English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 July 2010, 17:53   #1
Wasagi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Essex / United Kingdom
Posts: 261
A1200 Dead ?

Hi all,

The A1200 I acquired recently seems to have died. I tried switching it on this afternoon. The green power light comes on but no disk activity (either hdd or floppy) and no video output.

Is there something simple I could be missing here?

The machine resets when I press the key combo and it resets the video mode on the TV, but nothing displays :s

I did remove the keys from the keyboard earlier in the day, but I didnt open the case to do so and just used a flat knife to do so, but didnt go beyond the tray.

Any help appreciated.

Thanks!

Last edited by Wasagi; 01 July 2010 at 18:01.
Wasagi is offline  
Old 01 July 2010, 18:02   #2
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 6,353
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Ahh man this is bad news

Maybe you knocked something whilst you were working on the keys?

Suggest you check the following:

Remove and re-fit your accelerator card (this could be all it is)

Then:

Open up the A1200, make sure the Roms are seated correctly (press them into the socket)

Make sure the connections for the hard drive and floppy drive are connected properly.

Lets hope this gets you up and running.

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 01 July 2010, 18:06   #3
Wasagi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Essex / United Kingdom
Posts: 261
Tried all you said..


Its alive!

Thanks, phew!
Wasagi is offline  
Old 01 July 2010, 18:07   #4
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 6,353
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wasagi View Post
Tried all you said..


Its alive!

Thanks, phew!
Great news!

I am betting that the Accelerator or Roms had moved

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 01 July 2010, 18:08   #5
Wasagi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Essex / United Kingdom
Posts: 261
Now to get the accelerator back in, because that was 'so' much fun the first time :P
Wasagi is offline  
Old 01 July 2010, 18:10   #6
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 6,353
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wasagi View Post
Now to get the accelerator back in, because that was 'so' much fun the first time :P
It gets easier after you fit it the first couple of times.

And its much easier to fit with the A1200 open (if its still open)

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 01 July 2010, 18:11   #7
Wasagi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Essex / United Kingdom
Posts: 261
You're right, 5 mins that time instead of 55 mins while sweating thinking either the mobo or accelerator were going to snap!
Wasagi is offline  
Old 01 July 2010, 18:12   #8
ck1200
CBM & Retro Mad
ck1200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: North Wales/Wirral Uk
Age: 37
Posts: 611
Send a message via MSN to ck1200 Send a message via Yahoo to ck1200
Glad it's resolved


Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
It gets easier after you fit it the first couple of times.

And its much easier to fit with the A1200 open (if its still open)

Steve.
Amen to that lol
ck1200 is offline  
Old 01 July 2010, 18:14   #9
Wasagi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Essex / United Kingdom
Posts: 261
Thanks again. You cant pay for support like that!
Wasagi is offline  
Old 01 July 2010, 18:23   #10
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 6,353
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wasagi View Post
Thanks again. You cant pay for support like that!
You're welcome

All part of the Aftersales service
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 01 July 2010, 22:10   #11
Wasagi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Essex / United Kingdom
Posts: 261
Mhmm strange problem now after getting it all working. Whdload wont load any games complaining of "invalid workbench arguments"
Wasagi is offline  
Old 01 July 2010, 22:21   #12
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 6,353
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wasagi View Post
Mhmm strange problem now after getting it all working. Whdload wont load any games complaining of "invalid workbench arguments"
Hmm, thats something I can't help with, might be worth a quick serach of the Prb. WHDload section, if there are no threads then maybe start one, I've not heard of this before.

Nothing else changed? Installed any new software/hardware?

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 01 July 2010, 22:24   #13
Wasagi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Essex / United Kingdom
Posts: 261
Nope,

It's strange, im not sure its limited to Whdload either :s
Wasagi is offline  
Old 01 July 2010, 22:27   #14
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 6,353
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wasagi View Post
Nope,

It's strange, im not sure its limited to Whdload either :s
How is your hard drive setup? Is it CF-IDE? I'm guessing you swapped out that 85mb Hard Drive already

You're not using storage >4gb and not set anything up outside the first 4gb have you?

Just a thought.

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 01 July 2010, 22:43   #15
Wasagi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Essex / United Kingdom
Posts: 261
CF-IDE with a 4gb Card. All partitions within 4gb and none exceeding 2gb. Everything was working fine before I started unplugging and pluggin in stuff. Strangely normal HDD installed games work fine, as do Floppies :s
Wasagi is offline  
Old 01 July 2010, 22:54   #16
Wasagi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Essex / United Kingdom
Posts: 261
Just played with the rom chips again and all working.
Wasagi is offline  
Old 01 July 2010, 23:26   #17
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 6,353
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
That was a strange one, glad you figured it out!
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 01 July 2010, 23:46   #18
Wasagi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Essex / United Kingdom
Posts: 261
Argh, i thought Id figured it out... but now I finally have, and I dont think its good news. If the keyboard is in an upright position with the case open things work fine. If i place the keyboard horizontal things start to go wrong. I have even test this by angling the keyboard while the machine is on and it exhibits the same behaviour. Is it possible I've damaged the keyboard ribbon?

Or.. hang on, if I've got the keys removed from the board atm, as there are no springs, does that mean all the keys are being pressed?

Is that the prob? Errk!
Wasagi is offline  
Old 02 July 2010, 00:01   #19
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 9,768
@Wasagi

unfortunately .... (or fortunately =) .... yes....
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 02 July 2010, 00:02   #20
Wasagi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Essex / United Kingdom
Posts: 261
Phew !
Wasagi is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reviving our dead A1200 mainboards ancalimon support.Hardware 4 07 December 2011 21:07
A1200 Hard drive dead? rich support.Hardware 18 24 January 2009 19:01
Dead A1200 :( snowman040 support.Hardware 42 14 August 2008 00:13
Already dead A1200 oldpx support.Hardware 7 20 August 2004 18:56
A1200 Dead! Daz support.Hardware 10 10 June 2002 13:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08758 seconds with 13 queries