English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.ClassicWB

Old 04 December 2006, 20:12   #1
Michaelm

ClassicWB and HD's bigger then 4GB ?

Is ClassicWB ready to use on HD's bigger then 4GB ? I have a CD32 with SX32 and a 6GB HD. Can I access the whole drive without problems ? What if I would get a 100GB HD, will it still work with ClassicWB from the box ?
Old 04 December 2006, 20:49   #2
Bloodwych

I'm no expert on the solution to hard drive access beyond 4GB, you’re much better doing a search on EAB as this subject often pops up. Thomas has made some informative posts. I do know a few basics however (but don’t quote me ):

You can use any size hard drive in an Amiga, but will have to stick using the first 4GB only if you don't want to run into problems. Even then, I’ve seen people suggesting not to make partitions any bigger than 2GB (and the boot NEVER bigger than 4GB) if you are using the old 3.0/3.1 FFS. I never understand why people need more than 4GB on an Amiga anyway, but that's just me.

To go beyond 4GB, you'll have to use a later workbench than 3.0 or 3.1 as OS 3.5+ have a new FFS that supports larger drives.

If you want to stick with the ClassicWB, there are utilities like IDEfix and you'll have to install a replacement file system like SFS.

ClassicWB does come with SFS (smart file system) support, with instructions of how to install it and an install script to make relevant tools available on the popup menus. These scripts are in the "MyFiles->Install" folder.

The latest SFS is here:

http://home.wtal.de/js/
Old 04 December 2006, 20:56   #3
keropi

why more than 4Gb???
whdload games ofcourse!
Old 04 December 2006, 20:57   #4
Michaelm

Thanks for your answer and thanks for Classic WB !
I've already read some stuff about the bigger HD's but you did answer my question