEN,
                         SA_Quiet, TRUE,
    					 SA_ShowTitle, FALSE,
    					 SA_Draggable, FALSE,
                         SA_Exclusive, TRUE,
    					 SA_AutoScroll, FALSE,
						 TAG_END);
    }

    return screen;
}
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 18 December 2017, 00:22   #562
Foul
Registered User
 
Foul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Perigueux/France
Age: 49
Posts: 1,516
Send a message via ICQ to Foul Send a message via MSN to Foul
Just in time for the holidays, the final release of ScummVM 2.0 is here!

http://www.scummvm.org/

Foul is offline  
Old 25 January 2018, 12:25   #563
traxx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Jyväskylä / Finland
Posts: 11
Just tried to install ScummVM_AGA_030 (newest version 1.5.0.004) from Aminet on my Amiga1200 (with ACA1233n) but only get this grey screen when starting it and about 10 second later it changes to that another weird screen and finally shows ”software failure” screen. I'm runninh ClassicWB 3.9

Also tried reinstalled AHI 4.18 (actually correct version was already installed) for sure and set it to 14bit fast stereo -mode but no affect when launching the ScummVM.

And yes I fullfill the requirements: Amiga 1200 with 68030 accelerator (ACA-1233n which has 128MB fastram) and original 3.1 ROM's.

Video what happens [ Show youtube player ]

Any ideas what is wrong and what to do?
traxx is offline  
Old 28 January 2018, 06:25   #564
NovaCoder
Registered User
 
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 4,400
Quote:
Originally Posted by traxx View Post
Just tried to install ScummVM_AGA_030 (newest version 1.5.0.004) from Aminet on my Amiga1200 (with ACA1233n) but only get this grey screen when starting it and about 10 second later it changes to that another weird screen and finally shows ”software failure” screen. I'm runninh ClassicWB 3.9

Also tried reinstalled AHI 4.18 (actually correct version was already installed) for sure and set it to 14bit fast stereo -mode but no affect when launching the ScummVM.

And yes I fullfill the requirements: Amiga 1200 with 68030 accelerator (ACA-1233n which has 128MB fastram) and original 3.1 ROM's.

Video what happens [ Show youtube player ]

Any ideas what is wrong and what to do?
Make sure you aren't running the CyberBugFix hack.

Also check for an error.txt file in the game install directory.

Finally, make sure that AHI Prefs opens without any error messages.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 28 January 2018, 20:40   #565
traxx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Jyväskylä / Finland
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Make sure you aren't running the CyberBugFix hack.

Also check for an error.txt file in the game install directory.

Finally, make sure that AHI Prefs opens without any error messages.
Thanks, didn’t notice that error-file earlier and now got it work with the help of that. MT-32 support is also functioning nice
traxx is offline  
Old 09 March 2018, 13:46   #566
amigoun
Registered User
 
amigoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Czech Rep
Posts: 599
Is there any way to improve digital sound quality? (sounds quite noisy to me). Maybe by any tooltype setting?
edit: somehow I managed to get cleaner sound adjusting some options.

Last edited by amigoun; 27 April 2018 at 00:18.
amigoun is offline  
Old 27 April 2018, 00:22   #567
amigoun
Registered User
 
amigoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Czech Rep
Posts: 599
Does anyone know, if theres a possibility of using keyboard for movement in Lands of Lore in ScummVM? In Windows version it works using numeric keyboard but on Amiga it unfortunately doesnt seem to work
amigoun is offline  
Old 27 April 2018, 11:14   #568
DamienD
Banned
 
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 47
Posts: 20,420
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigoun View Post
Does anyone know, if theres a possibility of using keyboard for movement in Lands of Lore in ScummVM? In Windows version it works using numeric keyboard but on Amiga it unfortunately doesnt seem to work
Guess the following is really concerning emulation... you don't have "Port 2" set as "Keyboard Layout A" do you?

Try changing this to be "None" and it should work
DamienD is offline  
Old 27 April 2018, 11:22   #569
Aladin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: France
Posts: 853
is it possible to make the latest version 2.0?

in aminet:
Scummvm ECS 1.2.1 (2013 Novacoder)
Scummvm AGA 1.5.0 (2015 Novacoder)
Scummvm RTG 1.8.1 (2016 Renaud Schweingruber)

Last edited by Aladin; 27 April 2018 at 11:41.
Aladin is offline  
Old 27 April 2018, 22:39   #570
amigoun
Registered User
 
amigoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Czech Rep
Posts: 599
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Guess the following is really concerning emulation... you don't have "Port 2" set as "Keyboard Layout A" do you?

Try changing this to be "None" and it should work
No, not a problem of WinUAE, I use real Amiga.
It must be something of the ScummVM amiga port. If keyboard support for movement is missing, this makes unfortunately LOL practicaly unplayable which is a shame.
amigoun is offline  
Old 28 April 2018, 09:04   #571
TuKo
Apollo Team
 
TuKo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: not far
Posts: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aladin View Post
is it possible to make the latest version 2.0?
Since ScummVM 1.9.0, the code is relaying on SDL2 which would require quite some work to get it running on AOS3. I dont see it happening soon.
TuKo is offline  
Old 28 April 2018, 13:01   #572
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
 
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Age: 70
Posts: 8,248
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aladin View Post
is it possible to make the latest version 2.0?

in aminet:
Scummvm ECS 1.2.1 (2013 Novacoder)
Scummvm AGA 1.5.0 (2015 Novacoder)
Scummvm RTG 1.8.1 (2016 Renaud Schweingruber)
If I must be sincere Scummvm 1.8.1 i do not like it and it does not work well, while Scummvm 1.5.0 it's perfect and it works great, see my video

WinUAE AfA-OS: Monkey Island III
[ Show youtube player ]

AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 01 May 2018, 00:45   #573
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985
 
turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 48
Posts: 3,913
Hi nova,
is there command lines to launch directly a game ???
something like :
scummvmaga simon2
If not ! is it possible to add command lines to launch the games without launching the gui ???
turrican3 is offline  
Old 12 November 2018, 02:07   #574
Reido
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dublin/Ireland
Posts: 403
A little reminder of the quality of NovaCoder's work!!

[ Show youtube player ]

060 80mhz 64mb

Last edited by Reido; 12 November 2018 at 02:20. Reason: Config
Reido is offline  
Old 12 November 2018, 03:35   #575
NovaCoder
Registered User
 
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 4,400
Quote:
Originally Posted by turrican3 View Post
Hi nova,
is there command lines to launch directly a game ???
something like :
scummvmaga simon2
If not ! is it possible to add command lines to launch the games without launching the gui ???
No sorry, it's disabled. I could add it but don't really want to build this project ever again (it's huge!)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reido View Post
A little reminder of the quality of NovaCoder's work!!

[ Show youtube player ]

060 80mhz 64mb
Thanks mate, much appreciated
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 06 January 2019, 14:05   #576
salocinx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: St.Gallen / Switzerland
Posts: 84
Hello everyone!

I want to play Indiana Jones & the Last Crusade (FM-Towns version) on my A4000D. Unfortunately the game falters every time a movie music sequence is played. The game is then practically unplayable... Does anyone have a hint on how I can fix the problem?

My configuration:

- SCUMM VM AGA 060 (Revision 1.5.0)
- Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (FM-Towns version)
- Amiga 4000 Desktop, Cyberstorm MKII 060, 128MB Fast RAM, Toccata Sound Card

What I have tried so far:

- installed AHI 4.18 over the AHI version from OS 3.9 BB1-BB4
- patched CopyMem() and CopyQuickMem()
- tried some tooltypes

The sound files are currently in OGG format.

Any suggestions?
salocinx is offline  
Old 07 January 2019, 00:04   #577
NovaCoder
Registered User
 
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 4,400
Quote:
Originally Posted by salocinx View Post
Hello everyone!

I want to play Indiana Jones & the Last Crusade (FM-Towns version) on my A4000D. Unfortunately the game falters every time a movie music sequence is played. The game is then practically unplayable... Does anyone have a hint on how I can fix the problem?

My configuration:

- SCUMM VM AGA 060 (Revision 1.5.0)
- Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (FM-Towns version)
- Amiga 4000 Desktop, Cyberstorm MKII 060, 128MB Fast RAM, Toccata Sound Card

What I have tried so far:

- installed AHI 4.18 over the AHI version from OS 3.9 BB1-BB4
- patched CopyMem() and CopyQuickMem()
- tried some tooltypes

The sound files are currently in OGG format.

Any suggestions?
Hi,

Does it play sounds/music in other games that aren't using OGG compressed audio? I'd advise trying another FM-Towns game or even a demo with all of the original sound data files and see how that works.

I can only guess what your problem is but the mostly likely problem is that your CPU is so busy decoding the OGG sound format that there aren't enough CPU cycles left do play the game.

Also check my ScummVM setup guide

[ Show youtube player ]

Make sure your sound mixing rate isn't too high
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 07 January 2019, 15:28   #578
salocinx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: St.Gallen / Switzerland
Posts: 84
Hi. Thank you for the quick response and the getting-started link! That's what I thought too and I did some experiments meanwhile to validate the assumption. I downloaded "playOGG" from aminet and tried to play the *.ogg files from workbench. The workbench gets very unresponsive as soon as the file begins to play and the sound output is very scattered too... Seems to be just too much CPU load for decoding the *.ogg files.

I then converted the *.ogg files to *.flac and tried again. But even a bit worse... As you suggested, I then downloaded a demo of Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (FM-Towns) version from the SCUMMVM game demos website. There are two *.fla files in the demo, but when started, no sound is being played at all.

The other games are all working fine (Full Throttle, Maniac Mansion - Day of Tentacle, The Dig, etc...), but these ones don't have *.ogg files, but the original Monster.sou files.

I will still looking for an original dump of the Indiana Jones (FM-Towns) edition, but not yet found. The original games on e-Bay are around 300-400 USD ;-/

But no problem, I am now playing the VGA/PC version on the SCUMMVM AGA 060 which is running perfectly, since in this version the audio files are the same as in the EGA/Amiga versions (MIDI based?). I am basically playing it for the nice graphics, not the enhanced sound ;-)

By the way... Many, many thanks for your great work! The SCUMMVM AGA port is an amazing piece of software!

Last edited by salocinx; 07 January 2019 at 15:35.
salocinx is offline  
Old 07 January 2019, 15:36   #579
DamienD
Banned
 
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 47
Posts: 20,420
Quote:
Originally Posted by salocinx View Post
I will still looking for an original dump of the Indiana Jones (FM-Towns) edition, but not yet found. The original games on e-Bay are around 300-400 USD ;-/
I have this (image made from a friend's original); along with many other FM-Towns / Marty games, see this post.

...guess I could upload it somewhere for you.
DamienD is offline  
Old 07 January 2019, 16:08   #580
salocinx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: St.Gallen / Switzerland
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
I have this (image made from a friend's original); along with many other FM-Towns / Marty games, see this post.

...guess I could upload it somewhere for you.
That would be awesome Would you mind to check what file format they used on the original CD ?
salocinx is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Latest version of ScummVM also ported to RTG NovaCoder News 430 01 April 2024 23:22
Latest version of ScummVM also ported to ECS NovaCoder News 128 01 April 2024 02:51
ScummVM and AGA Amiga HardStep support.Games 34 04 December 2023 01:00
Quake 2 ported to AGA NovaCoder News 213 13 June 2022 16:56
Full Throttle AGA - ScummVM V1.0.0 NovaCoder project.Amiga Game Factory 102 04 July 2011 11:53

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:33.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11623 seconds with 14 queries