English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Amix

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 March 2022, 17:25   #1
Warty
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Minneapolis, USA
Posts: 272
Trouble getting Amix install to recognize tape image

I'm finally getting around to trying to install AMIX for the A3000UX we found at my friend's place. My plan is to do this with FS-UAE, then copy the installed disk image in its entirety over to an SD card, and put SCSI2SD in the A3000UX. I'm using my own A3000 as the test bed for that part.

But... I can't get the tape recognized.

I'm following instructions at these 2 places:
https://www.amigaunix.com/doku.php/installation
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=86480

For files, I'm using the ones from the first link. I also tried the cpio files from that site, but got exactly the same result.
https://www.amigaunix.com/lib/exe/fe...ix_21_tape.zip

My FS-uAE config:
Code:
[fs-uae]
amiga_model = A3000
floppy_drive_0 = OS/AMIX/amix_21_boot.adf
floppy_drive_1 = OS/AMIX/amix_21_root.adf
floppy_drive_volume_empty = 0
hard_drive_0 = xx/FS-UAE/HardFiles/a3000ux.hdf
hard_drive_0_controller = scsi6
hard_drive_0_type = rdb
hard_drive_1 = xx/FS-UAE/Floppies/OS/AMIX/amix_21_tape.zip
hard_drive_1_controller = scsi4
hard_drive_1_type = rdb
kickstart_file = Kickstart v3.1 rev 40.62 (1993)(Commodore)(A3000).rom
motherboard_ram = 16384
network_card = a2065
Its gets past the HD partition questions, then dies with this message:
Quote:
Please wait while the partitions are checked...
A300 Internal SCSI: tape ct4: SCSI timeout
/etc/profile: /dev/rmt/4hn: cannot open
Read from tape failed.
Warty is offline  
Old 12 March 2022, 12:29   #2
Amiga_CDTV
Mind Walker
Amiga_CDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 162
I am not sure if it's gonna work as a ZIP mounted as an RDB hard drive.

I think the EAB thread talks about the old "HDD hack method" where the install media was replaced with another hard disk image (instead of a tape drive as that option was not available in emulation at the time). The standard install does not ask where the installation media is (it expects to find it on tape at SCSI4), that was only a option in the modified install script.

Also look at: http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=82462

From a blank configuration in WinUAE, when I added the tape drive it was declared in the .UAE file in a very different way:

uaehf0=tape0,ro,:C:\users\crossover\Desktop\amix_21_tape,0,0,0,512,0,,scsi4,SCSI1
Amiga_CDTV is offline  
Old 12 March 2022, 16:39   #3
Warty
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Minneapolis, USA
Posts: 272
Brilliant! Thanks for the tip. All I had to do was unzip the zip file, and point to the unzipped folder in this extra line:
uae_uaehf0=tape0,ro,:<path to the tape>/amix_21_tape,0,0,0,512,0,,scsi4,SCSI1
(and remove the 3 lines I had about HD1 of course)

"retensioning tape". LOL. I do not miss some of the old tech.
Warty is offline  
Old 12 March 2022, 16:49   #4
Amiga_CDTV
Mind Walker
Amiga_CDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 162
Ok, great to hear!

Did you get the installation all the way thru? And the image file working in real machine with scsi2sd?

Would you like to share the FS-UAE config file here? I'd like to test it myself and I could add notes to the amigaunix.com install instructions.
Amiga_CDTV is offline  
Old 12 March 2022, 18:04   #5
Warty
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Minneapolis, USA
Posts: 272
install went through, and patched up to 2.1p2a. Honestly, that was a lot easier than I expected.

I was able to set the date to 2022, but I still get bad conversion on system startup. Is that normal, or a sign something went wrong?

Installing 3.1 and 1.3 and softkick ROMs now, will try copying over to real A3000 here as soon as done with those.

Code:
[fs-uae]
amiga_model = A3000
floppy_drive_volume_empty = 0
floppy_image_0 = OS/AMIX/amix_21_boot.adf
floppy_image_1 = OS/AMIX/amix_21_patch.adf
floppy_image_2 = OS/AMIX/amix_21_root.adf
hard_drive_0 = /<path to hardfile>/a3000ux.hdf
hard_drive_0_controller = scsi6
hard_drive_0_type = rdb
kickstart_file = Kickstart v3.1 rev 40.62 (1993)(Commodore)(A3000).rom
motherboard_ram = 16384
uae_uaehf0 = tape0,ro,:/<path to amix tape>/amix_21_tape,0,0,0,512,0,,scsi4,SCSI1
Warty is offline  
Old 12 March 2022, 18:07   #6
Amiga_CDTV
Mind Walker
Amiga_CDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 162
Thanks, and good luck with the assembly

You need to replace the setclk utility with a patched one (https://www.amigaunix.com/doku.php/y2k-dst). It's in couple of places, but just basically replace them all with the newer one.
Amiga_CDTV is offline  
Old 19 March 2022, 16:43   #7
Warty
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Minneapolis, USA
Posts: 272
So I'm stuck. I have a perfectly good HDF image with AMIX on it. created like this:
dd if=/dev/zero of=empty_drive.hdf count=1000000 bs=1024

Then loaded up in FS UAE, installed as above, everything works fine.

But when I write that out to SD card, like this:
dd if=a3000ux.hdf of=/dev/disk6 count= 1000000 bs=1024

It will not fully boot on my A3000. I get this message:
Quote:
s5mountroot VOP_OPEN error 5
WARNING: nfs_mountroot called

PANIC: nfs_mountroot: cannot mount root: errno 89
4.0 2.1c ...... etc. etc.
I tried 3 different SD cards, and 2 SCSI2SD devices, with same result.

Any ideas? ?
Warty is offline  
Old 19 March 2022, 16:51   #8
Amiga_CDTV
Mind Walker
Amiga_CDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 162
No sure, but I would try with blocksize of 512 instead, that's what old SCSI drives mostly default to (and most scsi2sd manuals suggest).
Amiga_CDTV is offline  
Old 20 March 2022, 10:00   #9
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 3,237
What capacity is the SD-emulated SCSI drive? Maybe it needs to be the same as the HDF size? 2000000 sectors here.
mark_k is offline  
Old 22 March 2022, 22:39   #10
Noth
Registered User
Noth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
Posts: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warty View Post
So I'm stuck. I have a perfectly good HDF image with AMIX on it. created like this:
dd if=/dev/zero of=empty_drive.hdf count=1000000 bs=1024

Then loaded up in FS UAE, installed as above, everything works fine.

But when I write that out to SD card, like this:
dd if=a3000ux.hdf of=/dev/disk6 count= 1000000 bs=1024

It will not fully boot on my A3000. I get this message:


I tried 3 different SD cards, and 2 SCSI2SD devices, with same result.

Any ideas? ?
You might want to redo an install using UFS instead of SysV FS. It allows for more than 14 character filenames amongst other things, which is very handy. I didn't even know you could use NFS as root for AMIX, I think this is an interesting error.

Last edited by Noth; 23 March 2022 at 01:51.
Noth is offline  
Old 13 April 2022, 19:49   #11
8bitguy
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2022
Location: United States
Posts: 3
For what it's worth, I too had problems getting FS-UAE to detect the tape file, but it worked after I explicitly added the .zip extension. So in my case the config line needed to look like:

uae_uaehf0 = tape0,ro,:/Users/name/blahblah/amix_21_tape.zip,0,0,0,512,0,,scsi4,SCSI1
8bitguy is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using tape with Amix Amiga_CDTV support.Amix 9 27 January 2020 14:47
Can I install Amix on a regular 3000 without a tape drive? joethezombie support.Amix 13 13 April 2019 22:44
Amix compatible tape drive k0x support.Amix 2 02 April 2019 21:58
AMIX tape error fire_lizard support.Amix 4 13 June 2015 03:08
Anyone recognize or have this cassette tape rack for sale? Starglider 2 MarketPlace 7 19 March 2015 18:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.14634 seconds with 15 queries