English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 February 2017, 03:17   #101
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 151
My problem is I did just what Cowcat said not to do, I had Cowcat's gameppc.dll in the baseq2 folder for the original version. The error message was something along the lines of Could not load file. Did not list what file that was.

Cowcat do you have any idea what I'm saying about the explosions not looking right? Like the explosion at the end of demo1 and grenade explosions where the yellow color is very dark?
grelbfarlk is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 02 February 2017, 18:25   #102
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca / Spain
Posts: 212
Quote:
explosions not looking right
Was that exposed previously? Matthey talked about problems with certain Voodoo cards and funny colors, not explosions in his case but the cube explosive items. If there are ok in Hyperion version could be the unreleased minigl code that probably fixes it. On source code there's a fix for some Permedia stuff (don't know what it does), but no Voodoo fixes are shown anywhere.
Cowcat is offline  
Old 04 February 2017, 02:47   #103
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 151
Any possibility of adding widescreen modes?
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 04 February 2017, 11:30   #104
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca / Spain
Posts: 212
Quote:
Any possibility of adding widescreen modes?
I have that for almost a year, but never released
A matter of time....
Cowcat is offline  
Old 09 February 2017, 22:43   #105
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 35
Posts: 1,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowcat View Post
Not a lot info to make a diagnosis.

If original works, certainly vbcc version should work better for a lot of reasons.

Could be a mismatched mix of different dll libs & cfg's of different Quake2 versions in the same place. Basically: Backup Hyperion version, or use a new Quake2 directory to test.

Don't use QuakeIIGUI exec (hyperion version) for loading vbcc version. No script lines or nothing: Launch "quake2" exec from shell or whatever launch options (I use ToolsDaemons).

For me, Hyperion version doesn't work quite right with my external keyboard: "Crouching" key event is missed somewhat.

It is finally running. Had to replace the gameppc.dll file inside baseq2 dir. The game was crashing with a failed requester and I fixed it by using Scout to remove the cocoline interrupt (I guess it is installed by the MX1000.driver that came with the optic mouse I got from AmigaKit)

I tried the beta2 version. Will try the vbcc verison later.
ancalimon is offline  
Old 17 February 2017, 14:14   #106
Hedeon
Sonnet Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 130
Could this (and/or BlitzQuake) benefit from AltiVec? If yes, in what parts would that be? (C2P for example?). Just asking.
Hedeon is offline  
Old 18 February 2017, 12:12   #107
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca / Spain
Posts: 212
Quote:
AltiVec?
Certainly, but not pointing to Quake code but minigl.
I remember some mesa/gl PPC (or was old AmigaOS 4-minigl / Morphos-tiny-gl ?) code that have altivec related to matrix stuff. Basically find that old mesa stuff (nowadays there's no ppc support from mesa) & try to adapt it to existing old minigl.

But before going Altivec route I would have a C PPC backend that fully supports all float registers from G3/G4 in classic Amiga, so a lot of stuff related to keeping the pipeline happy (as Surgeon did in matrix.c) could be updated to "newer" G3/4.

Another hacky way could be tinker the output asm and move around stuff to be Altivec compliant. Maybe using output code from AmigaOS 4 ->minigl / Morphos stuff and compare with old minigl warpos output.
Sometimes I do stuff like that: Gears demo being a 10% faster using "frsqrte" instead of sqrt/divisions in the loop of "v_GenTexCoords/draw.c". But not of this is used in Quake (anyway gentexcoords is slow)
Cowcat is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ADF-Workshop (formerly DMS-Workshop) Crashdisk project.TOSEC (amiga only) 130 27 January 2017 23:17
Anim Workshop Manual _amigan request.Other 0 03 December 2012 16:30
Looking for Anim Workshop 2.0 amigagenie request.Apps 12 10 July 2011 18:07
Quake, Quake 2 and Heretic 2 don't run after update to Mediator TX Turrican(AEB) support.Games 14 25 August 2008 22:11
Workshop Pron Boot_WB Hardware pics 19 06 June 2008 21:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.13293 seconds with 14 queries