English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 April 2015, 06:11   #1
dJOS
Registered User

dJOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 873
Bounty: A500 KickStart v1.3 patch with support for scsi.device 40.63

Hi all, Im considering offering a small bounty ($50 AUD) for a clever programmer who can update the KickStart v1.3 patch on AmiNet with support for the A500 scsi.device 40.63 (from KS3.1).

Currently the patch only supports the use of 2 of the A1200 KS3.1 scsi.device versions which are incompatible with A500's using Kipper2k's or MKL's IDE expansion products.

I've tested KS v2.05 37.300 and KS v3.1 40.63 ROM's with Kipper2k's and MKL's A500 IDE expansion products and the scsi.device from both works perfectly so Im hoping we only need to use one of those 2 scsi.device modules in the patch to get the result I want.

To qualify for the bounty, the patch has to A/ work and B/ be made freely and publicly available on AmiNet for all of us to use and enjoy.

I can offer limited assistance (eg Testing of the patch using real Amiga 500's - I have eprom burning gear etc).

Confirmed Bounty Offers:
dJOS: $50 Aud
Kipper2k: $100 store credit

Last edited by dJOS; 19 May 2015 at 23:41. Reason: Updated post
dJOS is offline  
Old 08 April 2015, 08:11   #2
Vot
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 648
A500 KickStart v1.3 patch with support for scsi.device 40.63

Djos.. I have my board from kipper on the way, i can help with testing and maybe kick-in for the bounty. In winuae i did make a rom that worked but it did do something weird from memory.
Vot is offline  
Old 08 April 2015, 08:13   #3
dJOS
Registered User

dJOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vot View Post
Djos.. I have my board from kipper on the way, i can help with testing and maybe kick-in for the bounty
Cool, that would be great.
dJOS is offline  
Old 08 April 2015, 08:22   #4
Vot
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 648
A500 KickStart v1.3 patch with support for scsi.device 40.63

Quote:
Originally Posted by dJOS View Post
Cool, that would be great.

Is your amiga open? Are you able to take a pic of kippers board and a close up of the chip on it (it may be an altera cpld atf1502as10jc44)
Vot is offline  
Old 08 April 2015, 08:23   #5
dJOS
Registered User

dJOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vot View Post
Is your amiga open? Are you able to take a pic of kippers board and a close up of the chip on it (it may be an altera cpld atf1502as10jc44)
Im at work atm and my Amiga is at home.
dJOS is offline  
Old 08 April 2015, 09:25   #6
Vot
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 648
Quote:
Originally Posted by dJOS View Post
Im at work atm and my Amiga is at home.

Thats ok, my card should arrive in the next few days.
Vot is offline  
Old 08 April 2015, 09:42   #7
dJOS
Registered User

dJOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 873
A500 KickStart v1.3 patch with support for scsi.device 40.63

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vot View Post
Thats ok, my card should arrive in the next few days.


It's definitely a CPLD (just found a pic on my phone) but I cant tell which one as it's obscured by a "4MB" sticker.

Last edited by dJOS; 08 April 2015 at 14:17.
dJOS is offline  
Old 08 April 2015, 13:30   #8
Vot
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 648
A500 KickStart v1.3 patch with support for scsi.device 40.63

Quote:
Originally Posted by dJOS View Post
It's definitely a CPDL (just found a pic on my phone) but I cant tell which one as it's obscured by a "4MB" sticker.

It should be the one listed
Vot is offline  
Old 08 April 2015, 14:51   #9
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,746
Hi, i did not use the ATF CPLD... too buggy, i used the Altera EPM 7032 for RAM and the Xilinx XC9572 for the ide functions and ported the 40 pin IDE to CF card

Last edited by kipper2k; 08 April 2015 at 14:57.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 08 April 2015, 15:42   #10
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 60
Posts: 3,868
All I can help you with is confirm that the KS SCSI patch doesn't work with Kippers card for booting HD from KS 1.3. My board was the 8mb version, I tested it on an A500+ and a CDTV.
Arnie is offline  
Old 08 April 2015, 15:49   #11
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,746
Quote:
Originally Posted by dJOS View Post
Hi all, Im considering offering a small bounty ($50 AUD) for a clever programmer who can update the KickStart v1.3 patch on AmiNet with support for the A500 scsi.device 40.63 (from KS3.1).

Currently the patch only supports the use of 2 of the A1200 KS3.1 scsi.device versions which are incompatible with A500's using Kipper2k's or MKL's IDE expansion products.

I've tested KS v2.05 37.300 and KS v3.1 40.63 ROM's with Kipper2k's and MKL's A500 IDE expansion products and the scsi.device from both works perfectly so Im hoping we only need to use one of those 2 scsi.device modules in the patch to get the result I want.

To qualify for the bounty, the patch has to A/ work and B/ be made freely and publicly available on AmiNet for all of us to use and enjoy.

I can offer limited assistance (eg Testing of the patch using real Amiga 500's - I have eprom burning gear etc).
I'll match that bounty with a $50 credit in my online store if above conditions are met. (can the thread title be changed to show word "Bounty" ?
kipper2k is offline  
Old 08 April 2015, 23:07   #12
dJOS
Registered User

dJOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
All I can help you with is confirm that the KS SCSI patch doesn't work with Kippers card for booting HD from KS 1.3. My board was the 8mb version, I tested it on an A500+ and a CDTV.

Correct, both kipper and i have tried and failed to get it working on a500's- it works fine on a600's possibly because they have the pcmcia slot same as the a1200.
dJOS is offline  
Old 08 April 2015, 23:08   #13
dJOS
Registered User

dJOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 873
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
I'll match that bounty with a $50 credit in my online store if above conditions are met. (can the thread title be changed to show word "Bounty" ?

That's awesome, thanks Kipper will do.
dJOS is offline  
Old 09 April 2015, 13:40   #14
Vot
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 648
Quote:
Originally Posted by dJOS View Post
Hi all, Im considering offering a small bounty ($50 AUD) for a clever programmer who can update the KickStart v1.3 patch on AmiNet with support for the A500 scsi.device 40.63 (from KS3.1).

Currently the patch only supports the use of 2 of the A1200 KS3.1 scsi.device versions which are incompatible with A500's using Kipper2k's or MKL's IDE expansion products.

I've tested KS v2.05 37.300 and KS v3.1 40.63 ROM's with Kipper2k's and MKL's A500 IDE expansion products and the scsi.device from both works perfectly so Im hoping we only need to use one of those 2 scsi.device modules in the patch to get the result I want.

To qualify for the bounty, the patch has to A/ work and B/ be made freely and publicly available on AmiNet for all of us to use and enjoy.

I can offer limited assistance (eg Testing of the patch using real Amiga 500's - I have eprom burning gear etc).

Confirmed Bounty Offers:
dJOS: $50 Aud
Kipper2k: $50 store credit

What does the rom do? Go to the 1.3 boot screen, crash or what?
Vot is offline  
Old 09 April 2015, 14:02   #15
dJOS
Registered User

dJOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vot View Post
What does the rom do? Go to the 1.3 boot screen, crash or what?
You can see the HD in HDToolBox and partition, but it but it never appears on the WorkBench Desktop and wont boot either. Also if you query the scsi.device version, it Guru's your a500.
dJOS is offline  
Old 09 April 2015, 14:03   #16
Vot
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 648
Bounty: A500 KickStart v1.3 patch with support for scsi.device 40.63

I just read the release notes and the author of the patch says: on the a500+ he has with ide68k it requires him to reset to boot. It wont boot from power on
Vot is offline  
Old 09 April 2015, 14:05   #17
dJOS
Registered User

dJOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 873
Bounty: A500 KickStart v1.3 patch with support for scsi.device 40.63

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vot View Post
I just read the release notes and the author of the patch says: on the a500+ he has with ide68k it requires him to reset to boot. It wont boot from power on


That's a Rev8a Motherboard, it wont even do that on a Rev6a with ECS (or rev5).

Last edited by dJOS; 09 April 2015 at 14:10.
dJOS is offline  
Old 09 April 2015, 14:12   #18
Vot
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 648
That rom i download from you is the one you burnt and tried in the a500? Im just going to try it in winuae and see if it works..
Vot is offline  
Old 09 April 2015, 14:14   #19
dJOS
Registered User

dJOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 873
Bounty: A500 KickStart v1.3 patch with support for scsi.device 40.63

Yes, and it does work in WinUAE when you turn on the a600 ide - the problem is real a500's.

Btw, kipper has tried the very same ROM on real Amiga's with the same results as myself. It does work perfectly in a600's as you would expect.
dJOS is offline  
Old 09 April 2015, 15:44   #20
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,746
Quote:
Originally Posted by vot View Post
that is interesting. I don't think it has to do with pcmcia reading what the patch does. Probably more to do with the ide68k implementation. The ide68k has to emulate the behaviour of gayle in the a600. I think it would help if kipper lets people know what version of the ide68k source code he used for the ide and did he make any changes to it)
4.03, no changes
kipper2k is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kickstart 1.3 with scsi.device 8bitbubsy support.Hardware 53 06 February 2018 14:14
A2091/A590 scsi.device 14 MHz patch SpeedGeek Coders. System 9 01 June 2014 17:17
Jaguar XJ200 - 020 / 030 support - speed patch viddi Games images which need to be WHDified 15 11 May 2013 15:18
three in one? (SCSI Patch,Mac Patch,MapRom) RogerWilco09 support.Apps 0 05 May 2009 17:56
New Bounty-Project started for AROS: Kickstart replacement Paul News 0 26 December 2004 13:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.13402 seconds with 14 queries