English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 September 2016, 17:33   #1
Amiga500Forever
 
Posts: n/a
A500 dead keyboard replaced but still not working properly

Hello I have an Amiga 500 dead keyboard but today the membrane was replaced for a good one. The Amiga 500 board it´s working fine loading every disks. I tryed to exchange the PCB (keyboard circuit board) for another that i bought recently (a tested one) by the seller but the keyboard issue remains (just the led lights work) when i press any key there´s no typing and the caps lock is always turned off. What is your opinion ?
 
Old 13 September 2016, 17:48   #2
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,891
Did you change the PCB or just the membrane?
idrougge is offline  
Old 14 September 2016, 12:24   #3
Amiga500Forever
 
Posts: n/a
Hello i bought
a keyboard membrane
for amiga 500
it wasn´t detected by the amiga
but i reinstalled it and just the bigger enter key isn´t working
and the caps lock light doesn´t turn on when pressed
what do you think is happening?
 
Old 14 September 2016, 14:34   #4
dirkies
Zone Friend

dirkies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Belgium
Age: 46
Posts: 1,222
maybe a stuck key? or some bad membrane contact with the mobo socket?
dirkies is offline  
Old 14 September 2016, 15:38   #5
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,891
Does the caps lock key turn on when you turn on or reset the computer?
idrougge is offline  
Old 14 September 2016, 18:02   #6
Amiga500Forever
 
Posts: n/a
I think this case is solved...Im quit sure
is because the keyboard is model A - recquiring the membrane »» A-500 (E) 56 A619A
but the membrane it´s model B - recquiring the membrane »» A-500 (E) 56 A619B

that´s why the bigger enter key doesn´t work and the caps lock don´t turn on the led light

(no the caps lock led remains always off) but it works.
I am lucky cause i have the keyboard model B so i just got to exchange them.

Yes. I exchanged the PCB i bet the white clamp isn´t working wright (don´t fix the membrane attachement (black stripes contacts) so the attachment is loose inside the clamp causing null contact)

Last edited by Amiga500Forever; 18 September 2016 at 01:43.
 
Old 14 September 2016, 18:18   #7
dirkies
Zone Friend

dirkies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Belgium
Age: 46
Posts: 1,222
membrane is the same as for A4000 (as long as original KB was a Mitsumi), so you may be able to resell your membrane to more potential people.

I replace mine on my A4000 as a trace was broken (it just disintegrates after all those years), but I noticed I can put it in my A500 aswell (I bought 2 at the same time @ sellmyretro)
dirkies is offline  
Old 15 September 2016, 22:26   #8
Amiga500Forever
 
Posts: n/a
Hello again. I just have Mitsumi membranes and now i´ve got to order membrane model A keeping the keyboard A. Thanks for your opinions

Last edited by Amiga500Forever; 17 September 2016 at 09:04.
 
Old 12 February 2017, 14:12   #9
RWAP
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Stone, United Kingdom
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amiga500Forever View Post
I think this case is solved...Im quit sure
is because the keyboard is model A - recquiring the membrane »» A-500 (E) 56 A619A
but the membrane it´s model B - recquiring the membrane »» A-500 (E) 56 A619B

that´s why the bigger enter key doesn´t work and the caps lock don´t turn on the led light

(no the caps lock led remains always off) but it works.
I am lucky cause i have the keyboard model B so i just got to exchange them.

Yes. I exchanged the PCB i bet the white clamp isn´t working wright (don´t fix the membrane attachement (black stripes contacts) so the attachment is loose inside the clamp causing null contact)

Did you resolve this ? The confusion over the two membrane types are the reason why I ensured that the new A500/A500+ membranes I sell through sellmyretro.com can handle both keyboard layouts.

Oddly someone has recently spotted an issue with the white clamp on one of his machines (the others have a black clamp) where the new membrane didn't seem to line up properly.

I wonder if there is some difference between some of the white and black clamps - possibly the white ones need a thinner membrane?
RWAP is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A500+ Keyboard Mostly Not Working RobTurbo support.Hardware 4 01 February 2016 19:07
A500 keyboard, column of keys not working amigaosx support.Hardware 1 16 September 2015 15:04
A500 keyboard 2 keys not working Zippy Zapp support.Hardware 39 24 December 2014 16:57
Apidya not working properly... Predabot support.Games 61 03 February 2009 02:02
PPC not working properly Gavilan support.Hardware 7 05 November 2008 19:03

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11207 seconds with 13 queries